We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Methven Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Culverden, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Conference venue”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great service from all staff, great food, very clean and tidy. A wonderful place to have a conference or wedding/meeting with the three levels, rooms, swimming pool and quality of service. The location also helps and I'd have no hesitation going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
45
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A lovely country resort in an out of the way location in rural New Zealand. Good, friendly, family run business. Clean and comfortable accommodation, great dining. Grand piano in lounge a bonus. No doubt would get busy in ski season but was quiet when we stayed there. It was a surprise having this good accommodation in the small town. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

First of all I should say that I know the owners are relatively new so I am sure they will be aware of improvements that need to be made to the dated decorations and furnishings in the bedrooms. Equally, the large public areas look a bit sad when there are only a few people staying in the hotel. Staying as part of a group, we opted to have the set evening meal which was adequate but a little bit too canteen style for my liking.
On a positive side, the bedroom was clean and spacious with good supplies of tea and coffee. We had a good night's sleep. The hotel has potential but will need a bit of money spent on it to be a success.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The pool is exceptional and the room euro-efficiently designed and clean. However, the fan in the bathroom (or heating system?) allowed you to hear conversations of the neighboring guests as if they were sharing your room. Shutting the bathroom door is a must.

The managers must be financially struggling because they would turn down the hall lights, turn off the heater in the drying room, and keep the main downstairs lounge area completely dark. The atmosphere seemed sad. The restaurant food was average.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GFP32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here on a very special birthday. Have struggled to find anything positive to say about this "hotel". Can only describe it as "Fawlty Towers" without the funny side.
Evening meal - very small scoop of tepid vegetable soup served by a harrassed lady who didn't know if it contained celery - previously informed of allergy. No alternative, so no starter. Main course - few lamb shanks on show, disappeared before we were allowed to collect from the buffet. Alternative - scrappy pieces of fatty pork or lamb. Served with overfried potatoes and mixed vegetables containing mainly celery. No alternative vegetables, so scrappy meat and inedible potatoes for my celebration meal. Tried to buy a drink from the bar. Long wait. Another harrassed lady appeared. Didn't know the prices. Thank goodness for the fruit salad.
Went to bed. Attic room. Hit head on ceiling whilst getting into bed. So much for a special celebration. The Methven Resort certainly made sure that it was nothing to celebrate. Have never had such appalling food or service in a hotel before. Many other guests were unhappy but at least it was not their special celebration that was ruined. Would not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellersince78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methvenresort, Manager at Methven Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We are very sorry to hear about your experience at the Resort at no time were we aware of your dissatisfaction and if so, we would have ensured that any complaints would have been dealt and rectified immediately.

This saddens us greatly to hear your experience as we are new owners and trying to do our very best with every customer that come through our door.

We pride ourselves on great service, clean rooms and quality food which we will endevour to continue providing our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed over Christmas & New Year and although the hotel was officially closed over the Christmas period I was still made very welcome by the new owners and their family. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the food was good. It has great outdoor pools and the grounds were well looked after. I found the hotel great value for money and would definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 night's the room we had was nice for the room rate. It was nice and clean .we ate in the restaurant and the meal we had was very well cooked. The new owners where very helpful and friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
9.5 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#4 of 20 in Methven
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#3 of 10 in Methven
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snow Denn Lodge
Snow Denn Lodge
#17 of 20 in Methven
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methven Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methven Resort Hotel

Property: Methven Resort Hotel
Address: 51 Main Street | Mt. Hutt Village, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Methven Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Methven Resort hotel offers 47 very comfortable en-suite rooms, each with their own flat screen TV, Tea and coffee facilities, Fridge and desk. Wifi is available. The hotel features it's own fully licensed restaurant with affordable dining options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our downstairs bar has relaxed seating, open fire place, poolside and patio access, flat screen tv, pool table and a selection of games for the family to enjoy. We also have a 25 metre outdoor swimming pool, heated during summer months only and 3 luxurious outdoor heated hotpools in operation all year. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Methven Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methven Hotel Methven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing