We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is nice in a 80s kind of way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Methven Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Christchurch
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It is nice in a 80s kind of way”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed here for a work event for 3 days. It is well run and pleasant but a tad tired especially in the bedrooms and bathrooms - but the price does refect this so you get what you pay for. The space and grounds are very well cared for and the owners went out of their way to give us all we needed to run our training programme which we really appreciated. The food is "homely" but nice. Its a good venue for a mid range training course and there was a tour group staying there as well but I wouldnt use it as a "treat" venue for personal use. The location to town is good and it was easy to find. It is well used by local groups as well and an important part of the community from what we could see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    27
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
45
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Welcoming greeting by owners family, massive venue set out for weddings and conferences. We got a suite room, very spacious and quiet apart from light road traffic when on couches.
Venue was quiet when we were there.
Recommend calling in if you are just looking for nice place to stay and haven't booked.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonptew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We arrived in Methven with no hotel booking (due to Haast Pass being closed and having to go to Fox Glacier the long way round). We discovered it was rodeo weekend and that we'd be lucky to find anywhere to lay our heads. We got the last room at Resort Hotel, were charged the going rate and were glad to find it was lovely, clean, warm and spacious. Bed and pillows were very comfy, bed linen and towels of good quality. There was a fridge and tea and coffee.
Bathroom was modern with a bath, powerful shower and plenty of hot water.
Only issue was a school reunion was being held that night and it was very noisy. The managers apologised next morning as we left.
Location was good, a pleasant walk into town for food.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was hired to perform in this venue by a conference being held in the 'Resort'. There was no one in reception on arrival and we were promptly told off as we didn't call for someone to come down while we unloaded our gear in torrential rain! Having played in venues all over New Zealand for hundreds of clients it was incredible to hear the Owner, Mark, refer to their guests as mostly senior citizens who will be in bed by 9 so they didn't need a band! He didn't stop there telling us that we better not be too loud and that as we haven't played there before he'll keep an eye on us. After the 1st song he tried to tell us to be quiet however the next song we had the dance floor packed and the clients (although most had only arrived in the country the night before) stayed until we finished.

We were 'told' to have our allocated meal (paid for by the client) on the couches in the dining room on our laps and although we told her we don't like to eat with the client in our costumes she just said that's what other bands do.

I don't know what the food, accommodation or services are like but Ann and Mark are the most rude and obnoxious hosts I have ever encountered!

Be warned

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fhm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thank you for looking after us when we came for dinner, the food was great! A great choice and presentation on meals was beautiful. We loved our compliment from the chef, fritters which were very very tasty....Once again Thank you, we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had another long-travel day and just happened to find the Methven Resort on our GPS and went by the check it out. We stayed the night in wonderful, roomy rooms - comfortable and clean. And a big plus was the in-house restaurant - had a delightful dinner and wonderful breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a great stay here. we booked based on reviews and we were not disappointed. Checked in after Friday afternoon on the mountains and was lovely to squeeze in half an hour in the hot pools before dinner. We didn't eat at the hotel, and were slightly apprehensive as there was a pre wedding drinks going on and our room backed onto the bar, but good sound proofing as we didn't hear anything. Only a couple of mins stroll into town, so well located.

Very observant hosts who clocked our snow gear and posted a snow report under our door the next way. Buffet breakfast was very reasonable $13 continental and our 5 yr old ate free.

Very well set up for skiers/boarders with a great drying room and separate storage room. All our wet things were lovely and dry by the morning.

Loved that there was a bath, nothing like a long soak after a day on the mountains.

Very friendly, helpful hosts - we would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
9.5 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#4 of 20 in Methven
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#3 of 10 in Methven
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snow Denn Lodge
Snow Denn Lodge
#17 of 20 in Methven
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methven Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methven Resort Hotel

Property: Methven Resort Hotel
Address: 51 Main Street | Mt. Hutt Village, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Methven Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Methven Resort hotel offers 47 very comfortable en-suite rooms, each with their own flat screen TV, Tea and coffee facilities, Fridge and desk. Wifi is available. The hotel features it's own fully licensed restaurant with affordable dining options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our downstairs bar has relaxed seating, open fire place, poolside and patio access, flat screen tv, pool table and a selection of games for the family to enjoy. We also have a 25 metre outdoor swimming pool, heated during summer months only and 3 luxurious outdoor heated hotpools in operation all year. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Methven Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methven Hotel Methven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing