We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner the way it should be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Methven Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Methven Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner the way it should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thank you for looking after us when we came for dinner, the food was great! A great choice and presentation on meals was beautiful. We loved our compliment from the chef, fritters which were very very tasty....Once again Thank you, we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
35
41
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had another long-travel day and just happened to find the Methven Resort on our GPS and went by the check it out. We stayed the night in wonderful, roomy rooms - comfortable and clean. And a big plus was the in-house restaurant - had a delightful dinner and wonderful breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a great stay here. we booked based on reviews and we were not disappointed. Checked in after Friday afternoon on the mountains and was lovely to squeeze in half an hour in the hot pools before dinner. We didn't eat at the hotel, and were slightly apprehensive as there was a pre wedding drinks going on and our room backed onto the bar, but good sound proofing as we didn't hear anything. Only a couple of mins stroll into town, so well located.

Very observant hosts who clocked our snow gear and posted a snow report under our door the next way. Buffet breakfast was very reasonable $13 continental and our 5 yr old ate free.

Very well set up for skiers/boarders with a great drying room and separate storage room. All our wet things were lovely and dry by the morning.

Loved that there was a bath, nothing like a long soak after a day on the mountains.

Very friendly, helpful hosts - we would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Methven Resort has everything you need for a relaxed stay in the mountains. Overall the facilities have been around for a while but have been well maintained and provide for a comfortable and well looked after holiday. The bathroom in our room seems to have been recently renovated and the bath tub was very welcoming after a long day of travel. We did not use the hot tub or the pool or the breakfast on offer. But we had drink and dinner at the local restaurant and enjoyed the food and the service. Would come back.
Note: Internet is fairly cheap in comparison to other locations in New Zealand, so that is a major plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_tina02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our second stay, and we would most definitely stay again. Rooms are clean, warm and comfortable, and it's great to have a bath in the room! The hallways and common areas are also spotless.
Mark and Ann are fantastic hosts, true professionals - dealing with obnoxious guests with a smile and doing everything possible to make our stay enjoyable.
The whole place has a warm, friendly feeling, and we felt like very welcome family!
We loved our meals in the restaurant, and their secret recipe mulled wine was the best we have had.
One thing to watch for, though: The pool table may or may not work in your favour ; )

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SchulzFamilyRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the place to stay. We were travelling around the South Island of New Zealand with another couple & stayed here for 2 nights we also had not pre booked. We found the rooms clean, comfortable & our rooms also had a bath. Ann & Mark couldn't do enough for you & we loved their sense of humor. Loved the open fire in the restaurant & bar room, the food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service. Anna & Mark new a lot about the area which was great. We had been up to Mt Hutt & was great to come back to the resort to see the friendly & smiling faces of Ann & Mark, they would also ask how your day was & listen to your story. We highly recommend the Methven Resort Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyK950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

One look at one review made me more determined to say that Rachel's experience and our were poles apart.
The staff were friendly..and the spas closing at 6pm would seem to be light dependent..they are out of doors, and it was freezing outside the night we were there..38' maybe in the water, but nearer 5' air temperature ..no way. We flagged it and had a bath!
And we were invited to join a bunch of locals having a dinner and had an extremely convivial evening discovering what living in Methven is like. We did not try to eat breakfast late as we had a way to drive the day we left

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daleringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
9.5 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 11 in Methven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#4 of 21 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methven Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methven Resort Hotel

Property: Methven Resort Hotel
Address: 51 Main Street | Mt. Hutt Village, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Methven Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Methven Resort hotel offers 47 very comfortable en-suite rooms, each with their own flat screen TV, Tea and coffee facilities, Fridge and desk. Wifi is available. The hotel features it's own fully licensed restaurant with affordable dining options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our downstairs bar has relaxed seating, open fire place, poolside and patio access, flat screen tv, pool table and a selection of games for the family to enjoy. We also have a 25 metre outdoor swimming pool, heated during summer months only and 3 luxurious outdoor heated hotpools in operation all year. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Methven Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methven Hotel Methven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing