We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Welcoming hosts!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Methven Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Methven Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly Welcoming hosts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

welcoming hosts always make a good impression when signing in! Good room. Although we tagged onto a coach party for dinner, the food was excellent, and again the hosts ensured we had a great time, adding the personal touch which so many places seem to miss these days. we got a deal for B&B and EM which worked out good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derek1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
35
41
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a great stay! Ann and Mark were wonderful.

The room was immaculate, warm and comfortable. The food was first rate! 5 star!

We will definitely go back and will recommend the Resort to anyone who is looking for a place to stay. The Mt Hutt pick up bus was so convenient - it came right to the front door of the resort, and dropped us off there too.

Room Tip: We stayed 4 in one room and then our eldest was in a room with space for 3. All were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainelysochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The friendly owners bid us a warm welcome and were very thoughtful. Our studio room was spacious (could have slept 4), warm, and its modern ensuite was immaculate.

The hotel is a pick-up point for the Mt Hutt Ski Bus. After a hard day on the slopes, the hotel's hot pools soothed our aching muscles. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent, the bar is well-stocked, and there are a range of breakfast options available too.

The centre of Methven is a few minutes walk away. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We arrived without any pre booking and were greeted by Ann with a warm welcome. OK, the place wasn't booked out, but she previously had a busy weekend so could be forgiven for wishing for a quiet evening. We were shown our room (good value, $120 a double) and then booked in for an evening meal at the restaurant.

There were not too many guests around so Mark and Ann chatted with us about this and that. The meal arrived (Akaroa cod) which we can only describe as succulent and beautifully presented. Great value at $30 a head.

So it was to bed and a very good night's sleep. Thanks for the modern heater in the bedroom which was silent and efficient. Motels/Hotels that still use those ticket-tic fan heaters should be blacklisted! Congrats to the Methven Resort Hotel.

To sum up: A great night's sleep, good food, excellent service.

Don't go past the Methven Resort Hotel. Great too for conferences, weddings and reunions.

Room Tip: Order the Akaroa Cod for dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Recently stayed at Methven Resort with 3 other guys whilst on a work trip around the South Island. Was truly impressed with the service and hospitality shown to us by the owners Mark and Anne. Very clean and comfortable rooms , excellent meals and relaxing surroundings.
Can comfortably recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jono2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This winter sports resort is privately owned and operated, so any dis-satisfaction can be resolved at the time. My experience with a coach party, 1 of 3 coaches that day, was brilliant, good room, good food, good and friendly service and a personal welcome and "Goodbye" from the owner. The hotel seems to be benefitting from the uncertainties in Christchurch and is coping very well with a busy summer. The log fires are still very atmospheric, even in the summer. A very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were getting a bit desperate for somewhere to stay, having travelled up from Dunedin, and found most places from Timaru onwards booked up, due to the motor racing. We thought we'd try Methven, which was a bit off the beaten track. We passed this resort hotel on the way in, called in, and were given a warm welcome by Mark, for $60 apiece, which compared very well with some of the motels we'd encountered on our travels. We got a lovely room with bath & shower, and a dip in the luxurious pool and hot tubs just when we needed it most after a day's travelling. Then we had an excellent meal in the evening, and they threw in a couple of free drinks, providing a fitting end to our tour of the South Island. The only problem, and it wasn't a major one, was the lack of atmosphere as we were the only ones in the restaurant. There was a coach arriving late in the evening, but they came and went without us seeing them much. But overall, Methven provide a nice haven for two weary travellers. Thank god Ashburton was booked up!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
9.5 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 11 in Methven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#4 of 21 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methven Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methven Resort Hotel

Property: Methven Resort Hotel
Address: 51 Main Street | Mt. Hutt Village, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Methven Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Methven Resort hotel offers 47 very comfortable en-suite rooms, each with their own flat screen TV, Tea and coffee facilities, Fridge and desk. Wifi is available. The hotel features it's own fully licensed restaurant with affordable dining options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our downstairs bar has relaxed seating, open fire place, poolside and patio access, flat screen tv, pool table and a selection of games for the family to enjoy. We also have a 25 metre outdoor swimming pool, heated during summer months only and 3 luxurious outdoor heated hotpools in operation all year. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Methven Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methven Hotel Methven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing