We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Methven Resort Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Methven Motels & Apartments(Methven)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$227
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ashburton(Ashburton)
$77
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Motor Lodge(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coronation Park(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
$108
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taylors Motel(Ashburton)
$84
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Darfield Motel(Darfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
47
35
35
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
35
35
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolsopen firemt hutthard days skiingski seasonanswer our questionsroom ratewalk into townfamily roompool tableeasy accessdrying roomconferencebathvenueaccommodationfires
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 137 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Recently stayed at Methven Resort with 3 other guys whilst on a work trip around the South Island. Was truly impressed with the service and hospitality shown to us by the owners Mark and Anne. Very clean and comfortable rooms , excellent meals and relaxing surroundings.
Can comfortably recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jono2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This winter sports resort is privately owned and operated, so any dis-satisfaction can be resolved at the time. My experience with a coach party, 1 of 3 coaches that day, was brilliant, good room, good food, good and friendly service and a personal welcome and "Goodbye" from the owner. The hotel seems to be benefitting from the uncertainties in Christchurch and is coping very well with a busy summer. The log fires are still very atmospheric, even in the summer. A very good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were getting a bit desperate for somewhere to stay, having travelled up from Dunedin, and found most places from Timaru onwards booked up, due to the motor racing. We thought we'd try Methven, which was a bit off the beaten track. We passed this resort hotel on the way in, called in, and were given a warm welcome by Mark, for $60 apiece, which compared very well with some of the motels we'd encountered on our travels. We got a lovely room with bath & shower, and a dip in the luxurious pool and hot tubs just when we needed it most after a day's travelling. Then we had an excellent meal in the evening, and they threw in a couple of free drinks, providing a fitting end to our tour of the South Island. The only problem, and it wasn't a major one, was the lack of atmosphere as we were the only ones in the restaurant. There was a coach arriving late in the evening, but they came and went without us seeing them much. But overall, Methven provide a nice haven for two weary travellers. Thank god Ashburton was booked up!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This place was truly awful. I'm looking at the reviews from previous travelers and I think that they have to be the owners or friends of the owners. No one could truly believe that this hotel is "excellent" or "fabulous".
Restaurant was closed, pool was closed, hot spa pools were closed. TV in the room was twenty+ years old and had two channels.
Would strongly recommend that you avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kfheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We (Group of 22) stayed two nights in November. We had been here before (A couple of years ago) The service just gets better, Mark and Anne really know how to make you feel welcome and nothing is a problem. The food is to die for!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eijo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews