We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like being at home :)”

Big Tree Lodge Methven
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Tree Lodge Methven
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Like being at home :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Felt immediately like being at home :) Heather and her partner whose name escapes me, treated me like family. Definitely the friendliest couple I have met so far, I wouldn't DREAM of staying anywhere else if I ever return to Methven!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theitalianchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Free internet and no bunks made me choose Big Tree as a base while hitting the slopes at Mt Hutt. The consequence of no bunks was that the room was somewhat crowded, even though it wasn't fully occupied. Heating was good in the kitchen & den where the fireplace is, but elsewhere the heating was minimal and it got quite chilly in my room at night. Showers & washrooms were good. Cleanliness was decent, but with people staying long-term there is a subsequent lived-in appearance. The kitchen was good, but small - wouldn't really want more than 2 people in there at a time. The current owner, Lee, was always pleasant to deal with and always somewhere around.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

great small friendly backpackers, great location for winter fun at Mt Hutt. The place is clean and the owners really friendly and helpful. i really enjoyed my stay here and over the two years ive been travelling ive stayed in quite a few backpackers. i would definitly reccomend Big Tree Lodge to fellow travellers

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkimosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

Stayed here a couple nights while in methven. Really enjoyed it, great place with friendly people. Facilities were great, was able to do washing and loved the large showers. Thank you. I will be back some day for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrank88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

Happenned to came across Big Tree Lodge by chance, & glad i did.
Not too far a walk from town, the room i stayed in was warm, & the bed comes with a nice thick(but soft) duvet.
A few perks if you're watching your budget: free internet, washing, storage for skiing gears & a 15% disc on skiing equipments.

p/s: The owner(Heather) is very motherly, in a good way =]

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojojovial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.1 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern X Lodge
Southern X Lodge
#19 of 20 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 20 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mt. Hutt Bunkhouse
Mt. Hutt Bunkhouse
#8 of 20 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
0.6 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Tree Lodge Methven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tree Lodge Methven

Property: Big Tree Lodge Methven
Address: 25 South Belt, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Tree Lodge Methven 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large colonial villa and former vicarage, it features unique native timber panelling and furniture. Lockable bedrooms, twin, double or share - with not a bunk in sight!! Beds are made up with fresh linen, duvets and electric blankets are available. Self-catering with shared facilities. Comfortable open plan lounge area with log burner, large communal kitchen, new spacious bathrooms with free laundry facilities. Free hi-speed wireless internet, “closed day” entertainment and off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Big Tree Lodge Methven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing