We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Central Luxury Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$76
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Methven Motels & Apartments(Methven)(Great Value!)
$84
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$388
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ashburton(Ashburton)
$75
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Motor Lodge(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taylors Motel(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
$87
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Darfield Motel(Darfield)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
20
11
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
11
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed here for nightsdvd playerthe kitchenmount huttbathtvunitskiing
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 33 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I recently stayed with my young family at Central Apartments for a 3-night stay. What a total treat to have such blissfully comfortable & appealling accommodation right in the heart of town. We were really impressed with the careful attention to detail with the entire fit-out of the apartment. Quality, modern decor. Plenty of space. Great light came through the large glass windows/doors. Completely immaculate. Everything we needed was in there. We all relaxed and settled into the apartment like a second home in no time at all.

It's SO GOOD being able to walk with the boys to the Methven cafes, the kids park (just directly across the road & really good), ski shops, dinners out. We spent quite a bit of time just playing with the boys immediately outside our door (& chatting to Ted), while they cruised around on the bikes. What a great host Ted is - such a nice fellow.

I would stay here again in a flash. It's awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment for two nights, and were very pleased with the two ensuite bathrooms. The modern kitchen was well appointed, with dishwasher, oven, cooktop and full-sized fridge. Hidden in the kitchen was also a washer and dryer which proved very convenient. Lazy boy couches in the lounge room didn't really match the rest of the modern decor, however the other furniture was spot on. The heating was excellent, having a reverse cycle air conditioner, under floor heating in the bathrooms, electric blankets on every bed as well as heaters in the bathrooms and bedrooms. Double glazed windows kept the apartment toasty warm all day and night (we really didn't use the heaters much). The apartments were in a good spot with an excellent view of the mountains and in easy walking distance (maybe 100m tops) to the Blue and Brown Pubs and Big Al's Methven for ski hire. If you want to ski, the Mt Hutt ski bus stops out the front at 7.45am and 9.45am daily. The owner, Ted, was very friendly and welcoming, making sure to show us how to use the tv, air conditioning, dishwasher, washer, dryer (which admittedly did take a very long time). Whoever cleans the apartments would probably benefit from an eye test; there were dead flies on the window sills and the kitchen counter and sink weren't as clean as they could have been. However, and overall very enjoyable stay and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melmorris93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place is a hidden gem, run by the owner (Ted) who is passionate about the service. I'm not easily giving good marks but even I was stunned how well maintained the apartments are and about the quality of finishing. Attention to detail is amazing (for instance each bed has heated mattress, each bathroom has heated towel racks etc). It is conveniently located at the very city centre which gives lot of opportunities to select from nearby restaurants or supermarkets.

Great value for money, worth every dollar...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vmstajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We absolutely loved the Central Luxury Apartments....Very very well appointed. Outstanding kitchen set up with not only everything you need but all quality appliances. Same with the furnishings, everything has been put together with thought and is genuinely a home away from home. The spa bath was a really nice touch, lots of living space, generously sized bedroom - everything you could think of needing is provided for. Ted is also a fantastic host and went out of his way to make us welcome. Note also, this is a really quiet, relaxing spot while being one of, if not the closest luxury accommodation to the Brown and Blue Pubs, so great if you're planning a night out.

Room Tip: Pick the deluxe room with spa bath!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelleandJase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We wanted a motel with two separate sleeping areas, and were happy to get the two bedroomed unit. The presentation was immaculate, the furnishings modern and appropriate for the price range. Cooking facilities were excellent. Each bedroom had its own en-suite. I have yet to encounter a a motel with more power outlets than this one, so my minor quibble is the lack of easily accessible wireless Internet throughout the premises. Oh, and the TV has only free to air channels and the processes to connect are way too complicated.

THe room had a pleasant outside deck overlooking a neatly planted area on the banks of one of Canterbury's many irrigation canals (This may be a hazard if you are travellng with kids). I would happily go there again if I ever needed to stay in Methven again. The summer price was reasonable, but it goes up in the ski season.

The manager (Ted) very kindly kept the office open beyond normal business hours until we arrived from Chritchurch at 9:30 pm, and is very willing to assist his customers in any way.

Room Tip: If you leave the heat pump (airconditioner) on, you will hear the sound of the inverter on the outside wall switching on and off all night.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews