We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second time staying here and loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Central Luxury Apartments
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our second time staying here and loved it.”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

A great location, the apartments are sensational and great for families or they offer one bedroom as well. Management is great and whilst they are not the cheapest in Methven, you get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taranaki
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We just saw these apartments while driving around hunting for accommodation for 1 night, town very quite in March. We were very impressed by the apartment at a great price. They were very large and roomy with great, top quality fittings. Furniture was a little haphazard but overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaranakiHolidayLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We were thoroughly impressed with the modern design and facilities provided for in the apartment. My son loved the spa and the carpet is really clean enough for him to roll about. The little garden with a small "stream" behind the apartment is also a very nice touch. The kitchen has one of the most complete set of appliances and utensils for families who wish to cook. It's also great that the apartment is just next to a children's playground where my son spent considerable time playing in. Overall, this is easily one of the best places we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teetoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Have stayed at Methven Central Apartments in both January 2007 and January 2008. It is so good I'm going back again for January 2009. The standard of the fit out is extraordinary. Granite kitchen, all top appliances, huge spa and spacious throughout. But the greatest asset of Methven is the location. Relative to the scenery of the South Island you could not pick a better base. One of the most breath taking roads I know runs north south just 10Kms or so from Methven. The road is flat and straight yet rising up immediately to the west are these enormous towering mountains. Yet so many travellers we met do not do this inland route. Never heard of it. I have travelled few roads better. Methven is a great base to plan visits from this road to Lake Tekapo, Mt Cook, Arthurs Pass, the West Coast etc. There are some great walks in or nearby to Methven. I particularly like Washpool Falls or a drive up to Erhwon where part of Lord of the Rings was filmed. Having the internet at these apartments made it easy to fit in such vists on fine days as the 6 day weather forecasts for NZ on the net were spot on for getting clear days for different sides of the mountains as predicted. Rakia Gorge is close and just beyond is a restaurant at a timeshare golf resort where I had a Manuka smoked salmon lunch for around NZ$15 that was unforgetable, thick, fabulous views and something I could not do myself for the price. Reccomend the jet boat ride and the walk back for the last 5 mins of the boat return journey - but be warned it takes 2 - 3 hours on foot. If you do the overnight loop to the west coast do the flight in the bubble helicopter - gauranteed window seat and in the front its even window at your feet. Theres always accomodation available in summer at the Apartments so out and back trips can of a day or more be planned to fit the weather with reurn to Methven to plan the next leg. No city threshold here. Great clear air and an escape form the heat. Nice coffee shop in town and I-site very helpful - both a short stroll from the apartments as is either the Blus or Brown pub. Lodge restaurant is next door. Love the way there is a babbling stream flowing by just below with a pretty rockery graden bank - nice to go to sleep to if you come from a parched land.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith_roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Central Apartments - Methven. Stayed whilst snowboarding at Mt Hutt.
Accommodation was excellent, all the luxuries you could think of. In the centre of Methven it was a perferct location to all facilities. Highly recommend for your next stay in Methven.
I will be back next August.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller99962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We arrived in town on 26th June with no booking, looking to ski for a couple of days at Mt Hutt. We had picked a few places to stay from Lonely planet and lcoal tourist books. The first two were booked. Right next door to the second address were these apartments. We went and inquired and they had just had a cancellation so we were in luck!

The unit had two bedrooms with a Queen bed in one, a single and double bunk in the other. There is a full gourmet kitchen opening onto a large dining liveing area which flows out to a back deck with table and chairs. This also has a small stream flowing past. In one word it was 'Luxurious'.

It is a two minute walk to the Blue or Brown pub and downtown for shopping, ski hire, or any other needs. If we were ever going back to the Methven area, this would definitely be the first choice for accommodation!

http://www.centralapartmentsmethven.co.nz/

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony6498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
0.3 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
125 reviews
9.2 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#4 of 20 in Methven
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 20 in Methven
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Luxury Apartments

Property: Central Luxury Apartments
Address: 7 Methven Chertsey Road, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Central Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing