We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Great Value...Highly recommend”
Review of Brinkley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brinkley Resort
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We travel a lot as we are retired and I must say we found the Studio Rooms at Brinkley to be excellent value . I have read a couple of the reviews here and can only say we had a great time . The food in the restaurant was excellent particularly the Shanks . The studio room we stayed in had a seperate walk-in fully equipped laundry and seperate ski drying room which was very handy . The room was spotless, quiet and warm as it had wall panel heaters and electric blankets .The staff had already turned on our heaters before our arrival as we came in on a midnight flight.We booked via Wotif and paid only $125 AUD which compared to Australian prices is extremely good value.They have Sky TV and take Amex which was nice as we were surprised by how many New Zealand businesses dont. As a seasoned fussy and sometimes "grumpy" traveller with realistic expectations I would definately recommend .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeelongRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

NOT the kind of hospitality you would expect from a resort rated as 4 star and luxurious.

On the week we were there, there was a large student group booked in. On the night we arrived, the students were holding a disco night! The music was extremely loud, and there were students everywhere on the resort grounds. To top it off, we were allocated rooms 10m away from the restaurant and spa where the party was being held. Night after night, the students including the teachers and the management did not do anything to show courtesy to other guests in the resort, in fact the manageress/owner was VERY icy in her response to my complains. The kids and teachers were hanging around outside our units, talking loudly and yelling across the car park. Yes it’s like I have booked into a school camp.

The room is not soundproof , was dusty, smelt musty and pots and pans were dirty. This resort is overrated. It’s more like a 3 star motel. This place came as a recommendation from Skimax. If you choose to stay here, good luck and pray that nothing goes wrong during your stay otherwise, don’t expect any empathy from the owners. This place is not worth the money or your time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anemone3144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2009

Hi "Anemone3144"
If you are looking to avoid families and school children when you visit New Zealand during the ski season we would suggest staying in the September /October holidays as these are a lot quieter. Travelling to New Zealand in the middle of the ski season and particularly in the middle of the school holidays as you did will always mean there will be families with children and large groups for you to share any accommodation or mountain facilities.
In relation to your opinions on the Resorts rating we are the only Qualmark Rated Resort in Methven and they conduct annual stringent inspections and apply industry accepted protocols in determining the rating. Our 4 Star Rating was deemed to be appropriate by this independent and internationally recognized Tourism authority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

The room was so small that my wife and I could not even have both of our suitcases open at once.

The walls were made of paper mache (or so it seemed). We could hear the toilet flushing upstairs, in addition to every other creak and miscellaneous rumbling from upstairs and adjoining apartments.

Since our apartment bordered on the "resort" perimeter, I had to park on the highway in order to get our luggage inside, as the closest available guest parking was within an unworkable distance.

Whilst not rude, I found the two female staff members to be abrupt and unhelpful.

I applaud the commerciality of the "resort" management: they appear to churn through a great number of guests at relatively low cost to them. This is evidenced by the timer on the heating unit in the bathroom, the minimum amount of kitchen accessories provided, and the provision of 1 towel per guest.

On the plus side, we were provided with a complimentary 300ml milk carton, running water and electricity.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nushuktan_Tulyiagby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2009

Dear "Nushuktan_Tulyiagb,
We are sorry our self contained studio rooms did not meet your expectations. If you had reported this at the time of your stay we would have offered you the option of an upgrade to a two bedroom apartment. We would have also waived any cancellation penalty for the remainder of your stay if you elected to depart earlier than scheduled. This is a policy of our Resort. In relation to your opinion on the self contained studio room you booked …there is a door at the rear of the room which opens to a walk in laundry complete with washing machine and dryer. There is also another room attached to the studio where you can store your skis, luggage, golf clubs etc. The Studio room itself is an industry accepted 18m2 complete with a kitchenette and dining table and there was the opportunity for you to utilize these two other attached rooms FOC as they were included in the $120aud per night tariff you paid . In relation to your comment on the walls being like “paper mache” and the heater timer …the whole resort is constructed of 4 inch thick concrete tilt slab and the heater timer in the shower is not only a safety feature but a part of our eco friendly Resort policy. Guests can turn the heater on or off as required. There is ample parking for all apartments & rooms with over 100 car park spaces at the resort .We could have assisted you if you had advised us of the difficulty you had finding your allocated park . Apart from providing you with the complimentary items you mentioned you also had access to our complimentary tennis courts, outdoor spa pools and bbq , chip and putt golf greens, 8 Sky TV channels, helipad, Ski tuning rooms and assorted games found in the restaurant. There is also a Wireless Hot Spot internet service available in every room and we can organize in house massage and room service. More towels are available on request and are changed when the room is serviced. You can always wash these at your leisure in the laundry attached to your room. Feel free to contact us if you would like anything else cleared up .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Ground floor 2 bedroom aptment..with views..just spectacular. Rooms clean, bath with spa jets..so nice! Full size kitchen which we got good use out of..kids too tired to move after skiing all day so I cooked most nights. Dom's for Pizza - too die for. Big Al's Ski hire..the young guys who work in there are so helpful. Share laundry was a bonus..especially with all that stinky ski gear. It was nice to stay somewhere where things worked, it was warm and cosy - never felt hassled - just relaxed and did our thing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2009

Thanks Heather for your kind comments and I am glad we could contribute to your families enjoyment of our beautiful part of the world.Please let us know if we may be of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Went to New Zealand for the fourth time - this time to Methven for a wedding. Brinkley was fantastic, the service was second to none, and our apartment was just the best with views of the mountains covered in snow, and sunrise and sunsets- just spectacular!!! The kids played outside in the snow for hours with other children staying at the resort - sometimes until 11pm at night. We seriously could not fault anything - and the restaurant - the best food we had ever tasted, accompanied by great service. Everything at arms length - take a walk to the hub of Methven, catch a bus to Mt Hutt for some snow skiing, and views were postcard perfect!!!! It has truly been the best holiday we have ever experienced - if you are after a relaxed, friendly and happy experience, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE try Brinkley Resort in Methven - YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED....

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetjennyMethven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Maybe it's the word "Resort" that gives you the impression that you're going to experience something special and that's why we found it a little disappointing. We had a studio apartment which was very small. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, which filled with steam & condensation when used. The restaurant was closed at that time of year. On the plus side, the staff were friendly & helpful, the kitchenette was compact but well stocked with utensils, and there was a laundry shared between two apartments which we found useful. The grounds were lovely and neat, and it's within walking distance to shops/eateries. We only stayed one night, so it was OK, but if it was for a longer stay, I would have liked something roomier.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kikiflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

The restaurant they offer is not open during their "off peak season" despite being displayed on wotif.com. One of the 'Managers' was quite rude when I wasn't happy with the shoe box of a Studio Room they gave us. The TV is around a 10 inch so you can barely make out the picture! The place was completely dead the night we stayed, so instead of giving us one of their better rooms initially, they give us a downstairs unit facing the open road which has big trucks going down it. Pokey and dark. We decided to "upgrade" to a bigger room (to which they were not prepared to negotiate the rate) and when I advised the manager that the room we ended up in was freezing cold, even after the heaters had been turned on for more than 1.5 hours, she basically made me feel like I was the problem instead of ensuring that the customer was comfortable! (Dah). The poorest display of customer service I have ever seen at a winter "resort". The heaters are only designed to take the chill off - and it was less than 8 degrees outside, so all we wanted was to be a bit warmer. They reluctantly gave us a spare extra heater when we discovered that the fan heater in the unit was broken. We were told that they don't normally have extra heaters - BUT WHO CARES!!! We will definitely not be returning and nor will we be recommending them to anyone. Really disappointing. Think twice before booking this place! Look elsewhere.

1  Thank Numskulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2009

Dear “Numskulls”
Mt Hutt, being a Ski Resort, is not open until mid June usually. This would explain why most Methven restaurants and ski industry related businesses weren’t operating when you stayed in early May when there was no snow on the mountain. This is also advised on our webpage for your convenience and the online booking engine you used. You were offered an upgrade (at a Wholesale rate )to a room with a 32 “ LCD flat screen TV and we retuned the SKY TV decoder boxes so you could watch the particular football game you requested. We also opened the bar to serve you drinks in the spa out of trading hours as you requested. Apart from the 4 panel heaters that are already in the room we did furnish you with an extra 4 bar oil heater and on inspection of the heater in the room found it was fully operational as you had inadvertently pushed the wrong button. We are sorry that our efforts to make your stay enjoyable fell short of your expectations. We would have happily offered you a waiver of our cancelation fee if you elected to choose alternative accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.5 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#2 of 20 in Methven
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#4 of 20 in Methven
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 9 in Methven
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern X Lodge
Southern X Lodge
#18 of 20 in Methven
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinkley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkley Resort

Address: 43 Barkers Rd, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Price Range: $92 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brinkley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brinkley Resort Mt Hutt is a 4 star Qualmark rated High Country self-contained accommodation resort and conference centre situated in the Alpine heartland village of Methven at the foothills of majestic Mt Hutt. Just a short two minute walk to the centre of town and conveniently positioned for transport to Mt Hutt. Brinkley features a total of 80 self contained apartments comprised of 40 studios and 40 self contained two bedroom apartments. Laundry facilities are complimentary and shared between each apartment and studio room and the two bedroom apartments all contain spa baths, ideal for relaxing after a day on the mountain. Enjoy a relaxing evenings dining in Shackelton's Restaurant, award winning NZ Beef & Lamb recipient, open during the winter ski season ( please note our restaurant is open during ski season but closed for the summer with the exception of conferences, groups & weddings). Free 300mb high speed wifi provided during your stay - additional internet small charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Brinkley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing