We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient apartments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brinkley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brinkley Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Convenient apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a couple of nights in a studio apartment when skiing at Mt Hutt and were fairly impressed overall. Room was the perfect size for the length of time we were there for - would have been too small if we were staying for longer though. Also the room had been heated when we arrived - a lovely touch when arriving late at night! Facilities were excellent - a ski storage room, washing machine and dryer and fully equipped kitchenette. I understand the larger apartments also have a dishwasher. Great to have a spa to relax in after skiing as well.

Only criticism we have is that the restaurant doesn't cater too well for vegetarian diets - just one option and no veg option on the special deals they had every day which meant we never ate there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write your review and we appreciate your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. I have discussed your comments on the vegetarian options in the restaurant with our chef and we have now added another vegetarian option to our menu. Once again thanks for the suggestion as it was well founded and good advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    40
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
61
43
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just stayed in a 2 bedroom at the Brinkley Resort. It was fantastic! We had views of the snow covered mountains from our room to wake up to each morning. The restaurant was outstanding with great choices and pairing wines.

The service was second to none and I can not wait to go back.

Thanks to the team at Brinkley Resort

Dan Walker

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_Mysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just got back from a great week at the Brinkley Resort. Apartments were clean, comfortable and close to town. The spa bath was just what my muscles needed after a long day on the Mountain. Food at Shackletons was amazing and my only regret is the cheese and crackers I ate before coming to the restaurant. Thanks guys for having us!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitzi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks and glad you enjoyed your stay with us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Brinkley Resort for 4 nights in August 2013 to go skiing at Mt Hutt which is a 40 minute drive from the resort.

We booked a two bedroom apartment and a studio apartment to accommodate 6 adults which were conveniently attached through the back.

When the apartments were connected it was great as it was like a 3 bedroom townhouse however if it were just the studio apartment it would have been a bit too cosy.

The facilities in the 2 bedroom apartment were great - it washing machine, dishwasher etc. It is worth noting however that it is not a serviced apartment and during the stay. There is a restaurant (which was expensive compared to other options in the town)

The location is on the outskirts of Methven however being a small town, it is a 5 minute walk to the pubs, restaurants and supermarket etc so although not a 'central' location, this is not a drawback.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotsyd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again next year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The location is great. I stayed with three friends last week. But for the price I was disappointed with the fact the apartment was not serviced and we ran out of toilet paper on the last day. We only had one towel each although there was a washing machine and drier in the apartment. However after washing our ski clothes for the day it was incovenient to have to them wash the towels. The apartment was a bit tired with chips on the bench top and the heater in the lounge could not be turned up onto high because if it did it would make a loud banging noise all night. The tv was on a demo loop that we could no turn off so when we watched movies these displays woudl come in over the top of the subtitles and screen which interefered with our enjoyment of the movies. There were no egg cups so we had to go and buy some.

Tha said the location and views were excellent. But for the price I was expecting something of higher quality.

Room Tip: Get a room on the west side so you can have a view of Mt Hutt
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and kind comments on our location and views. We do our best to inform guests on our servicing policy by posting it on our website, including it in the room compendiums as well as stating it on the booking slip you signed on arrival. Like most apartments we do provide initial washing powder and toiletries on arrival and guests resupply themselves when the welcome pack has been consumed. Sincerest apologies for the heater panel noise and once again thank you for letting us know. The new LCD TV and heater had just been installed and due to your feedback our maintenance manager was notified and has rectified the problems you experienced. Hope to see you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Recently stayed at Brinkley on a short Ski trip to Mount Hutt. The hotel is in a great location, walking distrance to everything in the town, along with the ski bus stopping right at the door. Everything is quite modern and very clean.
The twin studio was very small, literally there is no room to put your luggage, we had one bag in the kitchen and the other between the bed. Good thing we really didnt spend much time in the hotel, on the mountain all day then out too dinner at night.
It is strange that they do not include daily cleaning with the cost, since it states it is a serviced apartment (Minus the service), refreshed towels at a minimum would be good. I guess they do state that upfront, i just think it is a little odd.
The place is nice and would definitely stay there again, just maybe in a bigger room.

Room Tip: Studios are really small, go for a bigger room if you can afford too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racy_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned from a short stay at Brinkley Resort. It was a world class hotel in a ideal place with excellent ski-ing. In addition the Restaurant was fabulous. Staff were very welcoming and instantly pointed us in the right direction for things to do. Very nice wine selection selected by the owner. I just wish it was a bit closer to Abu Dhabi so that I can take my family more often.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains. Use the restaurant you will not be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isherwoodskiteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant .You certainly were a long way from home so it was our pleasure to provide your family with a relaxing holiday .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
0.6 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
9.0 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Luxury Apartments
Central Luxury Apartments
#12 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinkley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkley Resort

Property: Brinkley Resort
Address: 43 Barkers Rd, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brinkley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brinkley Resort Mt Hutt is a 4 star Qualmark rated High Country self-contained accommodation resort and conference centre situated in the Alpine heartland village of Methven at the foothills of majestic Mt Hutt. Just a short two minute walk to the centre of town and conveniently positioned for transport to Mt Hutt. Brinkley features a total of 80 self contained apartments comprised of 40 studios and 40 self contained two bedroom apartments. Laundry facilities are complimentary and shared between each apartment and studio room and the two bedroom apartments all contain spa baths, ideal for relaxing after a day on the mountain. Enjoy a relaxing evenings dining in Shackelton's Restaurant, award winning NZ Beef & Lamb recipient, open during the winter ski season ( please note our restaurant is open during ski season but closed for the summer with the exception of conferences, groups & weddings). Free 300mb high speed wifi provided during your stay - additional internet small charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Brinkley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing