We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money”
Review of Brinkley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brinkley Resort
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We prebooked our apartment at least a month out from arrival and were looking forward to our stay. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 infants. Unfortunately we were given an upstairs room, so had to lug all our bags and 2 small children up very steep external stairs. The rooms were basic, nothing flash to reflect the full rate we were charged. The microwave would only work if door was slammed and otherwise the light would stay on. The toiletries were budget. The tv was a LCD as described but not like the one in advertising picture, just a small one on a cabinet. There was wireless Internet.... At a price.

We had a babysitter to watch our children while at a wedding, and offered to get her dinner - dialled 774 for the restaurant, it rang and rang ... So sent her over to order a pizza for dinner.... Oops no one there. Restaurant closed 6pm Friday evening. And they were charging us peak season rates... So luckily there was a great wee takeaway in town do I had to drive in a collect that, making me late for wedding dinner.

We were just disappointed that as locals to be charged a full rate of $275 per night we have stayed all around the world in 5 star resorts and received much more for our money .

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank RollyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are a Qualmark rated 4 Star property not 5 Star as your review states. We subject ourselves to their independent inspection annually and comply with their rating requirements which are based on International standards. If you wish to visit us again simply ask reception for a ground floor room when you check in and if possible we would be happy to accommodate. The room rate you prebooked and agreed to is on our website as are our restaurant trading times, a virtual tour of the room you requested, our internet policy and also most of the information you will find to see if our property meets your expectations. May we suggest Terrace Downs if you have a preference for 5 Star properties as I believe that is the only one in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this resort while on an epic snow boarding trip through New Zealand! Had an awesome stay in a clean and comfortable room. This town is like a sleepy, relaxed and very chilled version of most Australian towns. It's super close to Mt Hutt (which was awesome for boarding) and it is super cheap with two pubs in the town for food and some beverages. There are great vistas of the mountains from the resort and it is really well set out with a tennis court, chipping green and nice restaurant. This resort was super friendly (when we turned up at 1am after a late flight to Christchurch - the key to our room was literally stuck on the reception door) how's that for small town service. Would definitely stay here again we next do our epic snowboarding trip! *On the drive into Methven check out the super large hedges along some of the straightest roads in NZ! Enjoy

Stayed: September 2012
2  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

A special "Thanks!" for taking the time to write a review of Brinkley and your obviously enjoyable stay. Hope to see you again next year and we can guarantee you will receive the same friendly service irrespective of what time your check in arrival is!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Handy to Blue and Brown Pubs, and good value for money.

Service was prompt and polite.

Didn't check out the spa, tennis court or restaurant.

Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah. Hopefully that is 200 characters Tripadvisor


.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Hi and Thanks for sharing your views on Brinkley. Hope to see you back again next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Brinkley Resort for 3 nights in early September 2012 and had a great time. The hotel is close walking distance to the main pubs, information hut, car rental and supermarkets.
I booked the accommodation directly through the hotel and they were happy to supply contact information for the transfers between Christchurch Airport and Brinkley Resort through Methven Travel.
Our accommodation had a direct view of Mt Hutt from the lounge room and was spacious, warm and had everything we needed. Everything worked well and we had no issues at all.
Brinkley also sorted our ski trip to Mt Hutt which included transfers and lift passes. Unfortunately due to severe winds Mt Hutt was closed for the entirety of our stay and we were able to gain a refund.
As the Ski Mountains were closed we hired a car and drove to Lake Tekapo and enjoyed the hot springs for the day and ate at the local Japanese restaurant with views of Lake Tekapo.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Mt Hutt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your time in our part of the world. Hopefully next year if you return you will be able to spend more time up on the beautiful slopes of Mt Hutt. We also have some amazing Gorge activities nearby including jet boat rides into the "Lord of the Rings " filming territory. All the best and thank you for choosing Brinkley as your holiday destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

One thing as a business man with 3 stores is when I want a vacation I want to have great memories, the restaurant the service the accommodation and the hosts (Paul and Gayle) made my holiday memorable, as well as Mt Hutt having the best snow fall in Nz I fully recommend anyone wanting a well priced holiday get to Brinkley Village in Methven and your whole family will have a great time, again thanks Paul and Gayle see you next year....

Room Tip: Mountain side has the best views otherwise all the complex is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PioneerRockhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A few friends and I stayed at Brinkley resort for 2 nights to ski in Mt Hutt for a day. The room was spacious, clean and we woke up to incredible views of the mountain outside. The town centre is just a short walk and there's a very cute cafe there-I forget the name but we had the most beautiful soup and coffee. We ate in the restaurant the second night and was very glad that we did. The atmosphere is warm with friendly, helpful staff and a beautiful fireplace. The food was marvelous! I would definitely recommend Brinkley resort to anyone staying in Methven.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank NataliaAnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was 2 nights of warm and comforting stay at Brinkley Resort during winter in mid August 2012 for my family first visit to New Zealand. The view of the snow peaked Mt Hutt was breathtaking especially sunset just behind the resort. The resort's Shackleton Restaurant serves the best seafood chowder in the world! It was far better than the ones I had near coastal areas in USA, Canada and Australia. The chef was excellent serving our favourite pork belly with scallops, lamb shank, juicy Angus steaks, fresh chunky seafood pizza and even their bread & butter pudding was so yummy! They have a lovely lists of carefully selected wines and the friendly waitress , Ally recommended Dog Point's sav blanc was excellent with fruity taste. It was a great pairing with the seafood.The short drive to Mt Hutt for skiing was just perfect as well. Methven is a great place for a family holiday!

Room Tip: The unit we stay in comes with a laundry and dryer which was what I needed & I can park my car r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.5 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Hutt Motels
Mount Hutt Motels
#7 of 19 in Methven
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#9 of 9 in Methven
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 19 in Methven
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 19 in Methven
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinkley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkley Resort

Address: 43 Barkers Rd, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Price Range: $97 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brinkley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brinkley Resort Mt Hutt is a 4 star Qualmark rated High Country self-contained accommodation resort and conference centre situated in the Alpine heartland village of Methven at the foothills of majestic Mt Hutt. Just a short two minute walk to the centre of town and conveniently positioned for transport to Mt Hutt. Brinkley features a total of 80 self contained apartments comprised of 40 studios and 40 self contained two bedroom apartments. Laundry facilities are complimentary and shared between each apartment and studio room and the two bedroom apartments all contain spa baths, ideal for relaxing after a day on the mountain. Enjoy a relaxing evenings dining in Shackelton's Restaurant, award winning NZ Beef & Lamb recipient, open during the winter ski season ( please note our restaurant is open during ski season but closed for the summer with the exception of conferences, groups & weddings). Free 300mb high speed wifi provided during your stay - additional internet small charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Brinkley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing