We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating view from the resort!”
Review of Brinkley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brinkley Resort
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fascinating view from the resort!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was 2 nights of warm and comforting stay at Brinkley Resort during winter in mid August 2012 for my family first visit to New Zealand. The view of the snow peaked Mt Hutt was breathtaking especially sunset just behind the resort. The resort's Shackleton Restaurant serves the best seafood chowder in the world! It was far better than the ones I had near coastal areas in USA, Canada and Australia. The chef was excellent serving our favourite pork belly with scallops, lamb shank, juicy Angus steaks, fresh chunky seafood pizza and even their bread & butter pudding was so yummy! They have a lovely lists of carefully selected wines and the friendly waitress , Ally recommended Dog Point's sav blanc was excellent with fruity taste. It was a great pairing with the seafood.The short drive to Mt Hutt for skiing was just perfect as well. Methven is a great place for a family holiday!

Room Tip: The unit we stay in comes with a laundry and dryer which was what I needed & I can park my car r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    42
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
62
45
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Brinkley resort after a friend suggest we get a day of skiing in at Mt. Hutt before we travelled to Queenstown by Car - and we are glad we did.

We arrived late on the first night (drove from Christchurch) greeted by friendly reception staff who checked us in and gave us our keys within about 3 minutes (always good after a long flight and drive). The restaurant was at full capacity when we arrived (always a good sign) but we were advised that we could get something to eat in 20 minutes after the function concluded. That night we had a few drinks in our room then moved onto the Restaurant and Bar inside. The night ended up being awesome ending up having a chat and a drink with the Manager after the restaurant closed and a drink in the hot-tub in the early hours! (a must do).

After a great first night we woke up to a warm spacious room (2 Bedroom) with an INCREDIBLE view of snow-capped Mt. Hutt - from our living room! To our disappointment Mt. Hutt was closed!! But the manager of the property was very helpfuld in suggesting other activities to do in the area - he even offered to take us around! Upon his suggestion - we ended up spending a day at Rakaia Gorge - where we picniced and adventured, being able to turn a bit of a "nothing" day into another incredible one - if it wasn't for the manager we would've had no idea the place existed! That night afternoon and night was awesome as well - we cruised around the little town of Methven and had a great lunch - as well as a beer at both (that's right both) pubs - the Brown and the Blue - can I recommend the Blue. We were lucky enough to get a table at Shackleton's Grill (The Brinkley Restaurant) that night - where I had one of the best Eye Fillets I have had in a long time...

needless to say, we couldn't have asked for more and will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxxwell171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked two nights in order to ski on Saturday and return home to Christchurch on Sunday. Skiing looked marginal Saturday morning so we asked, at 9 AM on Saturday morning if we could defer our second night until the following weekend. The manager said "no" because they were fully booked and it was unlikely that they could sell the room on such short notice. So here we are on Saturday night in a half empty resort. We chose to eat outside the resort and will certainly not be recommending this place to anyone. The rooms are small and cramped and the highway noise is intrusive.

The staff are helpful and friendly. The manager needs to learn some lessons regarding the development of customer loyalty. We certainly won't be back.

Room Tip: There are lot's of choices in Methven. We intend to try somewhere else next time as there is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NA1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, Public Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Our receptionist has informed me that she advised you that as you had booked and paid via AA (where you received a discounted rate) you would need to make any alterations with your booking via AA. We have spoken to AA and they have confirmed you agreed to their terms and conditions and acknowledged their cancelation policy prior to you making payment to them. Obviously due to the above facts we were unable to accommodate your request to defer part of your stay. It is important to provide factual information when you submit a review on Trip Advisor as they rely on the integrity of the information supplied so future guests are not inadvertently mislead. Once again sorry our receptionist couldn’t accommodate your request as we are also bound by the agreement we have with AA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Really nice relaxed family run resort near Mt Hutt. Children had heaps to do with tennis courts and some putting greens.The staff were lovely with them and our room had Fox TV with Disney Channel so that pushed the right buttons.The thing we liked is that we could hang our ski gear up in the laundry, cook the kids dinner then jump in the hot spas near the restaurant .Restaurant is a must.We had some New Zealand pork belly then a lovely choc souffle (okay we were on holidays!)which melted in your month.Probabaly our nicest memory this trip.

Room Tip: Spa pools with bar access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anglaterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I will let the chefs know you enjoyed your pork belly ...we do too! It’s a pleasure for us having children in the restaurant as we like to provide a warm family environment where everyone can relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Brinkley for 5 nights in mid August and really enjoyed our stay. It had everything we could ask for and the resort was well equipped for the price and what we expected. The hot tub was delightful after a long day on the slopes. Great view of the mountians, loved our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliashmoolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you and your family again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a lovely stay at Brinkley. Staff very freindly and restaurant food was 1st class, lots choices and all fresh and delicious. Apartment well equipped and in great location. Will be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and I will pass on your comments to our reception and restaurant staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Brinkley for 5 nights in mid August and really enjoyed our stay. It had everything we could ask for and the resort was well equipped for the price and what we expected. The hot tub was delightful after a long day on the slopes. The staff were friendly, which made the stay enjoyable. The restaurant was superb and the food exceptional! Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
0.5 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
126 reviews
9.0 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 20 in Methven
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinkley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkley Resort

Property: Brinkley Resort
Address: 43 Barkers Rd, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brinkley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brinkley Resort Mt Hutt is a 4 star Qualmark rated High Country self-contained accommodation resort and conference centre situated in the Alpine heartland village of Methven at the foothills of majestic Mt Hutt. Just a short two minute walk to the centre of town and conveniently positioned for transport to Mt Hutt. Brinkley features a total of 80 self contained apartments comprised of 40 studios and 40 self contained two bedroom apartments. Laundry facilities are complimentary and shared between each apartment and studio room and the two bedroom apartments all contain spa baths, ideal for relaxing after a day on the mountain. Enjoy a relaxing evenings dining in Shackelton's Restaurant, award winning NZ Beef & Lamb recipient, open during the winter ski season ( please note our restaurant is open during ski season but closed for the summer with the exception of conferences, groups & weddings). Free 300mb high speed wifi provided during your stay - additional internet small charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brinkley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing