We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pinedale Lodge & Apartment
Ranked #8 of 9 Methven B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment and one of our party stayed in the lodge so we can comment on both parts of Pinedale. The service was great, Tim and Penny are very helpful and accommodating and helped us out with booking an extra night when we needed to. The lodge beds are very comfortable and warm and the communal areas are warm, cosy and well equipped. The apartment is even better, a home away from home it has everything from comfortable beds and heating to even books and board games. Very spacious too. Pinedale is easy walking distance to Methven. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carly8677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2011

Room was very small, compared to other places I stayed at in NZ for similar price, like no room to put your bags on the floor, TV reception wasn't very good at all. Decor was very old.
We got the private double, the only thing was that the room was accessed from outside the house, not inside, where all the toilets and amenities were, so you had to walk outside (in 0 degree temps) just to go to toilet and bathroom and loungeroom!
I would probably stay somewhere else if I go back

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snad1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez75, Manager at Pinedale Lodge & Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Thanks so much for your feedback on our Budget Private Double Room. We are renovating this room in April, so it's nice and smart before the next winter season and working on providing space-efficient storage. As for it's size and situation, we will double check all our internet listings to make sure they say the Budget Private Double Room is small and off the verandah.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed in the apartment for 2 nights. The apartment was cozy and spacious, with a well equipped kitchen. As the apartment is situated separately from the lodge, it offers plenty of privacy as well. It comes with 2 bedrooms and a small garden. Perfect for small families in my opinion. Tim and Penny (the hosts) were warm, friendly and very helpful. If you are heading up to Mt Hutt, you could get them to help you book tickets for the bus. The location is also rather centralized with a Foursquare supermarket just round the corner and also lots of ski rental places. Methven is a small town, but a great gateway to many world class ski resorts with really warm people all round. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia_jng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Pinedale apartment has a really homely feel to it and provides all the little extras that make holidaying so much easier. The kitchen is decked out with all you need to cook for yourself and apartment is quite spacious. We had an awesome week there - and couldn't fault anything.

Penny and Tim are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble. To top a great week, when we left, they discovered I had left my passport behind. They managed to get it to the Christchurch airport before I even knew I had left it behind. Now that's amazing service!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brentlammas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My daughter and I loved our stay in the Apartment and the hospitality shown to us by Penny and her husband Tim. The Apartment was spacious, clean and modern. Right in the centre of Methven. If you were going skiing up Mt Hutt, a bus would pick you up out the front.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princessmuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Lodge on a recent trip to methven as a base for a day at Mt Hutt. The staff were fantatsic and the accomodation was very good. The facilities were also great. We wouldnt hesitate staying here again on our next trip to the snow!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reganol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My friends and I stayed at Pinedale for four nights in the Ski Season this year and had a great time. Everyone was really friendly and not having a car didn't matter because they managed to take us everywhere we wanted to go in the Pinedale Van at a cheaper price than renting a car.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Style_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.5 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 20 in Methven
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 9 in Methven
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#4 of 20 in Methven
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinedale Lodge & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinedale Lodge & Apartment

Address: 11 Alford Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Methven
Price Range: $76 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinedale Lodge & Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP Pinedale Lodge is Methven's largest holiday home and perfect for groups from 8 - 24 people, with 4 large family bedrooms and 1 twin bedroom and a tiered room rate for flexibility. Insulated and warm with 2 large living areas each with a fire place to relax around, pool table, long dining tables, high-definition freeview TV, video and DVD players. Large book and video libraries. If your group is 4 or less, then the Pinedale Apartment would suit you - a family friendly, fully self contained 2 bedroom space. Both holiday houses come with iPod docking stations, fully equipped kitchen with lots of storage space and a dishwasher. Plenty of off-street parking, a lockable shed for sports gear/bikes, WiFi access available for extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Pinedale Lodge & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing