We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mt. Hutt Bunkhouse, lodge & cottage
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for a week prior to the ski season starting at the nearby Mt Hutt Skifield and really enjoyed my stay. The bunkhouse is cosy, warm and the staff are very friendly. There's a large garden and separate cottage with great views of the mountains and a lovely homely feel to the bunkhouse. Everywhere was kept really clean and tidy and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lkirk1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 47 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Bunk House for one week! Met some great people, rode some awesome snow at Mt Hutt which is just 35 mins to the top from your bed.. The beds where great and the place was plenty warm! Kitchen was the best we had been in, everything you needed and really clean and tidy! Didnt wanna leave! If you stay anywehere else whilst visiting Mt Hutt your a MUG :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L0nd0nJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed there for a week and really enjoyed it. The staff and other guests were really friendly and it was very welcoming and comfortable. The company we booked our trip with made a mistake but the staff were great at accommodating us and our needs. Shared bathroom and kitchen areas were kept clean and tidy

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ems5587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

sweet spot,staff are real nice and atmosphere is friendly and chilled. A place to stay for all!Nice and central,everything near by. Kitchen is nice and big and good cooking facilities and always kept clean. Bathrooms are good,standard decent showers,cant complain! Would always come back to this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This backpackers ticks all the boxes - central location, cosy fire, eco-friendly, lots of hot water, free tea & coffee, sunny backyard for soaking up some sunshine. For skiers and snowboarders, it has the essential drying room and even a shed with tools to tune your board/skis and keep them locked up. Staff were friendly and helpful, and we will gladly stay again, we can only hope that the weather cooperates next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Room 1, which had a double bed and a set of bunks, good amount of room, even if we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ristari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our family converged on Methven from various parts of the globe at the end of June and were welcomed to an extremely clean, cosy and well set up cottage. It was obviously a cold evening at that time of year, but the staff had already lit the for us and the hot water cylinder was full and on. We self catered so were very happy to find the kitchen was fully equipped with everything you would need. Two clean showers and two loos were a god send with 5 adults and 6 kids in the cottage, as you can imagine. Each room had a heater so a good warm comfortable sleep was had by all. Overall the classic mountain resort cottage was exactly what we had hoped for and more. We would highly recommend it to anyone. The front of house manager was extremely helpful and full of valuable information and stories, ask him about the barracuda spike in his foot. Hope its good enough to get back on the slopes. See you next year !

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We arrived to find our booking had been lost. We had booked a room with 2 double beds.
Instead we were put in the staff room and the manager suggested one of us sleep on the floor as there was only 1 bed available. They set up a thin matress on the damp floor. It was not clean and not what we had paid for.
We cancelled our booking and found much better and cleaner accomodation down the road at Abisko.
I would not recomend this backpackers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.5 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 19 in Methven
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#9 of 9 in Methven
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 19 in Methven
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 19 in Methven
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Hutt Bunkhouse, lodge & cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Hutt Bunkhouse, lodge & cottage

Address: 8 Lampard Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Price Range: $24 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mt. Hutt Bunkhouse, lodge & cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing