We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay”
Review of Ski Time

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ski Time
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were in Methven for a quick ski trip but it ended up being so much more than we expected. Great studio. Great shower. Great breakfasts & dinners. Great staff. Great views.
Great value = brilliant holiday :)

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We've just checked out today after a 5 night stay and could not have been happier with our stay. The location is just out of the main part of Methven though only a 10 minute walk, and being directly across the road from an empty field with unobstructed views to Mt Hutt was perfect. The team there were incredibly friendly, and with free wifi and continental breakfast there really wasn't anything we could fault. Thanks for a great week!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were there for a few days in July for Mount Hutt reasons and I was very impressed with the professional, friendly and motivated staff. With full occupancy guest names are remembered!

Food was good with standard and specials on a daily basis and the simple breakfast is included.

We stayed in one of the independent studio rooms towards the back of the property - all very good. Just love the wetroom - none of the those pokey shower doors! I will be there next year, assuming I go skiing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MainlanderNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed 3 nights during our 12 day trip of NZ, and this place was by far the best. Had a two bedroom apartment for our family of four with two toddlers, and had tons of room.

The full (biggest I've ever had in a hotel) kitchen gave us an easy break from eating out, but we actually ate out more than we planned at the hotel restaurant. Compliments to the chef, as these were the best meals we had during our whole 12 holiday.

It was the most expensive hotel/apartment during our trip (365 per night in the height of ski season), but it was definitely worth it. Free wifi was an awesome perk rarely seen in this part of the world. Would absolutely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maverick1686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The perfect value-for-money relaxed and friendly place to stay in Methven. Great atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff who really add to the experience. Great food, the lounge and bar areas all cosy and inviting. The studio was simple but very clean and modern. The units look even better. The free local area bus stops at the door enabling a night out elsewhere without walking and ski bus picks up at the door for your trip to Mt Hutt (buy your tickets before). My room had a stunning view across fields to the snow covered mountains.

Room Tip: I stayed in a deluxe lodge room which was delightful (all upstairs ones have mountain views) but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Ski time is a great place to settle for a snow trip. We got great value with 5 nights for the price of 4 and really was unbeatable. The places are modern and clean. The studios are a tad small but the units look awesome. Will be trying them next time. A couple of small touches would be great... iPod docks in the rooms and definitely more vegetarian options in the restaurant.
The staff though were outstanding. Made us feel at home and couldn't have asked to be treated any better. Big thanks to them all!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chjcoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We got some local advice as to where to stay in Methven.
Ski Time was really great. Super friendly staff. Good food. Excellent bar.
Accommodation was spot on. Will be staying here again next time we are in Methven.
Thanks for having us.

Room Tip: Room 8a was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponsonbypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.7 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#4 of 20 in Methven
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mount Hutt Motels
Mount Hutt Motels
#6 of 20 in Methven
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Big Tree Lodge Methven
Big Tree Lodge Methven
#16 of 20 in Methven
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Time

Address: 43 Racecourse Avenue | PO Box 84, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Price Range: $72 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ski Time 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are all about hospitality, atmosphere, and creature comforts. Everything about Ski Time is just right, from the open fires, ensuite rooms and cozy ambience, to the extensive wine list, great food and brilliant service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ski Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing