We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok place to have a meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Teppanyaki Takao

Teppanyaki Takao
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Kaiapoi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The only Japanese restaurant in North Canterbury, located upstairs adjacent to the main supermarket car park in Kaiapoi
NZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ok place to have a meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was disappointed as I ordered the prawn for the main. It was cooked the same way as the appetiser! I would not have ordered prawns if I know its the same as appetiser.

staff were friendly and attentive. My daughter had the steak which was nicely cookedoverall ok if you skip the prawns.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenjen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Went to this restaurant a couple of weeks ago. The meal is cooked in front of you and the chef has fun with his customers. I would recommend the chefs special at $42 was well worth it. The staff were ultra friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernside, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Entertaining way to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

A fun filled evening! The chef's are incredibly skilled at their art of cooking! The food was fantastic with plenty off choice, quite expensive overall though I thought especially for a family, the drinks were very costly especially the non alcoholic ones.
Loved the end where the chef writes on the hotplate very clever! The waiting staff are very efficient and helpful!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We are trying different restaurants/experiences and this didnt disappoint. Was fresh, well priced and comfortable. Will definately be frequent visitors from now on.

Helpful?
Thank leeann69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Too Crowded but Good Entertainment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Takao branch which is situated behind the Kaik pub on Williams Street in Kaiapoi. The place is difficult to find but once there the chefs are very entertaining with their party tricks and the food is quite tasty. The room is however quite small and with two Teppanyaki tables on the go at one time it was rather too crowded. A disappointment was the pressure from the staff to order rather than just letting the guests enjoy pre-dinner drinks.

Helpful?
1 Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki Takao also viewed

 
Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Teppanyaki Takao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing