We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geraldine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2009

En route back from ski holiday. Geraldine always stopover destination for us. Turned up early evening with no booking. Two bedroomed unit available. Fast and fuss free check in. No unnecessary chit chat. Room clean and well equipped for family. Off main road so quiet for good night's sleep.
I suspect most clientele do as we do - one night only. Perfect for that. Absolutely no complaints and serves the purpose perfectly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kintailnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 144 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2008

Nice clean room with a comfortable bed and spa bath. Friendly owners who gave us a room away from the main drag so the sleeping was uniterrupted.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We decided to stay in Geraldine on our way from Aoraki/Mt Cook to Christchurch and just stopped at the first place we saw. Actually, the internet broadband sign called to my husband and son. We had a 2-bedroom unit that was comfortable, spacious and clean. And yes, there was good internet access. It was a short walk to town and the owner was very helpful with dinner recommendations. Wish we had more time to explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MAquohoag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We stayed at the Scenic Route after the hotel we'd booked was all locked up by the time we arrived late (at 11:30pm - small town equivalent of 3am). We were booked in quickly and efficiently - fortunate as we felt half dead by that stage.

The Scenic Route looks like your traditional NZ motel but inside it is new and fresh. A lot of effort seems to have been made in the small details - even down to having little tables outside the room entrances so the smokers can get some relief (we're not but it was a nice touch - complete with ash trays). The bathroom was great (shower only - no bath if I remember correctly) and the bed was the best I slept on in our holiday.

It's on the approach to Geraldine from Christchurch and Geraldine itself is a pleasant small town on the way to the more notable NZ tourist attractions. It does have a nice supply of cafes and stores for supplies though.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escottf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Found simply as a convenient place to stay en route, this recently opened motel had everything you could need (obviously all new), and only cost $162 for a 2 bedroom unit. I don't remember if it was rated
but should be 4+star.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wartling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rum 9 är i alla fall tyst :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76g_rana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaMOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace28, Owner at ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geraldine
21.3 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andorra Motel
Andorra Motel
#2 of 5 in Geraldine
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geraldine Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fourpeaks Motel
Fourpeaks Motel
#4 of 5 in Geraldine
22 reviews
10.5 mi away
Phoenix Motel
Phoenix Motel
#1 of 1 in Temuka
43 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Downs B & B
The Downs B & B
#2 of 9 in Geraldine
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge

Address: 28 Waihi Terrace, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Geraldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geraldine
Price Range: $100 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star self contained quality accommodation, 10 air conditioned units, 3 spa bath units,3 two bedroom apartments, newest motel in Geraldine. Continental breakfast available. 5 Minute walk to restaurants and shopping centre. 1 Hour 45 from Christchurch airport. Make us your first or last stop when exploring the south and lakes area. Tekapo an easy drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing