We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Beer and Awesome Hospitality”

Valley Brewing Company
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Geraldine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We offer good, honest, hearty fare. We are not fine dining, but believe in giving value for money. Our Blue Cod is becoming famous by all our guests who pass this secret on to others. The beers are all brewed on site and have had wonderful reviews from peers and those who like craft beer. Tasting paddles are available so you don't have to commit to just one beer. Our main ethos is to offer excellent, friendly service and give everyone a brilliant experience as they dine, inside or outside in our beautiful rural setting.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beer and Awesome Hospitality”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

There is something special about a place when you walk in and feel right at home. The owners are warm and kind and the beer is simply excellent. Two buddies and I were on our way from Christchurch to Tekapo when we stopped in for some tastings. Valley Brewing is a great half way point on the journey.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhagemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    34
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great beer and service”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Beer tasting was reasonably priced and the beer was great! Didn't expect much from the small brewery but I was amazed by some great tasting beers. The place was fully booked out when we went on a Sunday so we didn't have any food - just beer. Service was great as well. Such a great place to stop to break up the drive (they state that the beers that you are served for the tasting are the equivalent to 1 standard beer).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niss_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best blue Cod ever!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a must stop whether you live next door or are heading through to the next place.
The blue Cod is to die for, great size meal and fantastic value. All of the staff are lovely, helpful offer genuinely great service.
We went for dinner with friends and had a great night without breaking the bank,will definitely be Back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AbbyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home baked flavours with high end restaurant quality”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

A lovely evening meal at this hidden gem. Great food, tasty boutique beer and friendly staff. The tasting board of beers is a great idea. Will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starlight2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
185 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beer straight from the vat..”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Watch out for the small sign on the road from Tekapo as you are approaching Geraldine, or you might miss this great little place.

It is a very friendly and comfortable place to stop for a cup of coffee and cake, or a light meal of good honest, hearty fare. And, you can sample and even take away some of the award winning, hand-crafted beers they brew on site.

There is also a quiet outside area to sit and enjoy the sunshine whilst watching the deer in the surrounding field.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Brewing Company also viewed

Geraldine, Canterbury Region
Geraldine, Canterbury Region
 
Geraldine, Canterbury Region
Geraldine, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Valley Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing