We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Call in here”

Valley Brewing Company
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Geraldine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We offer good, honest, hearty fare. We are not fine dining, but believe in giving value for money. Our Blue Cod is becoming famous by all our guests who pass this secret on to others. The beers are all brewed on site and have had wonderful reviews from peers and those who like craft beer. Tasting paddles are available so you don't have to commit to just one beer. Our main ethos is to offer excellent, friendly service and give everyone a brilliant experience as they dine, inside or outside in our beautiful rural setting.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Call in here”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We called in on the way to Christchurch, having seen the the roadside sign and found a little gem. The cafe is great, didn't eat but the coffee & ambience were just right. Did the beer tasting & in my opinion the beers are the best in New Zealand. The owners are really friendly and helpful, recommending a great little campsite in Geraldine. This place is a MUST visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    36
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little stop off!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were travelling back from a party in Chch and decided to stop into the Brewery Cafe just outside of Geraldine. What a lovely little spot. Great food, excellent service and the beer we didn't get the chance to sample but if it was anything like the view and the people it would have been awesome. Definately stop off if you get the chance to have a bite.. Excellent value...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lunch on a sunny day”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

the service was prompt, the food good and the waiter very helpful with choosing which of their own beers to have with our meal.
lots of people sitting outside in the sun

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank K1ngsGld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wow! tasty microbrews”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Husband is quite a beer snob as we live in the Pacific Northwest of USA (Hood River and Seattle) and have access to some tasty microbrews. We stopped by VBC on our way to Mt Cook and were extremely happy with our tasting. We bought a mini growler of the Harvest Whit beer (my favorite) and a 4 pack of their Pale Ale. After many disappointing beers here, I keep thinking about how tasty my Harvest was. What a surprising and delightful find! The owners/brewmasters were on site and were so friendly. We didn't taste the food but I'd definitely recommend this place for the beers. Mmmmm...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, great beer and great location.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Drove to the brewery cafe geraldine from timaru and through scenery was stunning. On the main state highway 79 the cafe was set within rolling hills and next to paddocks. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Coffee was great then i had a beer taster, 4 beers for $5(nz) my favourite was the wheat beer. I had a beefburger made from local beef, best i have tasted. My wife wanted an egg sandwich which wasn't on the menu and they made it no hassle. Definitely going there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Brewing Company also viewed

Geraldine, Canterbury Region
Geraldine, Canterbury Region
 
Geraldine, Canterbury Region
Geraldine, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Valley Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing