We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geraldine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
StoneBridge Function Venue Limited
Ranked #1 of 9 Geraldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our stay there was a beautiful one. Such a big garden and a nice and friendly atmosphere made our day out there a unique one - you won't be able to find such a great place in the nearer surroundings! Breakfast was really good, and Carmel & Ferg did the rest to let us feel like home!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelD678, Owner at StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around NZ. I hope one day soon to get back over to Germany as have so many connections there and miss them dearly. All the best with your future studies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 83 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

On our trip through New Zealand we stayed at StoneBridge, and it was such a nice stay! Here you have the chance to come down a bit and relax while walking through the huge, stunning garden with so many little walkways. The room was very comfortable and Carmel and Ferg were lovely hosts. Even the breakfast was really good - so thanks for that and we hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: The self contained cottage is worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelD678, Owner at StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

So please you enjoyed your stay at StoneBridge and also the gardens that are such a large commandant of our place. We also look forward to seeing you both again. Thank you for your review as most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed her overnight on our little trip around the south island, it was a real treasure.
Only we wish we could have stayed longer, the gardens are beautiful and the breakfast the next was was so delicous! Highly reccomend.
Kirstin & Phil

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelD678, Owner at StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your review and very much appreciated. It was a pleasure having you both stay, enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again if you are back in this part of the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This place blew us away, not only has it got the stunning gardens and water fountain going for itself but has everything all on site built on restaurant and bar so your guests don't have-to go any where after the ceremony, Carmel and Ferg have made this place stunning there isn't any where like it in Christchurch was honoured to have our wedding here highly recommend to all must check it out. Accommodation was just wow the whole room was lite up with tea light candles, hot tubs in the bush looking up to the stars. couldn't have asked for more thanks again has def left an imprint on us xx

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laceynz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelD678, Owner at StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your fab review. You are a special couple and it showed on your wedding day. Absolutely stunning together and just love the photos that we have seen already. You have such a loving family and friends that you invited to your wedding and supported you both. You are very blessed. All the best for your future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I took my wife for a surprise 60th birthday celebration to a weekend stay at StoneBridge. We stayed at the cottage and enjoyed the spacious and comfortable facilities. Karmal and Ferg were our wonderful hosts. We really appreciated their friendly informal service, making sure that all our needs were being catered for. Waking up to a chorus of birdsong and looking out on the beautiful botanical garden setting with lake and fountain, set the scene for a memorable experience , that included a sumptuous breakfast out on the patio in the early morning sun, consisting of fresh fruit, delicious pancakes and a mushroom omelet on toast, accompanied by orange juice and coffee.What can go wrong after such a start to your day. Thank you so much. We will come back for more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelD678, Owner at StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of StoneBridge as it is most appreciated. Also the confidence of booking with us on such an important occasion, trusting without knowing us with belief we would deliver to your expectations . It is a privilege always to be part of something special. Thank you again and look forward to the next occasion!

Apologies for not responding sooner as we are only now just having our first weekend off for the season and catching up on work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

It is a wonderful place for a wedding . The gardens are beautiful to wander around, lovely lakes, mature trees & plenty of beautiful flowering plantings. We had a wonderful day at our granddaughters wedding. The food was great so was the service. The staff gave a very professional service to all. Thank you most sincerely for all your kindness shown to all.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Mitziarmstrong7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelD678, Owner at StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your very generous review and trust all is going well with the happy couple. It was a beautiful wedding and we wish them all the best for their future together. Thank you for all your help on the day as it was just great! Your granddaughter certainly has a wonderful supportive family.
Please accept our apologies in lateness in replying as we have had our first break in a very long time and trying to catch up on book work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in the cottage overnight on our way up the island. The hosts were very lovely (as were their cute dogs!) and the breakfast in the morning was better than you'd get in most cafes. The grounds were beautiful, even with the mess of the turning season and the bed was massive and very comfortable. We were however a little let down by the other furniture (very old style lounge suite, odd rickety dining set & plastic cutlery) and seemed to have stayed at a bit of a awkward time (the normal tv had broken & the replacement was rather oldschool, the wi-fi did not work if you were inside the cottage).
Lovely service & grounds but the cottage decor needs a refresh for the price bracket.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohcodyrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelD678, Owner at StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Hi Cody & Dominic

We are really really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have realised recently the decor is dated and have moved to change that. It is a pity that we didn't get the interior changed before your stay, though the plan is to have the refurbishment completed before the busy summer season to come. To this end we would like to offer you a complimentary night to come and check out the new decor and let us know what you think about it.

Thank you so much for your response and constructive commentary. It is crucially important to our business and is much appreciated.

To hope to see you in the very near future and wish you all the best.

All the best
Carmel, Ferg and the team.

PS. Thank you for the breakfast - you made me beam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geraldine hotels
1.8 mi away
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Geraldine Top 10 Holiday Park
2 mi away
Andorra Motel
Andorra Motel
#2 of 5 in Geraldine
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fourpeaks Motel
Fourpeaks Motel
#4 of 5 in Geraldine
23 reviews
15 mi away
Peel Forest Homestays
Peel Forest Homestays
#5 of 9 in Geraldine
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black on Grey Motel
Black on Grey Motel
#3 of 5 in Geraldine
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StoneBridge Function Venue Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneBridge Function Venue Limited

Address: 842 Winchester-Geraldine Road, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Geraldine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Geraldine
Price Range: $50 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Acre rural and woodland garden property, architecturally designed Function/Events Centre built November 2007 with floor to ceiling windows that view boutique lake with water features and woodland gardens. Catering from 10 to 250+ in venue plus will cater for homestay guests. B&B accommodation at the homestead consists of 3 rooms plus one self-contained unit. Outdoor spa and twin herbal heated bush baths plus outside activities offered. StoneBridge was a finalist in the SC Business and Tourism Awards 2011. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing