We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD”
Review of Eat Deli & Bar

Eat Deli & Bar
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Choose from Our extensive Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch menu, or the ever changing specials board. All our food is made on site from fresh ingredients, with love. Our aim is to "tease and please" the palate. We also back ourselves with offering the districts best coffee.
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The best Eggs Benny I've had for a long time ... with bacon, free range eggs a bonus and the mustard hollandaise tasted brilliant, served on fresh ciabatta. The Ham, Brie & Salad filled croissant got a 12 out of 10 for simply brilliant fresh & crisp salad served alongside the fresh flakey croissant. Excellent coffee too. Cabinet food as well as all day breakfast menu, lunch menu and retail products (their liquorice logs are fabulous). Top service with a smile - will definately make this a favourite stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    32
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Food, Great Coffee”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We regularly visit Eat as we have family in living in the area. Whether we have a meal or just go for coffee n cake, the quality of food is always high. We love our coffee and so when you go to a small country town and find a good barista, it's a bonus. The passing skiers have also discovered Eat, a constant flow were calling in for their takeaway coffees while we were there last weekend. The staff are very friendly, yet professional and there is a also selection of specialty foods for sale from pasta sauce to licorice. You wont be disappointed if you stop off. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A great place to stop”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's a pity that this cafe is generally a stop on the inland tourist route between Christchurch and Wanaka or Queenstown for the food is innovative and tasty. The service is wonderful and free Internet is a bonus. There is a nice outside sitting area for sunny days and a great fire inside on colder days. It just shows what can be done, even in relatively small town. Well worth a stop, and well fills the gap when the Old Library cafe closed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanfromRAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
271 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Keeps Fairlie on the map”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

"Eat' has been a real blessing to this country village where eateries tend to come and go.
All of our firends who have eaten there have had the same high-standard experiences as we have.
We last ate there as a family about a month ago, sitting upstairs where there was less bustle. The staff are really cordial and helpful. The five of us choose excellent dishes, except for one, which it was agreed was an error of judgment rather than the fault of the food. There's a good range of choices, daily specials and cabinet food.
The only blot on an otherwise great lunch was that the pressure was on during a really busy Sunday. That meant the service was a bit slow and the lines at the counter rather crowded.
Don't get your hopes up if you're visiting Fairlie in May - the place closes down for a month so that the owners and staff can get a substantial and well-deserved break (overseas?)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanaka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just yummy”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Twice I have dinned her e over the past 6 years and both time it exceeded all expectations, unique fun and different to other dinning providers,
so if travelling chcristchurch to Central Otago or vis versa wait to enjoy Eat at Fairlie.
You wonrt be dissapointed
Just wish they were open evenings too

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanakaAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Deli & Bar also viewed

Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Eat Deli & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing