We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Fairlie
Post
Inbox
Search

“WOW ”
Review of Fairlie Bakehouse

Fairlie Bakehouse
Ranked #1 of 5 Quick Bites in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: At the Fairlie Bakehouse we believe fresh is best and in friendly efficient service.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place was packed, but obviously the owners are so switched on because they had about 10 staff ready to take orders.
Maybe you should send a video link to popular bakeries in Australia, they still haven’t worked out how to cater for large numbers.
We had pies and coffee, and I’m sure the kids had milkshakes.
Delicious, efficient and worth the stop. Made a return visit on the way back to Christchurch.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 334hamishp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 744 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Slightly chaotic service at the counter as the shop was very busy.
We asked for cold pies to take away which were duly produced and put in a lovely carry-box. We had a salmon and bacon pie and a pork and apple pie with gorgeous huge piece of crackling on top.
Both pies were heavenly.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank JanuaryLantern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

We are always partial to a nice steak and kidney pie when in OZ, had many brilliant pies there. Whilst at Fairlie bakehouse we purchased some steak and kidney pies for a later date after having tried their Pork Belly & Apple pie.
The steak and kidney pies were all a vast disappointment, in fact the WORST I have ever had. Whilst the pastry was nice and crisp and there were steak chunks, the pie had no moisture, not a scrap of gravy or Worcestershire sauce and where the kidney was is still a mystery, 3 pies had possibly on or two small morsels and the third had possibly 4 tiny pieces. Overall a dry pie with no kidneys. Lost me for good now.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scotts9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

So you’re here for the meat pies. And the meat pies are the best pies you’ll ever have. That’s pretty much all you need to know, otherwise it’s just a bakery. What else do you need? If you’re in Fairlie and you don’t stop in for a pie you’ve missed half the reason to drive through the town.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank SGontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Friends recommended we stop at Fairlie en route from Central Otago to Christchurch. They said we would find it by the queue! They were right and we are glad we took their advice. Both of our chiices were flavourful with a good balance of sauce and tender meat. Despite the queue, the wait was not long! Recommended!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank otepuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairlie Bakehouse also viewed

Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 
 

Been to Fairlie Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing