We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pies in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairlie Bakehouse

Fairlie Bakehouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the Fairlie Bakehouse we believe fresh is best and in friendly efficient service.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best Pies in Town”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The best pies we have eaten in a long time.... Fresh, home-baked and excellent fillings. The sweets are to die for too.
Lovely staff - enjoyed sitting outside seeing the world pass by.
A great lunch stop.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    74
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best pies I'd ever had”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My family recommended that we take a side trip for pies here. We are glad we did. We couldn't stop at just one, a couple of us brought pies to takeaway. Special mention to the little cheese pies. My tastebuds were singing!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ubermum_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WHAT A FIND”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Travelling up early from Timaru, we found this Oasis open at 7 AM in the morning serving the most delightful bakes and pies you will ever find. We has the salmon and bacon pie for breakfast, and WOW. You must stop at this most delightful bakery

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast places”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at Fairlie Hotel across the Main Street, and since in the early morning the hotels kitchen was closed this bakery saved my day. After perfect breakfast I was ready for the road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pertti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Soooo yummy”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

quite a clan of us stopped here recently, in fact we filled the shop and the staff were awesome. Nobody had to wait and the staff were quick and efficient. I had pizza and a cheese muffin. Mmmmm very very nice. Hubby loved his pie, so much he went and brought a second one. definitely worth a stop if you are passing through.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairlie Bakehouse also viewed

Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Fairlie Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing