We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Mt Dobson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt Dobson Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Getting desperate for accommodation and needing to be in Christchurch the next day, we came upon Mount Dobson...one room left, and Brigid and Geoff so friendly.Room was spotless and the towels the thickest in 3 weeks of NZ motels! Brigid provides everything travelers could possibly need. It was a hot day and we sat by the creek cooling our feet in the perfectly clear water, and the pub next door is great too! We are a very impressed English couple in NZ visiting family, thank you very much Brigid and Geoff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank GwermandCathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

We (he,she & 5 pug dogs) arrived in our Toyota coaster sunday & stayed 3 nights. Brigid & Geoff were just so accommodating.They allowed us to use their garage for the dogs & exercise them in the nearby paddock. We did not use the motels but I could see how lovely & clean they were kept. Really big with all facilities. I would recommend them without hesitation.I think Brigid & Geoff are the host & hostess with the mostest Pugcity

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We moved here to Mt. Dobson M., rather desperate, after forfeiting a 3rd free night at Mackenzie Motels (owned by Fairlie Top 10.) after a simply shocking stay there. All we wanted by then was a kitchen, a sofa and a tele that worked and somewhere to hang things. That was our brief to Mt Dobson M. This place exceeded expectations well and truly. Believe me, it was worth the $130.00 for our family. Mt. Dobson Motel even texted me through the night when they had a no-show so we could move in early next morning to their unit and be there for breakfast. - So owners are thoughtful !!. Unit was clean and neat as a pin. Off road parking for boat. Tidy, nice little outlook instead of the warzone outlook at the previous place. Pets are welcome and with sleep in friendly and relaxed attitude of owners we have found out (but not relaxed about service and cleanliness and things that matter) these people will do well. We have further to travel each day to get to Lk Ophua but this is where we will be staying next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank prue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for just one night as were going to the Mt Dobson Ski Field the next day and it had everything we needed. It was clean and comfortable and the motel owners were so accomodating, even going out of their way to ensure we had a great trip. I have to say they are definately the friendliest motel owners I have ever dealt with. I would definately recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sunz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a lovely motel in a great location. Yes I had a few teething issues (non-functioning lightbulb, not much hot water for the shower, no TV reception and missing tea-towel) but I don't mind small points like this when I'm only paying $99. The place is comfortable and fine for people passing through - good value.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Fabulous little motel, excellent facilities, complete kitchen. Very helpful owners, nice rose garden at the rear - they have thought of everything - a real home from home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Called in as we were passing looking for a place to stay for the night.
Very helpful staff/owner, the room was clean and tidy, and nice and peaceful - just what we needed, and the pub next door serves excellant food

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
14.4 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,015 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
135 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
15.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
13.8 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Dobson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Dobson Motel

Address: 768 Fairlie-Tekapo Road | Kimbell, Fairlie 7987, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range: $80 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly, pet friendly motel ideally situated for skiers wanting to ski at Mt Dobson skifield and anyone wanting to explore the Mackenzie District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mt Dobson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing