We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aorangi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aorangi Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Arrived and felt very welcome. Reception and book in easy. Good value wifi. Were shown to the room personally and given good advice about where to eat that evening. Only slight downside was that we thought we were booking for Lake Tekapo via last minute.come township and Farlie is about 50 klm away. Probably wouldn't have chosen it but glad we went there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    35
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
689 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have stopped here for one night and had two separate units. One was a two bedroom unit and the other one bedroom one. The unit was well equipped with everything we needed, free tea/coffee/Milo/milk. Wifi was good and we were given unlimited free vouchers which always lasted for 2 hours. The owners were very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay in this little town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Very clean and comfortable. Underfloor heating was much nicer than the usual style of heating often encountered in motels. Having a unit away from the road meant we were not disturbed by traffic. Wifi available. If one thing could be improved it would be the bed mattresses. They are rather soft. Overall, Good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling from christchurch to queenstown. Called and booked during the day as we're not going to be there until early hours of the morning after leaving late.
Owner was a pleasure to deal with. She put the heater on, the under floor heating on and the bed electric blanket on low.
Was comfortable bed, crisp clean sheets, the whole place was crisp and clean and homely. Perfect for a stop over or a base if around Fairlie

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Airport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Easy to find, stayed in room 7 which was a 1 bedroom unit. Great kitchen set up, Comfy beds, clean, friendly owner, good wifi coverage, lovely surroundings, short walk to food places, excellent pizza place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Motel is in a quiet position in the small town of Fairlie. The owners were friendly and welcoming. Gave advice on local places to see and places to eat. Room clean and good value for money. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stepheno177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after we couldn't find any accommodation in lake tekapo. Only half an hours drive, in a lovely town. The staff are lovely and really helpful, the room was lovely and lots of parking in front of the rooms which was handy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jodiekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
18.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
18.0 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musterer's High Country Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aorangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aorangi Motel

Property: Aorangi Motel
Address: 26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aorangi Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aorangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing