We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and quiet”
Review of Aorangi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aorangi Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Arrived and felt very welcome. Reception and book in easy. Good value wifi. Were shown to the room personally and given good advice about where to eat that evening. Only slight downside was that we thought we were booking for Lake Tekapo via last minute.come township and Farlie is about 50 klm away. Probably wouldn't have chosen it but glad we went there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stu0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have stopped here for one night and had two separate units. One was a two bedroom unit and the other one bedroom one. The unit was well equipped with everything we needed, free tea/coffee/Milo/milk. Wifi was good and we were given unlimited free vouchers which always lasted for 2 hours. The owners were very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay in this little town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Very clean and comfortable. Underfloor heating was much nicer than the usual style of heating often encountered in motels. Having a unit away from the road meant we were not disturbed by traffic. Wifi available. If one thing could be improved it would be the bed mattresses. They are rather soft. Overall, Good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling from christchurch to queenstown. Called and booked during the day as we're not going to be there until early hours of the morning after leaving late.
Owner was a pleasure to deal with. She put the heater on, the under floor heating on and the bed electric blanket on low.
Was comfortable bed, crisp clean sheets, the whole place was crisp and clean and homely. Perfect for a stop over or a base if around Fairlie

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Easy to find, stayed in room 7 which was a 1 bedroom unit. Great kitchen set up, Comfy beds, clean, friendly owner, good wifi coverage, lovely surroundings, short walk to food places, excellent pizza place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Motel is in a quiet position in the small town of Fairlie. The owners were friendly and welcoming. Gave advice on local places to see and places to eat. Room clean and good value for money. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stepheno177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night after we couldn't find any accommodation in lake tekapo. Only half an hours drive, in a lovely town. The staff are lovely and really helpful, the room was lovely and lots of parking in front of the rooms which was handy.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jodiekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
18.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
123 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
18.7 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
149 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#4 of 4 in Fairlie
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aorangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aorangi Motel

Address: 26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range: $85 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aorangi Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAIRLIE'S QUIETEST MOTEL ACCOMMODATION Welcome to our family owned, QUIET, spacious, cosy, motel accommodation complex, being 100 meters off the main highway, & only 200 meters from town centre, home of the amazing " Fairlie Bakehouse" Lake Tekapo is only 42km ( 30 minute drive ) We offer quality & affordable, fully self contained ground floor, Studio, One bedroom & Two bedroom units. Serviced daily. Full kitchen in all units. Also microwaves, Ensuite's with heated floors, hair dryers in all units. Breakfast available. Free Wireless Internet, 5 Sky TV Channels / 32" LCD TVs, DVD player's. Safe off street parking outside unit. Guest BBQ and Childrens Playground Enjoy & Relax with your own patio. Carports available. A great base or overnight stop, between Christchurch & Queenstown & for all the activities the Mackenzie District offers, and to enjoy the tranquility, peace and quiet of our beautiful Fairlie township / Restaurants / cafe's . Halfway stop-over between Christchurch and Aoraki/Mt Cook, Queenstown and Wanaka. Ski Mt Dobson, Fox Peak, Round Hill. Boating/fishing at Lake Opuha. Enjoy warm hospitality and comfort. All major credit cards accepted... Like us on Facebook "Aorangi Motel" or follow us on Instagram "aorangimotel" We look forward to meeting you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aorangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing