We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aorangi Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Brookside Motel(Geraldine)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geraldine motels(Canterbury Region)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
84
44
17
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
44
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderfloor heatingthe kitchenlake tekapofree wifithe main streetthe ownernew zealandmount cookeasy walkspacious loungethin wallsbedroom roomlong journeyliving areaovernight staygood sizefeel welcome
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 148 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Kathy was so welcoming of our extremely tired family who just wanted to go to bed. It was only 10am & the room was made ready for our early arrival which was a godsend. The apartments are lovely, very spacious and clean and have that home away from home feel in a nice quiet area.  Close to everything this is a perfect place to stay if ever passing through this beautiful town.  10/10 for service & accommodation. 

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank 105Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

When my wife and I explained that we were spending the night in Fairlie during our tour of the South Island, the reaction was always the same: "Why? Why ever would you want to go to Fairlie?" Poor Fairlie. I confess we didn't see much in Fairlie that would bring us back, though we've seen many less desirable spots.

We chose Fairlie as a convenient stop in the middle of a long drive from Queenstown, and were happy to stay at the Aorangie, which is excellent value. We had a two-bedroom apartment with separate kitchen and living/sitting room, together with a small, uninteresting patio at the front. The rooms were clean and bright, and the beds comfortable. Although the motel is on a main road, it's set well back from it, and we found the location very quiet.

The friendly owners provided a basic, but good, breakfast, left in the fridge while we went for an evening meal. Parking is easy and safe, directly outside the rooms.

The motel is dated, but is nevertheless clean and well maintained. The service from the owners was fast, efficient and helpful. This sort of motel is not what I'd choose for an extended stay - and neither is Fairlie - but we were glad we stayed at the Aorangie and, were we to need an overnight stop in Fairlie in the future, would come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a quiet motel complex 100 metres off the main highway and only 200 metres to the town centre, run as a family enterprise by a friendly and helpful couple.
Rooms have comfortable beds, adequate self-catering facilities, heated floors, 32" LCD flat screen TV's with Freeview but only limited Sky and Free Wireless. However, the rooms are very old-fashioned and ‘dated’, roughly in the 1950’s character. I even experienced my first stainless steel shower compartment!
A useful overnight stopover between Christchurch & Mt Cook (only 25 minute drive to Lake Tekapo) but wouldn’t want to stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

It was a rainy day and they provided wifi, a DVD player and dvd selection free of charge. Great service, a large lounge room, with comfy couches and a good tv. Fantastic. Great advice too, recommended a great steak place close by

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelseyE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed one night en route from Christchurch to Queenstown. The unit was spotless and well equipped. The hosts were so helpful even to the point of posting on my credit card I left behind when paying. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews