We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aorangi Motel
Nearby Hotels
$81
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Dobson Motel(Fairlie)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geraldine motels(Canterbury Region)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fourpeaks Motel(Geraldine)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
82
44
17
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
44
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderfloor heatingthe kitchenlake tekapofree wifithe main streetthe ownernew zealandmount cookeasy walkspacious loungethin wallsbedroom roomlong journeyliving areaovernight staygood sizefeel welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 146 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a slightly dated motel, but very clean. We were happily surprised when it was more like a 1 bedroom flat instead of just a room. There was 1 bedroom, living room, kitchen and bathroom all separate. This venue had free wifi. Its in a service lane so its quite a way off the main road, and there is not much traffic noise. We had no complaints staying here(apart from the weather :) ).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank random_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Friendly, welcoming hosts who clearly take great pride in the presentation and cleanliness of the motel. We had a two bedroom unit which was well equipped and spotless. Comfortable couches and a nice view onto the garden. Would definately stay here again..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had such an excellent stay in one of Kathy and John's motel rooms on the way down to Queenstown, we re-booked on our way back up to Nelson. They are an extremely nice couple - very helpful. Our units were spotless, spacious and there wasn't anything you would require that wasn't provided. Even the long leads provided on the hairdryers in the units had been thoughtfully considered. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility of our surroundings with its attendant birdsong - one of the most peaceful units we'd stayed in. The beautiful roses in the garden underpinned this pleasurable motel and are an absolute pleasure to look at, tended by Kathy so that they keep on blooming for ultimate enjoyment. The laundry is, very handily, close by. They both work very hard to ensure a high quality stay in their units and are very successful in accomplishing their aim.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a spotless, clean place with so much attention to detail...from the roses in the driveway to the plunger coffee maker. We ended up with a fully equipped 2 Bedroom unit with everything you could imagine for just over $100. Kathy & John both clean the units themselves. They are lovely sincere hard working people. The PERFECT stop between Christchurch and Queenstown. Try the yummy wood fired pizzas from 5pm at the fairly new Pappa Gs within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schatzieNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We often visit Fairlie and don't hesitate to book the Aorangi motel. The units are clean, bright and spacious. From the north side you can see the mountains, and from the south you look onto leafy riverside grounds. The hotels are very close to the centre of the village, but are set well back from the main road, so they're also peaceful. The hosts are friendly and helpful. And Father Christmas visited us there on Christmas morning!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otupaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews