We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy motel. Ideal stop between Christchurch and Mt Cook.”
Review of Aorangi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aorangi Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy motel. Ideal stop between Christchurch and Mt Cook.”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed overnight on 30/4/12 with my parents. Our flight from Australia landed in Christchurch at 3pm, and at about two and half hours drive from Christchurch, the Aorangi Motel at Fairlie was the perfect overnight stay on our way to the Mt Cook area. We arrived late but nothing was a problem for the owner who was very friendly which made us feel welcome on our first night in Un Zud. We stayed in a two bedroom unit which had everything you would need, more than enough room, and was very warm, clean and homely. After the flight and drive, the motel room was just so cosy and inviting to arrive to. The toasty warm heated floors were also lovely to wake up to. A very well presented motel and a good choice!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    40
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
59
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Out of but close to Christchurch - that was what I needed when planning a return to Christchurch after a visit further south. This motel in this town was just what was needed, and with it came a very comfortable and clean unit. But what was especially appreciated on top of all that was the warm and friendly manager, who made us feel so welcome and much more than just a client.
The bitumin parking/driveway that the doorways open onto is the only lack of appeal I found in the whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstrav255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our overnight stay at Aorangi Motel in Fairlie was peaceful and relaxing. We were greeted by the owner upon arrival and could park our car right out the front of our room. When the owner saw our toddler she offered a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom room, rather than having us all in the same bedroom together. This was most appreciated and there were numerous beds to choose from. Kitchen and bathrooms had everything we needed and the motel accommodation in general was impeccably clean. We also were able to use their WIFI connection for free.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This motel was a last Minute thing as we was travelling from Queenstown and needed some where central between Queenstown and Christchurch Airport. Kathy gave a friendly and warm welcome and the units was very clean and spotless also quite big in size ours was a two bedroom unit. Fairlie becomes a ghost town in the evening with not many places to eat but was very peaceful and the Eat Restaurant
serves a wicked breakfast would deffo stop here again we loved it

Room Tip: All units were Spotless and have washing room too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place was our last stopover from the recent holiday to New Zealand.
What a pleasant surprise we had to find the room already heated up by the owners
when we arrived, since it was pretty late in the evening, and it had been a rainy day.
Our 1-bedroom unit was spotless and the owners were very friendly at all times.
Excellent value overall and highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SorinMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

For years my wife and I have loved Fairlie and the surrounding district. It's such a peaceful little place where the weather always seems to be great ! Whilst we were raising our family we usually stayed at the holiday park on previous visits to Fairlie but, now that our kids have grown up and are doing their own thing, we decided to "splash out" a little and stay at this wonderful motel. The first thing that surprised us was that the tariff is very similar to what we had been paying at the holiday park but with SO much more in the way of amenities....your own bathroom, kitchen and TV in very comfortable, spacious units which are spotlessly clean (and serviced daily !!!!). The units are so well equipped that you really want for nothing !
Secondly, the hosts, Kathy & John, are super friendly, warm, welcoming and very obliging.
This was definitely not our last visit to this motel...in fact we are already making up reasons why we should go back for a few more days of quiet R & R.
If you're looking for accommodation in or around Fairlie, don't waste your time looking any further...you simply won't do any better than The Aorangi Motel, and you sure as heck won't regret it !

Room Tip: We chose a unit as far back of the road as possible, but as Fairlie is such a nice quiet little plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Excellent value, clean, friendly welcome.
Most eateries closed on Monday so bring own food or shop at 4 Square.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
120 reviews
18.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,825 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
39 reviews
18.7 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
18.1 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aorangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aorangi Motel

Property: Aorangi Motel
Address: 26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aorangi Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAIRLIE'S QUIETEST MOTEL ACCOMMODATION Welcome to our family owned, QUIET, spacious, cosy, motel accommodation complex, being 100 meters off the main highway, & only 200 meters from town centre, home of the amazing " Fairlie Bakehouse" Lake Tekapo is only 42km ( 30 minute drive ) We offer quality & affordable, fully self contained ground floor, Studio, One bedroom & Two bedroom units. Serviced daily. Full kitchen in all units. Also microwaves, Ensuite's with heated floors, hair dryers in all units. Breakfast available. Free Wireless Internet, 5 Sky TV Channels / 32" LCD TVs, DVD player's. Safe off street parking outside unit. Guest BBQ and Childrens Playground Enjoy & Relax with your own patio. Carports available. A great base or overnight stop, between Christchurch & Queenstown & for all the activities the Mackenzie District offers, and to enjoy the tranquility, peace and quiet of our beautiful Fairlie township / Restaurants / cafe's . Halfway stop-over between Christchurch and Aoraki/Mt Cook, Queenstown and Wanaka. Ski Mt Dobson, Fox Peak, Round Hill. Boating/fishing at Lake Opuha. Enjoy warm hospitality and comfort. All major credit cards accepted... Like us on Facebook "Aorangi Motel" or follow us on Instagram "aorangimotel" We look forward to meeting you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Aorangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing