We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected stop over - very good!”

Fairle TOP 10 Holiday Park
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairle TOP 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Because of weather conditions we decided to return to the east coast sooner than planned. Fairlie was the best option for a stop over, and we luckily found the Top 10 Holiday Park, close to the center of town.
Very friendly welcome at the reception, even though we booked only for one night.
Spaceous camper sites in a very nice & green environment, that seems to be integrated (to us) with other parts in the town. Accommodation was very well equipped, as well as the sanitary block. Although being next to a state highway, the park was very quiet. Apparently there are a number of long-time visitors, which makes the park agreeably "crowded".
We enjoyed a sunny late afternoon, recovering from a longer camper trip.
Surely a place to remember for future visits to New Zealand!

Room Tip: Mention to the person a the reception what you are looking for, and your expectations will surely be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georges B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited Fairlie in our motorhome in the last leg of our holiday road trip around the south island with our 8 month old baby. The previous night we stayed in a campground at lake Tekapo, definitely not a top 10! The powered site cost $40 which was expensive for average grounds and basic facilities where you had to pay for everything. We needed to do laundry, just one load, cold water and it cost us a total of $20! It was $4 for the dryer which we had to keep paying to get our clothes dry. We realized afterwards it must have been $4 for 10mins but nowhere was this stated.

We had no expectations for Fairlie and knew it was a small town with not much for visitors to do but we hoped a top 10 campground would at least be decent. We were not disappointed. A powered site cost $36 for the night and compared to Tekapo we received FREE showers, FREE BBQ, FREE kitchen facilities and FREE wifi which was fantastic. The site has sandpit, pentaque, and a park right next to it. We were amazed that the washing machine was FREE and dryer cost $2 for 40mins. We really wished we had stayed in Fairlie instead of Tekapo.

Great place for camping, especially if you have little ones. We found Fairlie to be a proper small town with friendly locals, neat little surprises, as opposed to nearby Tekapo which just felt like a tourist stop/ holiday home place. Tekapo is stunning and definitely worth spending a day or two there but if you're after value for money or a more relaxed, chilled out place, then I recommend staying in Fairlie which is only 30mins away. We will definitely be going back!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank KiwiColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

There are two distinct parts to Fairlie Top 10 - the camping/cabin/campervan part, which is exceptionally good; and the self contained part, which is more standard.

We stayed in the self-contained part (unit 10 studio). The room is well equipped, with good cooking facilities and its own computer. The tea and coffee are of a premium quality. There is a free gas barbecue between the two units and a small outside table and chairs on the sunny side of the unit. There are only a few units in this area and it does not feel crowded.

On the down side, the unit has the feel of a 1960s concrete block motel room and is dark inside. It has a nice view over the adjacent domain but the window is so high you can't see out while seated.

After the discount for Top 10club card it was ok value. We did sleep well.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTawaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We weren't really sure what to expect from this stop as it was only a stopover to break up the journey - so we'd done no research etc. Trusty Top 10 (!) didn't let us down - another gem. A pretty site, with a small amenities block and tidy kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex-and-Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Taupo Top 10 campsite for 2 nights. We had a motorhome with 2 adults and 2 children. The site was spacious and concreted. The site is at the back of Taupo, but still easy access to all activities in the area. A very spacious campsite with wonderful mountain views. The children loved the go karts you could hire, and the jumping pillow was the largest on the island! Good children’s play facilities and even had a large outside chess set! The environment was very spacious and very safe for families. Excellent outside hot pools to relax in, at the end of the day. A good TV lounge. The best reception out of all the top tens we visited, with helpful and friendly staff. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our family Campervan South Island Holiday. I'd fully recommend it if you're on the way to or from Christchurch and the South Island High country (Mt. Cook, Lake Tekapo etc.). It was peaceful & relaxing - the kitchen was one of the cleanest and best equipped we've used, and the free wifi was a real bonus. The owner was very friendly and provided lots of helpful advice for the town and our ongoing travels. We only stayed one night but I'd recommend a longer stay if you want to unwind & chill out - especially with a young family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

While in NZ we stayed at 5 Top 10 Holiday Parks around the south island. I was very impressed with them! For those from the U.S. this is similar to the KOA campground chain there. These for the most part were even nicer than many of those.

That being said this stop was maybe not as nice as the others. The grounds were very nice and included an herb garden, a game field with over-sized chess and other games as well as a sand box for kids. The staff there were friendly and from what I could tell the tent sites looked pretty great. We had tented at other campgrounds but were in a cabin at this stop. The room we stayed in was like a cheap motel. It had what we needed but not much more. I probably wouldn't choose to stay in the room again if I had other options. The facilities and bathrooms were adequate but not spectacular.

There's not a whole lot to do in the area. This was basically a stop-over for us as we were driving through. That said, I loved the nearby town of Fairlie. Seemed laidback and at points scenic with the snow-capped mountains in the background. The city park is quiet and peaceful. If you like star watching, go to nearby Lake Tekapo. We didn't go all the way there or to the observatory, but found a side road without any lights. It was AMAZING! So many stars. During the day the lake is awesome, the restaurants around it are great, and you MUST drive up to the observatory to soak in the view from up there. MUST! It's free too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.3 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
138 reviews
18.9 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
689 reviews
19.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
5.2 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairle TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairle TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 10 Allandale Road, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairle TOP 10 Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mature parkland setting with spacious camp sites, cabins and motels. Free internet access. Our 4 star plus Qualmark rating assures you of clean, high quality facilities. Take advantage of one of our specials and make us their base for 2 or 3 days. Best of all, sit and relax while you listen to the birdsong. Playground, sandpit, snakes and ladders and our 3 hole mini-mini golf designed by Lenny and built by Dad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Fairle TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing