We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy shared cottages”
Review of Mountain House YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain House YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy shared cottages”
Reviewed April 28, 2009

There is a main hostel section to this YHA; however if you want a room to yourselves it is worth staying in one of the cottages. If you want three rooms - the whole cottage. The cottages were a little old and tired round the edges, but very warm, clean and cozy. Plenty of wood for the stove. Short walk into the village centre. Plenty of kea.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne72Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    50
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
55
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

I loved cottage 2! It was spotlessly clean and there were two toilets and two showers so we never had to wait. After walking the Route burn track and staying in huts with 40+ others it almost seemed like the Ritz. Seriously, the bedding and towels were fresh and clean, the kitchen was well equipped and the woodburning fireplace was a pleasure on a rainy night. There is a CD player but no TV. I curled up by the fire with a glass of wine and a good book while other guests played cards or scrabble.

There was lots of info on day hikes in the area and there was internet access in the main lodge just down the street.

This is a great place to stay and I highly recommend the cottage rooms. Very glad one of my fellow Route burn trampers told me about the cottages!

  • Liked — The fireplace and no tv
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HikerAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

64$ for a double room in this wonderful hostel in the mountains. The whole style of the hostel and the staff, especially Bob the owner, was designed to make it work and make you enjoy your stay.

The communal kitchen/dining room was the best equipped and organised I have ever had the pleasure to use. And, if you can't be bothered, there is a good place for food just across the road.

  • Liked — Bob
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Mountain House in January and were booked into House #2. The house had three bedroom and shared kitchen, toilet and living room. The house was spotless and well stocked with a CD player and a wood-burning stove. It was a nice place to cook a nice meal and relax by the fire. The two bathrooms were also spotless. Overall, this place exceeded our expectations and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wynne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

Choice of accommodation in Arthur's Pass is relatively limited, so we booked into the YHA as the easy option. We stayed in a double room that was part of Cottage No.4, located within easy walking distance of the main hostel.

The cottage consisted of 3 double-bedrooms with shared kitchen / bathroom. It was clean, tidy and comfortable - with reasonable facilities. The downside was the 1 bathroom for 6 people - which inevitably lead to queuing at peak periods. The bedroom also contained a number of black flies, however - they didn't add to our existing collection of bites.

A word of caution to those planning to stay in Arthur's Pass on a self-catering basis - it only has one food store, that does not have late opening hours. Arrive during the daytime, or come prepared.

Overall, although I cannot enthuse about the accommodation, I would consider staying here again as the fantastic location is worth a little sacrifice.

  • Liked — Fantastic Location
  • Disliked — Queuing for the bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sn0wman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
1.3 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
7.5 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
22.5 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#699 of 1,028 in South Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain House YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House YHA

Property: Mountain House YHA
Address: PO Box 12, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Arthur’s Pass Mountain House is situated in the alpine village of Arthur's Pass, right on the Main Divide of the Southern Alps, just two hours from Christchurch and ninety minutes from Greymouth. Accommodation consists of the main backpacker lodge set in the centre of town, a modern, heated, suntrap with great views, but still with a small hostel feel. Just opposite the Lodge is the historic YHA building with multi-share rooms perfect for backpacking groups. We also offer self contained cottages with log fires set in beautiful gardens and Motel units next door to our Lodges ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mountain House YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing