We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Times”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bealey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bealey Hotel
Australia
1 review
“Good Times”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Great Food and very friendly service. Was made to feel very welcome

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 061083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    56
    37
    33
    10
See reviews for
44
107
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
South Island
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We had a great stop at The Bealey Hotel. Marshall and Debbie are a lovely couple with their hearts in the right place, great hosts and very welcoming. There is a log burner roaring in the Hotel, and its a magic spot to stay and dine. Our room was ideal, warm when we arrived, and a place to rest before heading to the mountains for a ski in the Carigieburn Range. Rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoFeetNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed here on a months trip in NZ most of the motel hotel accommodation in NZ is really good with great value for money, but this place is an absolute joke. When we arrived there was no one at reception so hunted down the manager. We then waited 45 minutes before being taken to a freezing room. If you can set off early enough and just drive through the pass then do it and avoid staying in this hotel.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank freshdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arthur's Pass National Park hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We couldn't stay in Arthur's Pass as the place was full with a wedding so we came here. The view from our window was awesome! It is an unassuming place with locals in the bar and eating in the cafe style restaurant. The food was very basic but breakfast with the views was lovely! The room was adequate with a little kitchenette and basic bathroom so don't expect luxury! If you plan to do some walking this is a great base and very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

My husband and I booked a room in the Bealey Hotel after reading a tepid review in the Lonely Planet. We were afraid that it would be too far away from Arthur's Pass to make hiking convenient. We had stayed earler in the Arthur's Pass Hotel, and it wasn't very nice (although the owner was extremely nice!). When we checked into the Bealey, which was appreciably cheaper, we were stunned. The views from the cottages across the valley were absolutely stunning! Our room had a double bed with a kitchenette. It was fine for two people. I explained we needed more milk, but I thought the store in Arthur's Pass might be closed, and the hosts just handed me more milk. The laundry facilities were great. The bathroom was fine. How I wish we had stayed here with our adult children earlier in our trip! I highly recommend this hotel. If you plan to hike in Arthur's Pass, this should be your number one choice of places to stay. As for hiking, this hotel is only a stone's throw from the tiny town of Arthur's Pass and so very convenient for hiking anywhere in the valley. And it is actually closer to the drier side of the mountains, where most hikers will want to hike out of the rain!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sybilsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Great accommodation on Arthurs Pass in New Zealand, clean comfortable, and extremely pleasant hosts.

Even if you don't get chance to stay there, definitely worth avisit for a drink or some food before you pass by, handy location between Christchurch and Greymouth/Fox & Franz Josef Glaciers, and would definitely stop their again

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searsrp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
5.7 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
238 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
139 reviews
13.4 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 10 in Methven
43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bealey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Property: Bealey Hotel
Address: SH 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing