We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodation with amazing views”
Review of Bealey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bealey Hotel
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very nice accommodation with amazing views”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stopped at the Bealey Hotel from the 25 to 27 February, three nights, two days.

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we were a bit apprehensive as to what we would find. However on arrival we were very pleasantly surprised.

We had booked a Large Cabin - Cabin No 1.

This was very roomy with lots of room to move around in and plenty of windows so it was very light and airy. It was also very clean and nicely decorated in simple colours.

It had all the equipment promised on the web site: small fridge, electric frying pan, microwave, kettle, toaster, knives, cutlery, crockery, small table to seat 4 people, tea, coffee and sugar sachets, a carton of milk on arrival and a TV which we did not use.

There was a double bed and three single beds. We made use of the double and single bed both were very comfortable. Lots of sheets and blankets and a fan which we needed as it was very warm in the evenings and nights during our stay. But there was also a electric heater for those cold nights.

There was an excellent shower, with lots of hot water and good water pressure. If we were being picky the shower unit was a bit small but we managed fine. Plenty of towels.

The views from the cabin were spectacular and being in Cabin No 1 we had views from two sides.

We ate in the bar at the hotel on two of the three nights we were there. The food is acceptable without being spectacular. If you don't fancy eating at the Bealey there are couple of other options in Arthur's Pass Village.

We had brought our own breakfast cereals etc so did not take up the free breakfast.

All the staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly, they left you to get on with your holiday but were always there if you needed them.

The Bealey is covered by a Zenbu Wi Fi hot spot, cost $10 for every 100MB you purchase. The reception is not great but we ran a blog and downloaded photos and videos onto Flickr while we were there without too many problems.

In the village there is an excellent Tourist Information Centre who can guide you to the many walks and places of interest in the area. They also have a static display about the history of Arthur's Pass and the village which is very interesting and a 17 minute video presentation which is excellent. Ask at the counter and they start the video presentation going for you, cost $2 per person.

In Arthurs Pass Village there is a couple of Cafes and a small store. However the store (Arthurs Pass Cafe & Store phone 03 318 9235) sells a very limited range of products, so you need to stock up before you arrive. There is also a one pump petrol station attached to the store which you need a credit card to use.

We had originally planned to arrive by the Tranz Alpine Train, but at the last minute decided to take our car. We were very glad we did.

The Bealey Hotel is situated 12k out of Arthur's Pass Village and to make the most of what the area has to offer you definitely need a car.

A lot of the walks start in Arthur's Pass Village which you need a car to get to from the Bealey Hotel. Others start from picnic areas to the North and South of the village, again which you need a car to get to.

If you definitely want to arrive on the Tranz Alpine train then you need to book into one of the accommodation providers situated in the village. The village Tourist Information Centre (03 318 9211) can provide details. The train stops in the village.

Room Tip: Cabin No 1 - the one nearest the river, very roomy, spectacular views from two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueJim126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    38
    34
    12
See reviews for
48
108
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hazelbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was really looking forward to the stay at this hotel, and we had deliberately aimed to arrive early (2:30 p.m) so that we could enjoy the views and what we thought would be a great room and atmosphere. Unfortunately, the place was being painted when we arrived, and not only was our accommodation covered in scaffolding, two painters were scraping paint off our windows when we arrived, affording us ZERO privacy! So much for the romantic afternoon together!

We decided to go for a walk on the moraine below the hotel, and possibly have a dip while we waited for the painters to finish-assuming they would at a reasonable hour, given that it was Saturday afternoon. We did have a splash in the river-running fast over rocks in a mini rapid! The water was icy, but once you get wet, you stop noticing it. The water was so clean a swim was irresistible, and this turned out to be the only good think about the stay.

Anyway, when we came back up to our room, the painters were still at it. We had to sit out the front to have a beer (beside the driveway) instead of on our balcony with the views. As it turned out, this was right where the painters liked to come for a smoke! There was no relief! Yobbo uni students had taken over the hotel, engaged in a drinking comp for orientation week celebrations, so we couldn't head up there for a beer either. At 5:30 I went out onto the balcony and growled at the painter and indicated my displeasure at not being able to use my room.

We did see one of the smoking painters running up the hill to the hotel, and assumed at least he was knocking off for the day (maybe to go and grab an ale). Not so! When we went up to eat dinner, the painter was working in the kitchen in the same clothes he'd worn painting. Not sure if he had washed before hand. Dinner was 'served' by a woman who referred to us as 'her dears' , and which nearly drove us bonkers. She was a bit busy talking to the other painter to attend to all our needs over the meal, but hey, we've got legs! We can walk to the counter to order, can't we? Very ordinary, tired meal. $10 PER BEER!!!!

Bathroom was old and very worn, and it was a dreadful, dreadful shower! The hot water tap on the sink was loose, and when we turned the handle, the whole tap rotated, but the water didn't shut off. All our food froze in the refrigerator overnight. There were exposed wires on the jug. Uncomfortable bed and pillows. We woke up in the morning to a pile of dirt on the bed near our heads, presumably it fell out of the ceiling onto us while we slept. All up, a very disappointing say. The place has a bad vibe, if you're into that sort of thing! I reckon I was in a bad mood the entire time I was there (except for when we went walking and swimming in the stream below). I couldn't wait to leave in the morning, and felt totally ripped off. No way would I recommend this place unless they halved their prices and gave the food away!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beerwench36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arthur's Pass National Park hotels

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Chalets aren't 'up market' but they are clean and comfortable and offer good value for money. The chalets could do with some renovating (hence the average score for cleanliness as there is only so much you can do with 'tired fittings and fixtures') but the price after all reflected this. Only 12km from Arthur's Pass and after visiting there glad we stayed outside the village as it felt very claustrophobic (no views being surrounded by mountains). The staff were all helpful and we had our evening meals here as well. Nothing fancy but filling. Breakfast was ok.
I think this place is also the local 'watering hole' as it got very busy on the Saturday night so order food early.

Room Tip: We had a studio cabin for 2 of us and we were very comfortable. Cabins furthest from the 'road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We ended up here for one night after discovering everything in Arthur's Pass (within reach of a backpacker's budget) was fully booked. As well as the motel cabins, there are backpacker rooms. We found a comfortable double bed and a gorgeous view, as well as a decently equipped kitchen in a homely living space.
The rooms are looking quite tired and could do with some updating, especially the bathrooms, and I'm not sure the backpackers lodge would be quite so appealing or comfortable if full (2 bathrooms and a living room with space for 10-12 people comfortably, in a lodge that probably takes 25-30 people at full capacity), so that would be worth checking first.

Room Tip: Rooms A and B in the backpackers' lodge have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for one night while passing through to the west coast.
Rooms are very basic, as expected for the price, but enjoy lovely views over the river.
Our room was simply awash with sandfiles – take care when opening the door. Like most NZ accommodation, no fly screens are provided.
The hotel bar is a good place to go for a drink and chat with the affable hotel owner (he’ll tell you wonderful stories about the Kias which nest nearby!), but I’d recommend heading elsewhere for dinner. We found the food very overpriced – you will pay $30 - $35 for an unmemorable meat based dish (chicken breast, steak etc), and a side of 3 veg. Also a bit disappointing is the wine on offer – no wine list, so the owner will rattle them off verbally. There are 2 whites and 2 reds. We sampled a very average chain SA shiraz, and a poor, cheaply produced NZ pinot noir. Both expensive at $35 bottle. Given the high price of the food, access to a regional, quality wine list could be expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruffleQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights. Our cabin badly needed a total upgrade - dirty carpet, minimal kitchen equipment, barely acceptable bathroom. At least the beds were comfortable and linen was clean. The views are good from the units.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ace3kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Bealey for 2 nights over new year's eve in one of the cabins. The view from the picture window is fantastic and our dinner was tasty and reasonably priced. The cabin was a let down; small, shabby, with out-dated facilities: a miniature TV mounted high on the wall, minimal kitchen utensils (as in 1 teaspoon, mismatched plates, no microwave or hotplate). We expected more for NZD 150 per night. A continental breakfast (included in the price) was also minimal and not very appealing. We gave it a miss on the second morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
142 reviews
8.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
69 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#705 of 1,034 in South Island
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bealey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Property: Bealey Hotel
Address: SH 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing