We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cabin with stunning view”
Review of Bealey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bealey Hotel
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way back to Christchurch and loved it.

Our cabin was clean, spacious and comfortable but the best thing is the view. It sits on the edge of the Waimak River above the tussock and looks up the valley. We loved the fresh air and the isolation of the place. Breakfast is now complementary making a good value place even better value. There is plenty of hot water but the shower cubicle will be a bit small for some people. Cooking curry or fish is banned because of odour for those who are doing self catering.

The pub is a blast from the past, country style with lots of relics as ornaments; some of the dining room tables are old treadle sewing machine bases with timber tops. Dinner was country pub grub and we were made to feel welcome by the staff.

We would like to go back for longer and use it as a base to go exploring.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 205 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Really great pub. It reminded me a bit of Fawlty Towers without Basil and Manuel. Meals were reasonable, cabins were a little old but really large and spacious. I think it would be a great place to stay if lots of other travellers were there, we arrived in the off season.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The best part of the place is the amazing views and the friendly staff in the pub! The dinner in the pub was lovely and we played a few games of pool. The Pub took you back to the 60's in a good way with the surroundings but the room took you back to the 60's in a bad way. The room definitely needs to be updated. And they need to put blinds on the front glass door that you have to go by to use the toilet, it's makes you feel very uncomfortable. Otherwise an ok place to stay one night while your traveling from A to B.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FHCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed here to break up the trip from Christchurch to the west coast. It was just the one night (although next time we will be staying for 2). The views are amazing the air incredibly refreshing and the meals delishous. The hospitality and enthusiasm from all staff was fantastic. We were made to feel welcome straight away. The rooms are cosy, everything works, and the beds were comfortable.









  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviegeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Although the scenery is very good I wouldn't recommend staying in the suites at the hotel until they are updated or if you get a good deal on the price. They are in need of refreshing, peach toilets, old lino, and having no blinds on the front glass door that you have to go by to use the toilet. The room is kind of frozen in a 60's economy motel style.The mattress was very saggy and we did mention it to the staff so hopefully it is replaced. Two small space heaters were the only source of heat which had to work to heat up the suite, no heat in the bathroom so it was a bit chilly in the morning there.

The location in Arther's pass is good for the views and to break a trip between the two coasts.

We dined at the lodge restaurant and although the portions were very large the meal was just average but pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night, arrived just before 9pm and they had closed kitchen however manager was very helpful and sorted out some tucker for us. After being show how to get our room we felt like we had gone back to the sixties, the tv had only 2 channels and the reception was bad on those. The 2nd prob my partner had was a sanitary one as they had no disposal unit for females making it awkward for her.
The bed was awesome and the view in the morning was spectacular and my partner said brekky was awesome.
One more issue we had was that there was no welcome pack and this made it hard for knowing when breakfast was and due to hotel being 9km's from Arthur's Pass there was no cell coverage. The hotel was good for one stay but not any
longer.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duanenorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a really old motel - the paint color, the bathroom, the carpet, the closet, the bed sheets, the heater, the stuff at the kitchen. I think I would've been ok with it being old if it was cleaner than how it was. You can see some dead insects, insect droppings and cobwebs on the window sills and corners. The comforter had stains on it. The cupboard smelled old and insect-y. But the toilet, shower, pillows and bed sheet are clean - which, for me, are the most important things that should be clean. You can't open the windows because of the sand flies. There are 2 windows in the room - one big one with the nice view, and small one facing a "natural" wall (see picture). Only the small window had a screen. The kitchenette has no cooking utensils and no microwave, but has a fridge. Bathroom is basic - no towel heaters. The walls are thin. The voices from the other room are audible though not understandable. Also worries me how much protection the walls give against winter. It was also pretty weird that the check-in was at the bar - or maybe we're just not used to it. The motel was by a river but we were there on a summer so it was mostly a riverbed. Winter and fall could be the best seasons to stay at this motel; otherwise, skip it. With all these lows, I think it's overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
147 reviews
8.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 16 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Rata Lodge
Rata Lodge
#4 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
15 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bealey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Address: Sh 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $54 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing