We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with character”
Review of Bealey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bealey Hotel
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Review by my daughter:
I stayed with my dad on a ski trip for 3 nights.
The room was large and warm.
We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The food was yummy. The staff were so nice and considerate. Even though I just kept asking for things there smiles never faded. They lent us dvds and skiing tips. After dinner my daddy and I played fussball. After dinner on the deck there was a sheep! I named her Win-a-Fred (not sure if boy or girl sheep). It was a trip I most certainly will brag about to my friends and will never forget.
Dad's note: 20mins to Broken River / Craigieburn turn-off. 10+mins to Temple Basin. Great views. Friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the bealey for one night only as we were on our way to the west coast. The hotel is located in a great location at Arthurs Pass in-between massive mountain ranges with great views and pristine water at the nearby river.

We booked the cabin lodge number 1 which is the closet to the river which means that your views are not spoilt. If you are expecting 5 star then this place is not it but we don’t care as you only sleep in the room. Get outside and enjoy what this location has to offer.

Cabin 1 room has two beds with a self-contained kitchen and a bathroom. Facilities are not state of the art modern but they all do the job so you need to expect this. In saying that they were very clean, not broken and did the job. Some of the reviews talk about hear people talking the next cabins and doors closing. We could not hear anything.

In relation to the hotel staff and food. We found the staff to be very friendly and we found the food to be typical rustic hotel food. The food was nice, and I highly recommend the Brownie for desert. If your after fine dining, then this is not the place. It is a rustic good old pub food in a fantastic spot.

In relation to the staff, we didn’t have much interaction apart from check in and paying the bill. They were very friendly and provided some great recommendations on things to do. Ignore the bad reviews on about the staff on here as we didn’t experience that.

All and all it is a great location, good food, good accommodation, and friendly staff. I would recommend this place again and will stay their again.

Happy to provide further details if you PM me.

Room Tip: Book Cabin number 1 as this is closest to the river and provides better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAYRlDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We pulled up outside the Bealey on a cold dark night, and out hearts sank. It really doesn't look very enticing from the outside, a bit like those old camps that school used to send you to. However, there is a very nice big room with a bar, good hearty food, and some very pleasant company. The fire was roaring, the stories were good, and our son's very difficult dietary requirements looked after without any drama. The rooms are very basic, but immaculately clean, with a fridge, microwave and kettle available. After a very pleasant evening in the club room, we hiked down the hill to the accommodation block, switched our electric blankets on and went to bed very happy. Breakfast was a feast cooked just for us. Debbie and Alden, thanks for everything, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveltoads3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Basic but clean - midges were an issue! Reasonable rates and good location as a stop off. Some very spectacular views from the hotel and drive to and from it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

On the road between Christchurch and Greymouth...on Christchurch side of Arthurs Pass (great road trip with spectacular mountain scenery and some amazing road engineering feats such as the Otira Viaduct)
This hotel appears to be in the middle of nowhere and has good walks in the surrounding area. We stayed in the Moa Lodge which is backpacker style basic accommodation- single/double bedrooms with communal kitchen and bathroom/toilets. There is also cabin accommodation. Our room and linen were very clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a very welcome wall heater and the views out the window down the river valley were fantastic.
Meals can be had at the hotel , which serves good basic pub grub. The bar/dining room has a large open fireplace where you can sit around a roaring fire in the evenings in the colder months and read/chat/play board games or party on.
Also at the hotel is a payphone as there is no mobile phone reception here though i would reccommend using a phone card for cheaper rates.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myristica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We decided to stay a bit out of Arthur's Pass on our second last night in NZ. We'd had awful weather for the previous week but were blessed with a stunning evening (complete with full moon) in which to enjoy to spectacular views from our cabin. We were right on the river front, and while the cabin was certainly dated, it was roomy with a good sized living and dining area, basic kitchen and comfortable and warm bed. There was a gas heater plus a small electric room heater which was good for a quick boost to the temperature. The lack of fresh milk (there was only the UHT milks in the fridge) and a hairdryer was certainly a downer, as was the fact that there were no power points in the bathroom. We actually decided against a shower as it was so cold in the bathroom (being outside the main living area). Otherwise, the food in the restaurant was great and while there were only a couple of other guests, we enjoyed our evening. Snow during the night just topped off a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This small hotel was very welcoming, a fantastic meal on arrival. Rooms are clean and simple, and are a bit old - but perfect for an overnight on the road. The location showcases the west coast, and the spectacular mountains. The bed was a bit old, and could do with some replacing, and another pillow or two!

All in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerN0tT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
142 reviews
8.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
69 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
6.5 mi away
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
#1 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bealey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Address: Sh 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $52 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing