We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money experience, and a very comfortable bed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The added value is Helen, and her personal touch. I stayed here for one night a week ago, had a wonderful nights sleep. I shared a tasty meal with Helen, and two other guests, and even though it was a cool evening outside, inside it was warm, and very quiet.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and they are both good
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeeGee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

My mother and I stayed with Helen for a weekend that I will always remember. Helen is a wonderful host, with first-hand information about the area from her own tramping and outdoor experience. The views are amazing and the lodge is comfortable and warm. I had the best sleep here that I have had for a very long time. We had dinner with Helen as well and the meal was absolutely delicious! There are beautiful scenic walks close by which my mother and I could both enjoy. It is the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in - friendly host, lovely NZ bush to explore, comfortable and inviting beds to sleep in. A great place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilGourdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

And thank you for your company and the book of beautiful landscape photography

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is the kind of stay you remember and make a post holiday story about. Amazing view. The lodge is very quaint and homely and truly eco! made of wood, with eco loos and rooms. Helen is an amazing host and generous host and we learnt a lot about NZ life during our stay with her.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singhalshilpaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Helen was the perfect host in this eco-lodge that truly lives up to its name! Nestled on a hill facing snow-capped mountains, Helen has cleverly made sure that you can take in the view no matter which room you're in. Extremely homely place, with great conversations with Helen, this was definitely one of the top accommodation experiences we've had in New Zealand. We really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatherineKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

The inspirational part of hosting visitors to my home is to be inspired by YOUR stories. Thanks for stopping by

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Eco Lodge with Helen on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and had an excellent time. Helen is warm and friendly and the Eco Lodge is like a home away from home. We took a walk on Christmas day morning to Beasley Spur Hut, which is around 4hrs return and has spectacular views enroute. Helen provided us with lunch to take with us and a warm welcome when we returned. This is a lovely place to stay in Arthurs Pass and provides you with ample places to take scenic walks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

And thank you very much for thinking to have a gift in your luggage for me. That was a very touching gesture and made the occasion even more special

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very comfortable enjoyable stay with beautiful views from the house, lovely meals and generous hospitality. After a great walk up Mt Bruce recommended and provisioned by Helen, returned to a hot shower and appetising meal with good company in a lovely house with inspirational features.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterTallShipSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

And the view from Mt Bruce (1630m) was well worth the effort and is another peak "bagged". All the best for future endeavours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Half way through our month in New Zealand, the thing that has struck us most is the genuine sense of hospitality from Kiwis. Helen's welcome into her beautiful home was a prime example of this. In spite of her somewhat Spartan description of facilities it. was a delight to experience "eco living" and stay in such comfortable surroundings. We joined her for supper as well as breakfast and enjoyed her cooking, but even more the evening of chatting about everything from geology to life experiences. We now know about "Rogaining" and we hope she has a new insight into English Morris Dancing!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jaqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

It was lovely have you stay. I was curious as to whether you located the geocache "Jim's place" you were looking for?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
6.6 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
257 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
186 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
68 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

Address: 30 Cloudesley Rd | Arthur's Pass, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful retreat in the midst of spectacular mountains. Base for outdoor activities. Evening meals and lunches provided by arrangement. Sustainable eco-living at its best. Nestled amongst native bush. Home stay/bed and breakfast. Rain water, solar power and composting (waterless) toilet ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing