We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I would highly recommend Arthur' Pass Eco Lodge. The views from each of the rooms are spectacular, and Helen is a wonderful host. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, and the food delicious. There are a number of superb tramps to be done in Arthur's Pass and Bealey Spur and Helen is extremely knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Your overnight tramp to the Edwards Hut was a suggestion that I knew you would enjoy and the clear weather was certainly a bonus. Next time...there are plenty more. Thanks for coming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

A stay with Helen at the Bealey Spur could recharge your batteries, give you an impression of just how beautiful this part of our country is, could educate you on the merits of solar power and even make you think about the excesses of our lives! If you do no more than sit in Helen's lounge watching the everchanging view, then you have done yourself a great service. Helen is a lovely chatty host and was kind enough to provide a spinning lesson and rosehip picking advice! Her beds are the best. One could just imagine spending the day tucked up with a good book - if you could tear your eyes from the view. An hour and a half's drive from Christchurch and you are in a whole different world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurelmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks, Laurel. I knew that the views watching the sunlight hit the peaks as it rises would impress. In fact, the newness of every day is inspirational. Hope your spinning endeavours come to fruition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed there for one night with my wife and baby.
the bedroom was very nice with an amazing view over the mountains.
also the shared living room which was very comfortable.
our host Helen did everything she could to make us feel at home with appetizers, sweets and good food .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaron1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

To be able to stop over with me was a bonus for us both. I did enjoy finding out your counrty and the Easter traditions associated with your beliefs. Your little boy was a delight to get to know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My partner and (nearly) four year old daughter spent a wonder two days at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge. By night, the wonderful Fraemohs house was cosy and warm, which was much appreciated on our second chilly and blustery night, while its huge glass windows framed an amazing mountain vista by day. Helen is a delightful host who charmed our daughter and made our stay very pleasant and enjoyable. Helen's cooking and baking is first rate too! We would highly recommend this lovely lodge to other folk interested in visiting Arthur's Pass.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

The mountains are a great place to "recharge your batteries". Throwing stones in the river is also a great activity for youngsters. Thanks for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed with Helen whilst walking the Te Araraoa Trail. The views from the house are incredible and we were made very welcome. Helen was a great host and went the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The vegetarian food was especially good. She was also a reat source of local tramping knowledge. We would love to stay again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Congratulations on having completed the Te Araroa trail for the cancer cause! I was grateful to have been part of the expedition and also to have been the connecting point for your overseas friends. To have trained the binoculars on the four of you as you crossed the impressively wide Waimakariri River bed is a reminder that we are so small in this world we have been given to enjoy. Thanks for coming by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spend 4 lovely nights at Helen's Eco Lodge as part of a family trip around different parts of New Zealand. Helen has a very lovely house with a cosy athmosphere and absolutely stunning views. If you are looking for privacy and solitude it might not be the best place as you are indeed a guest in another person's house, but Helen is a great host, extremely generous and helpful - and good company, too. She went out of her way to plan activities for us, arranged a whole fishing day out and a beautiful night time kiwi-listening excursion + gave us plenty of tips on what to see in the area. She made good homecooked meals and even prepared special dishes to please our demanding 6 yr old! Thank you so much for a memorable experience in your beautiful home. .

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SarahgSarahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Manager at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thanks for your honest review. I had assumed that guests would understand that they were staying with me. I hope that you felt that you had enough "space". I'm also pleased with the success of our kiwi spotting/listening outing, although the fire brigade callout added an interesting dimension to the late night walk in the bush.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A great place to stay that is Eco friendly and captures all the essence of the Southern Alps. Our host was fantastic for helping us thought he Coast the Coast - full meals, great company, and the best cheerleader on the highway. What a special place to sit back and soak up the mountains. Thanks loads Helen, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ummm - they are both fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidCaselli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Competitors in the Speight's Coast to Coast multisport event pass by my door every February and are worthy of my roadside "pot banging". It was great to see your smile as you headed off on day 2. Happy to have been able to support "the team"....and next year?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arthur's Pass National Park hotels
6.6 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
265 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
193 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rata Lodge
Rata Lodge
#4 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

Address: 30 Cloudesley Rd | Arthur's Pass, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful retreat in the midst of spectacular mountains. Base for outdoor activities. Evening meals and lunches provided by arrangement. Sustainable eco-living at its best. Nestled amongst native bush. Home stay/bed and breakfast. Rain water, solar power and composting (waterless) toilet ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing