We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve and Lynne Brodie”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steve and Lynne Brodie”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed with Helen whilst walking the Te Araraoa Trail. The views from the house are incredible and we were made very welcome. Helen was a great host and went the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The vegetarian food was especially good. She was also a reat source of local tramping knowledge. We would love to stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Congratulations on having completed the Te Araroa trail for the cancer cause! I was grateful to have been part of the expedition and also to have been the connecting point for your overseas friends. To have trained the binoculars on the four of you as you crossed the impressively wide Waimakariri River bed is a reminder that we are so small in this world we have been given to enjoy. Thanks for coming by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SarahgSarahg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spend 4 lovely nights at Helen's Eco Lodge as part of a family trip around different parts of New Zealand. Helen has a very lovely house with a cosy athmosphere and absolutely stunning views. If you are looking for privacy and solitude it might not be the best place as you are indeed a guest in another person's house, but Helen is a great host, extremely generous and helpful - and good company, too. She went out of her way to plan activities for us, arranged a whole fishing day out and a beautiful night time kiwi-listening excursion + gave us plenty of tips on what to see in the area. She made good homecooked meals and even prepared special dishes to please our demanding 6 yr old! Thank you so much for a memorable experience in your beautiful home. .

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahgSarahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Manager at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for your honest review. I had assumed that guests would understand that they were staying with me. I hope that you felt that you had enough "space". I'm also pleased with the success of our kiwi spotting/listening outing, although the fire brigade callout added an interesting dimension to the late night walk in the bush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A great place to stay that is Eco friendly and captures all the essence of the Southern Alps. Our host was fantastic for helping us thought he Coast the Coast - full meals, great company, and the best cheerleader on the highway. What a special place to sit back and soak up the mountains. Thanks loads Helen, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ummm - they are both fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCaselli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Competitors in the Speight's Coast to Coast multisport event pass by my door every February and are worthy of my roadside "pot banging". It was great to see your smile as you headed off on day 2. Happy to have been able to support "the team"....and next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our daughter gave us two nights at Helen's Eco Lodge as a Christmas gift and we went with little knowledge of where we were going. We were delighted with Helen's companionship, the awesome view, the hiking trails that were varied and interesting, the bed was great, the food cooked from scratch was wholesome and delicious (fresh homebaked bread and jam made from wild local berries are just an example), and in the evening we enjoyed looking at the clear stars of the southern hemisphere. All in all, our daughter couldn't have come up with a better gift.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
And I enjoyed your company too, along with "upknowledging" about Canada. Thanks. The blackberry season is now in full swing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The views are stunning. The atmosphere is cozy and very welcoming like you are staying with your friends.
And it was so awesome to talk to Helen. Also it was very helpful to get her advice on day walks in the area.
We stayed there with our 1.5 years old daughter and for sure I would recommend the lodge as a child friendly one

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
The weather was perfect for your walk up to Temple Basin. Aren't the views amazing? Arthur's Pass National Park is a small taste of heaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was surely the most outstanding of my stays in New Zealand. Helen's Eco Lodge is situated in the midst of the beautiful Arthur's Pass National Park, with many tracks around to explore the mountains & wildlife. There are many reasons why I will definitely come back to this little paradise: Helen's brilliant company, the cosiness of the fireplace living room, the yummy whole food meals, a breathtaking view into the park, a bed like a soft little cloud, the peaceful atmosphere....but hey, I don't want to spoil it for you, some things you will just have to find out for yourself :-). Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloudsurfer_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I'm so glad that you decided to stay the extra night and explore the area. I'm even tempted to try paragliding, especially with the Criagieburn carpark for launching so close!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The homestay-familystay in Eco Lodge is more than a mountain accomondation with amazing view, I found there everything what is important in the life, openminded friendship, carefullness,good food, perfect tramping buddy and harmony of the family life. I will remember forever for these days and I hope I can come back one day together with my family. Very special, very unique place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
It was great having you for those three nights. I'm glad you got to see Castle Hill limestone country and the Mingha River, as well as our hike to the historic Bealey Spur Hut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
6.6 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
247 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
186 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
66 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

Property: Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Address: 30 Cloudesley Rd | Arthur's Pass, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful retreat in the midst of spectacular mountains. Base for outdoor activities. Evening meals and lunches provided by arrangement. Sustainable eco-living at its best. Nestled amongst native bush. Home stay/bed and breakfast. Rain water, solar power and composting (waterless) toilet ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing