We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bealey Hotel(Arthur's Pass National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel(Arthur's Pass National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Darfield Motel(Darfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annabelle Motel(Hokitika)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
219
35
9
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
35
9
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssheep farmlake moerakinew zealandlambmerino woolother guestsfarm managerhis knowledgebeech forestsouth islandflora and faunagorgeous viewsmountain viewsheep stationnature walkbreakfast and dinnermorning walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 269 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Over recent years of worldwide travelling this reviewer has managed to put into practice that well-worn maxim that "less is more" & has learnt that by trying to do and see more of any particular country or region will achieve relatively little, save for "ticking boxes" on one's travel C.V.

On our second visit to New Zealand last month my Wife and I committed to spending three weeks solely on South Island and in particular the Southern Alps and Fiordlands in order to hike, kayak and experience the flora, the fauna, the mountains, rivers and lakes of this very special part of the world.

It proved without doubt to be a very wise decision and an integral part of our itinerary was spent in separate three day stays at both Wilderness Lodges at Lake Moeraki and Arthur's Pass respectively.

In order to benefit from staying at these lodges it's simply not worth it in my opinion to treat them as mere overnight stops and in truth the owners would much prefer that you take the opportunity to experience not only the basic facilities on offer which are on the side of very adequate rather than luxurious , but more importantly the guided walks and hikes within their immediate spectacular environments.

Whilst the early morning, late afternoon and evening activities are complimentary the guided nature daytime activities are charged depending on the number of guests participating but roughly in the $120 - 150 range pp.

Wilderness Lodge at Arthur's Pass was our last stop on our South Island trip & was a wonderful choice of location to bring our vacation to its conclusion. When the sun shines in a cloudless blue sky there is no better place you want to be - the walks both on and off the Property are spectacular and their best Alpine Room is spacious, extremely well equipped with a stunning forest view.

Because of poor visibility unfortunately we missed out on our heli-hike in the Glaciers but our challenging hike up the Bealey Valley with Nicky, a very competent and knowledgeable guide, to the remains of what had been a glacier, more than made up for that disappointment.

The whole area is a tramper's paradise and if you want to have some comfort and great amenities Wilderness Lodge is a great base and one where you can get to know the ecology and encironment with some of the friendliest people you're likely to meet on your NZed jouney!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Arthur's Pass Wilderness Lodge for one night on our honeymoon to New Zealand. Coming from Colorado, we felt at home in the beautiful Arthur's Pass area. The drive from the west coast is spectacular, and the mountain views are stunning!

The staff at the lodge are incredibly friendly, and we felt welcome from the moment we walked in the big wooden doors. Their was a laundry room on site, so we got some laundry going, and then went down to the lounge for cocktails before dinner.

We spent some time drinking wine and paging through books in the library before having a delicious dinner of ingredients that were either grown or farmed onsite. Delicious is an understatement!

The view from our room was so gorgeous that we ran out of adjectives to describe how wonderful it was! The Arthurs Pass region is breathtaking, and the spectacular views from our balcony allowed us 270 degrees of viewing pleasure!

The next morning Michael took us down to the sheep paddock where we watched their collie Tess herd the sheep. Not only did we get to feed the sheep, but we got to feed a bottle to Tiny, the sweetest little lamb, and I even got to hold her (I was too excited for words, she was so soft!!!!) She followed us as we went on a tour of the shearing shed, where we learned a ton about the process and different types of sheep & wool. Very informative and interesting to learn the details of such a big industry in New Zealand.

We went back up to the lodge for breakfast, which was even better than dinner! It was a pricey bill, but we felt it was worth it, and should we find our way back down to NZ again, we will be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We absolutely loved the Wilderness Lodge. The only 'complaint' is that it is overpriced. I'm not really happy stating this as everybody there and everything was so wonderful and they deserve lots and lots of customers. It is not because there was something wrong with what we got, but it is a fact that the price can't be justified. Not justified in terms of the room, the food or the facilities. All this was actually relatively basic, very nice though.
Having said that I quite enjoyed that everything was indeed in line with the eco image (although it was not in a super cool, eco glam way!! It wasn't terribly trendy but straight forward, honest, genuine). Dinner was plentiful but not exaggerated same goes for breakfast. It is refreshing to see a consciousness around waste and so forth. I really liked that. The facilities as such are equally subtle. There is no pool, no gym - actually not a lot but an incredibly lovely nature to go and investigate as well as feeding and patting the sheep and going on interesting walks. We stayed in several 5 star hotels on our tour of New Zealand but none came close to this price wise, not remotely. And is that really fair? On the other hand this was an unforgettable place and a wonderful warm experience, which will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadWays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments Helle5.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated the friendly personal service, the food, the nature & sheep farm discovery walks and the overall Wilderness Lodge atmosphere. We work hard to offer a product that combines quality hospitality, gourmet food, and guided activities in a remote natural setting while maintaining an extensive programme of conservation and environmental work.

Our goal is to consistently offer our guests an experience of the highest quality, while doing our absolute best to provide value for money. Running a lodge in a remote location comes with additional expenses that aren’t faced by a regular city hotel but this does come with rewards in terms of visitor satisfaction, memorable nature and farm experiences for all our guests, as well as making a contribution to the protection of our unique landscapes, plants and animals.

Again, thank you for your review and we would love to host your family again should you return to New Zealand.

Gerry McSweeney & Anne Saunders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stunning setting with stunning views. You can do as much or as little as you want here. Our room was very basic (and a little disappointing for the price paid) but comfortable and the ensuite was also basic and seemed to be fitted out for disabled visitors - seat in shower, very high toilet, grab rails. There was a queen and single bed in the room. The room was very clean and had glass doors out onto a small patio and grass area - beautiful garden. There are plenty of walks to go on, graded from easy to strenuous - we took an easy walk and thoroughly enjoyed it - the Manuka was in bloom when we were there and simply beautiful. We went on the guided farm tour, including a sheep dog demonstration and sheep shearing - an interesting and entertaining experience. The are also other tours, which we didn't take. Dinner and breakfast are supberb. I can't praise the food highly enough. The service was also excellent. The staff are friendly, efficient and can't do enough for you. Overall a great experience and we would certainly make a return visit. We recommend this property highly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Travellers074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful setting overlooking the southern alps having a very inviting and restful lobby with excellent reading material about the local ecology. The rooms are in an attached 3 story wing and all have great views and are spacious and tastefully furnished to match a natural environment. The bathrooms have showers and are well furnished. There is a large cabinet storage area and space for suitcases to be opened for easy access. One of the best features is the dining room with their own chef who features a different menu each day - depending what is the most fresh and available. The other outstanding value is a personal guided tour all day - with the host to local environmental attractions and also with the farm manager who provides an excellent tour about sheep and how their Merino sheep are cared for - including a visit to their shearing shed. He also tells about his having to rescue sheep from Mount Horrible - a forbidding mountain about 5 miles up the road.
This was our 4th visit to Wilderness Lodge and feel that it is good value for the money - with a personal guide-dinner -accommodations- and wonderful knowledgable hosts - is easily worth the cost. Is definitely a 'repeat'

Room Tip: The rooms are all equal - their are 2 levels - and the upper ones may have a little better view - would be above the tree line more. There is a very good laundry room available at no cost There is also a nice gift shop which has unique clothing for Wilderness Lodge and other gift items
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 764pwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews