We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place, pristine nature experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We absolutely loved the Wilderness Lodge. The only 'complaint' is that it is overpriced. I'm not really happy stating this as everybody there and everything was so wonderful and they deserve lots and lots of customers. It is not because there was something wrong with what we got, but it is a fact that the price can't be justified. Not justified in terms of the room, the food or the facilities. All this was actually relatively basic, very nice though.
Having said that I quite enjoyed that everything was indeed in line with the eco image (although it was not in a super cool, eco glam way!! It wasn't terribly trendy but straight forward, honest, genuine). Dinner was plentiful but not exaggerated same goes for breakfast. It is refreshing to see a consciousness around waste and so forth. I really liked that. The facilities as such are equally subtle. There is no pool, no gym - actually not a lot but an incredibly lovely nature to go and investigate as well as feeding and patting the sheep and going on interesting walks. We stayed in several 5 star hotels on our tour of New Zealand but none came close to this price wise, not remotely. And is that really fair? On the other hand this was an unforgettable place and a wonderful warm experience, which will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadWays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments Helle5.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated the friendly personal service, the food, the nature & sheep farm discovery walks and the overall Wilderness Lodge atmosphere. We work hard to offer a product that combines quality hospitality, gourmet food, and guided activities in a remote natural setting while maintaining an extensive programme of conservation and environmental work.

Our goal is to consistently offer our guests an experience of the highest quality, while doing our absolute best to provide value for money. Running a lodge in a remote location comes with additional expenses that aren’t faced by a regular city hotel but this does come with rewards in terms of visitor satisfaction, memorable nature and farm experiences for all our guests, as well as making a contribution to the protection of our unique landscapes, plants and animals.

Again, thank you for your review and we would love to host your family again should you return to New Zealand.

Gerry McSweeney & Anne Saunders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 239 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stunning setting with stunning views. You can do as much or as little as you want here. Our room was very basic (and a little disappointing for the price paid) but comfortable and the ensuite was also basic and seemed to be fitted out for disabled visitors - seat in shower, very high toilet, grab rails. There was a queen and single bed in the room. The room was very clean and had glass doors out onto a small patio and grass area - beautiful garden. There are plenty of walks to go on, graded from easy to strenuous - we took an easy walk and thoroughly enjoyed it - the Manuka was in bloom when we were there and simply beautiful. We went on the guided farm tour, including a sheep dog demonstration and sheep shearing - an interesting and entertaining experience. The are also other tours, which we didn't take. Dinner and breakfast are supberb. I can't praise the food highly enough. The service was also excellent. The staff are friendly, efficient and can't do enough for you. Overall a great experience and we would certainly make a return visit. We recommend this property highly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Travellers074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I had a superb room with a view. Happy hour is great, dining is excellent and the staff go out of their way. We booked a private guided all day trip which really made our visit. We would recommend this place and hope to someday return for longer.

Room Tip: splurge get a room with a view, king bed and all the romantic touches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful setting overlooking the southern alps having a very inviting and restful lobby with excellent reading material about the local ecology. The rooms are in an attached 3 story wing and all have great views and are spacious and tastefully furnished to match a natural environment. The bathrooms have showers and are well furnished. There is a large cabinet storage area and space for suitcases to be opened for easy access. One of the best features is the dining room with their own chef who features a different menu each day - depending what is the most fresh and available. The other outstanding value is a personal guided tour all day - with the host to local environmental attractions and also with the farm manager who provides an excellent tour about sheep and how their Merino sheep are cared for - including a visit to their shearing shed. He also tells about his having to rescue sheep from Mount Horrible - a forbidding mountain about 5 miles up the road.
This was our 4th visit to Wilderness Lodge and feel that it is good value for the money - with a personal guide-dinner -accommodations- and wonderful knowledgable hosts - is easily worth the cost. Is definitely a 'repeat'

Room Tip: The rooms are all equal - their are 2 levels - and the upper ones may have a little better view - wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 764pwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We are lucky to have just spent an amazing weekend in the stunning scenery that surrounds Wilderness Lodge. We were able to sample some of the farms own home grown meat in a fantastic meal and even watch the trained sheep dogs show their skill in rounding up the sheep. On both days we hiked through some of the wonderful walking trails in the bird filled beech forest, this place really is something special. Our host Michael was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful and really went out of his way to make our stay memorable. This place offers an experience you cant get at any other hotel, we will definately be back again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsywalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for two nights this February, and, while we liked many things about the experience, we (like some other reviewers) found the lodge to be overpriced, especially considering that the lodge separately charged for “extras” (guides, box lunches, wine, etc.) on top of the room rates. On the plus side, the location is beautiful, our room and the lodge buildings were clean and comfortable, the staff were very helpful, the food was generally good (although one of the two dinners we had was average at best) and we very much enjoyed the hour and a half tour of the sheep operation. However, our point of comparison was with a similarly priced lodge in Chile, and we found our stay at the Chilean lodge better in every respect: more spectacular scenery, more extensive trails, a more luxurious room, excellent food and no additional charges for “extras.”

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

We appreciate your feedback from your visit. We are sorry that our product and our prices did not compare favorably with your similar experience in Chile. The average wage in Chile is half that of New Zealand and pricing does differ accordingly.

We take pride in offering our visitors a product of the highest quality. In May 2012, Wilderness Lodge Arthur’s Pass was selected by CNN in the world’s Top Ten Luxury Eco Lodges. The Lodge was judged on the quality of our food, accommodations and our guided nature adventure and sheep farm trips. They also judged us on our nature protection work to save endangered plants, rare birds and wild landscapes.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Gerry McSweeney & Anne Saunders
Owner-managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at this stunning, remote lodge. It was an unexpected treat – gorgeous views in every direction, beautiful grounds with hiking paths, fine dining in the on-premises restaurant, and the Lodge itself is part of a 6,000 acre property which is a working sheep ranch (3,000 sheep).
Wilderness Lodge is clean and new, and the rooms are quiet and lovely. Complimentary WiFi access is available in the main building.
The Lodge includes guides who take great pride in offering personal tours of the ranch. The focus for the early morning walk is on ecology and the rich flora of the region, while in the afternoon the guests can have a guided visit to the sheep ranch. We were impressed when we entered a huge fenced area where no sheep were visible. Michael sent his dog off to find, and bring us, a group. How fun it was to watch the sheep appear in the distance, their movements totally controlled by the sheep dog, and to see the sheep brought right up to where we were standing! This was a handsome group of Merino sheep. We ended at the barn where the sheep are shorn, and the wool is graded. Fun, and educational!
Our only regret was that the sky was overcast each evening – we had heard about the stunning stars and dark skies at night, and wished we could have seen them! I mean, we're "Star_Peepers", after all! Well, we’ll have to wait ‘til next time!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star_Peepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
7.3 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
258 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
188 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
68 reviews
23.4 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#1 of 4 in Darfield
45 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass

Address: Cora Lynn Road | 16km east of Arthurs Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $358 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation, fine food, and an exciting and diverse programme of guided nature and sheep farming adventures in the heart of the Southern Alps. The lodge sits on a 4000 acre working sheep farm and nature reserve, surrounded by the peaks of Arthur's Pass National Park. Guests can unwind in comfort or choose more active relaxation. Explore private trails or join an expert guide to hike alpine valleys, search for wildlife, and kayak upon mountain lakes. A highlight for guests are the sheep farm discovery trips every second afternoon. Join a farmer guide to watch sheepdogs working, hand feed lambs and learn about sheep shearing and merino wool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing