We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Wilderness Retreat”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our group of 7 adults stayed 2 nights at the lodge and we all enjoyed ourselves tremendously. It is a quiet little retreat with a very relaxed ambience. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. There are many trails on the property that you can explore on your own. The older folks in our group enjoyed the guided walks and the visit to the sheep farm, where we all got to feed the animals and watch a sheep shearing and herding demonstration. Dinner was especially delicious and so was the breakfast (especially the croissants - the best we've ever tasted). Our group also took the opportunity to drive out to Castle Hill and Arthur's Pass. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mleewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our tour of NZ. Having seen the website we expected something special - and this was simply out of this world. It is situated in the most beautiful location imaginable. It is completely to a very high standard indeed despite being in the depths of the wilderness (and probably one of the most beautiful and dramatic wildernesses on Earth).

The room was excellent.

The walks were excellent.

The sheep farm visit was excellent - thank you Neil).

The food and hotel facilities were excellent - ( thank you Anne).

And the ecology trips were excellent - thank you Jerry).

Yes, it isn't cheap. But in terms of value, it is, quite simply, phenomenal. Hopefully, we will return. Soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajm123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I feel a bit conflicted not providing top scores, but with a cost of almost $1,000 per night for a couple, can't. Just glad our U.S. dollar made it a bit more reasonable. I stupidly booked this hotel thinking the room was $500 per night, not realizing it was per person. As an FYI, those rates quoted above by TA seem to be per person as well. Unfortunately, the weather was cold and rainy, and we couldn't take advantage of all this place had to offer during the summer season. We did manage to go on a couple of short hikes and really appreciated having private trails and incredible vistas. Drinking crystal clear water from the streams was a treat!The sheep shearing demonstration was very impressive and the morning walk with Michael (owners' son) was interesting and informative. Here's what bothered us: that we had to pay a premium price for wine at the "guest mingling hour" before dinner (would have thought that would be gratis) as well as with dinner, and also pay for snacks that were left out in the main reception area ($3.50 for a bag of chips) - I would call that nickel and diming given the $1k per night we paid! Also, I was annoyed at having to walk a distance to use the laundry on the premises, only to find the washers constantly in use by a family who decided to do a week's worth of clothing. Ugh. There wasn't any bell service, so we also had to lug our bags a distance from parking lot to the room. The upside is the beauty of the area and the fact the owners took much care in being environmentally conscious in the development and nuturing of the area. The view from our room was breathtaking. The service was warm and friendly. It made for some nice memories, but I am still guilty about the expense.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wagsdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Have 2 nights and do some of the walks with Michael , its great to go with a guide who can tell you so much about the wildlife. Fabulous rooms, great community feeling but with luxury - would have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: They are all huge and very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodneythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We love the complimentary tours that wilderness lodge provided. It was educational and fun. We learned lots knowledge about the plants, birds in the area and enjoyed the views at the same time. The room was cute, quiet and comfortable. Claire and Yvonne were very helpful and friendly and the service of the lodge was efficient and great. We had various meals and were very satisfied. Wonderful people and place to stay with, but it’s a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyredhoood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This 5-6,000 acre working sheep station high in the mountains of the South Island provided a truly glorious stay for our family. While it rained the day that we stayed there (wish we could have stayed longer), that did not deter Michael and Nicki from taking us on their orientation tours through the forests and fields and across the large stream running through their land.

The guided tours were well conducted, with less than ten people, quite personal, and well informed. We were also attended by two sheep dogs (one "in training"). Because we were only there for the single night, and because the sheep herding and shearing tour was scheduled for the following day, we were provided with a short version of that tour, after the regular one finished. My wife, who loves dogs, really apreciated this extra effort on Michael's part.

The dinner and breakfast were both very well attended and afforded plenty of food, even for our group which were on a bicycle trip around the South Island. The food was well prepared and tasty.

This is a really good way to find out about sheep raising and a way to get a knowledgeably guided tour of the local flora, fauna, and geology.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CycleTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 2009 and couldn't have had a better time.
The owner Gerry is a wealth of knowledge and his love of the area and dedication to preserving it is inspiring.
Stargazing the southern sky, visiting the sheep shed, exploring the rock formations - if Gerry offers to take you, go with him!
The lodge's location and ambience is fantastic. Great food and service. Beautiful walks.
Well worth the cost of the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
7.3 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
265 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
193 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 16 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
70 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
11.6 mi away
Rata Lodge
Rata Lodge
#4 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass

Address: Cora Lynn Road | 16km east of Arthurs Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $341 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation, fine food, and an exciting and diverse programme of guided nature and sheep farming adventures in the heart of the Southern Alps. The lodge sits on a 4000 acre working sheep farm and nature reserve, surrounded by the peaks of Arthur's Pass National Park. Guests can unwind in comfort or choose more active relaxation. Explore private trails or join an expert guide to hike alpine valleys, search for wildlife, and kayak upon mountain lakes. A highlight for guests are the sheep farm discovery trips every second afternoon. Join a farmer guide to watch sheepdogs working, hand feed lambs and learn about sheep shearing and merino wool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing