We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of heaven”
Review of Grasmere Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grasmere Lodge
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Tom and his staff are remarkably friendly and efficient. The service and food were great and the surrounding landscape is magnificent. Great place to chill out or enjoy the outdoor activities. The tour of the farm and surrounding area is very interesting

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 78 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at Grasmere Lodge for four nights and found it to be a remarkable place. It is in a large open area surrounded by mountains and the feeling of isolation was wonderful. Tom, Jo and their staff were very friendly and informative and the food and wine were superb. Tom offers a tour of the area which is well worth taking. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times in the past 4 years. Most recently we had 4 rooms and occupied the whole of the Mountain chalet.
Grasmere is not cheap but it is excellent value. Rooms are vast and superbly equipped - big comfortable beds with piles of pillows. Log effect gas fires are very warm and fit the setting - the real log fire in our lounge was lovely in the evening. Mini-bars (including beer and wine are) included in the room rate.
The real strength her are the staff - all are very competent and seem genuinely interested in guests and in making their stay as good as possible. Lots of activities are available and very fairly priced for what is often a 1:1 experience.
Dinners are taken in the main lodge and you can choose whether to eat with other guest or on your own. Food is excellent and the included wines are of high quality and generously served.
A somebody else has commented - this is one of my favourite places in New Zealand.

Room Tip: All are good - Mountain Chalet and Cottage provide complete escapism.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We only stayed 2 days but wished we could have stayed 2 weeks, 2 months, forever? This is just a stunning place! The lodge itself is gorgeous and the surrounding area amazingly pretty. The staff is wonderfully welcoming and friendly, and the food awesome - this is truly a special place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francoise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at Grasmere Lodge around this time last year and loved it so stayed again this past weekend - it has got even better if that is possible! The food was fabulous and the lodge grounds looked amazing. All of the lodge staff are just so nice and natural and go out of their way to ensure that you are comfortable and enjoying your stay. The rooms spacious with great views. It is such a beautiful part of the world that everyone should visit. Can't wait to go again next year....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We returned to Grasmere one year after our first visit to the Lodge. Many high end lodges in New Zealand and Australia are located in beautiful surroundings, but Grasmere has not only a gorgeous mountain setting but it also has warm and wonderful people who staff the lodge. Everyone who works there seems to love being there and welcoming their guests. We were made to feel so comfortable. There was no sense of pushing us into activities for a profit motive, as we so often have encountered. But, if you want to participate in an activity, Tom Butler, the owner will do whatever is needed to see that it happens for you. We went helicoptering over the mountains and gliding in Omarama. It tooks many phone calls to arrange dor what was a perfect day for us. I dream of Grasmere and hope to return in another year's time.

Room Tip: If any of the detached houses are available, they offer superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank effadeffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

As the gale force winds came in, we could imagine the sheep farmers who set up Grasmere, entirely isolated in the glorious and bleak valley in which the lodge sits, seeking shelter in a draugty barn or snuggling for warmth with a merino sheep. Such musings taking place from one of the extremely luxurious chalets as we settled down to sleep, reflecting on a delicious meal, still warm from one of the many wood fires which are always lit when needed to bring a little extra cheer.

Currently run by Tom (and a relaxed, friendly team) who starts you off each night with a glass of wine and a canape and is on hand during the day to give you a tour and a bit of history of Grasmere. A very engaging and vivacious character.

Room Tip: One of the chalets has an incredible view up the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arthur's Pass National Park hotels
12.1 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
271 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
209 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Rata Lodge
Rata Lodge
#4 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
15 reviews
12.5 mi away
Arthurs Pass Motel and Lodge
Arthurs Pass Motel and Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
2 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
#1 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Lodge

Address: State H'way 73 Near Arthur's Pass Canterbury | Private Bag 55009, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $1,400 - $2,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grasmere Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Grasmere Lodge is at the heart of an operational 6,000 hectare grand pastoral station (ranch) surrounded by stunning alpine scenery. 100% purely Kiwi owned and operated Grasmere has been a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels since 1995. The 150 year old Homestead houses character rooms such as the library, lounge, bar and evening dining rooms. Thirteen guest rooms spread through the lodge, chalet and cottage boast panoramic views of lakes, rivers or rugged mountains. Meals feature the best of New Zealand produce and may include farm-raised venison, lamb or salmon or regional delicacies in season, such as whitebait from the West Coast. They are accompanied by an extensive wine list, which comprises award-winning New Zealand wines, including a number from the local Canterbury region. Carefully trained staff embody traditional southern hospitality, and are well-informed about the region and all it offers. From the lodge enjoy horseback riding, walking, kayaking, mountain biking, clay bird shooting or taking part in the daily 4WD station tour. Relax and rejuvenate in Mountain Spa or by the heated outdoor swimming pool. Gin-clear streams and lakes challenge the fly-fisherman while scenic flights from the airstrip entertain further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing