We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place”
Review of Grasmere Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grasmere Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

As the gale force winds came in, we could imagine the sheep farmers who set up Grasmere, entirely isolated in the glorious and bleak valley in which the lodge sits, seeking shelter in a draugty barn or snuggling for warmth with a merino sheep. Such musings taking place from one of the extremely luxurious chalets as we settled down to sleep, reflecting on a delicious meal, still warm from one of the many wood fires which are always lit when needed to bring a little extra cheer.

Currently run by Tom (and a relaxed, friendly team) who starts you off each night with a glass of wine and a canape and is on hand during the day to give you a tour and a bit of history of Grasmere. A very engaging and vivacious character.

Room Tip: One of the chalets has an incredible view up the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pigeon Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Two days of total indulgence. From the moment we arrived, Tom and his team of hospitality professionals went above and beyond ensuring we had a stay, we'll never forget. The high country views were simply stunning. Dining was another highlight with outstanding cuisine and wine list to match!

Room Tip: The Riverview Cottage is simply divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJFarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Excellent facilities in the most glorious surroundings. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope-you-save-time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester county, ny
Level Contributor
166 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This absolutely stunning lodge is so special. The entire staff makes you feel welcome and comfortable the minute you walk on the porch. The food was excellent, Great horseback riding, hiking....and just a little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We felt as if we were guests at a private house party while at the Grasmere Lodge. The property looks like the old TV show, "The Big Valley." Jo greeted us at the door, not letting us lift a finger. Tom hosted us for our all too short visit. The main house is so warm and comfortable, we almost wished it would rain so we could hunker down to spend a day by the fire. Rain it did not, so we were able to take advantage of hiking, shooting, and exploration of the working cattle/sheep farm in the shadow of snow-capped mountains. Meals, prepared with local, seasonal ingredients by the very capable Louise, equaled the quality one would find in high-end London/San Francisco restaurants. Add personal touches by the aptly named server, Heaven, and you have a perfect outdoor/indoor holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms are equally well-appointed and beaurifully located, but some have more sweeping view of the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at Grasmere Lodge over the Easter weekend and had a great lazy weekend. We went trout fishing for one day with a fantastic fishing guide, Nigel. Amazing scenery and great fishing. The lodge rooms are very comfortable with large bathrooms and overlook breathtaking scenery. All the meals were excellant, especially the breakfasts and the staff were most helpful and interesting. A great experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were recommended to this lodge as it was ment to be one of the best in canterbury,
The location is absolutely amazing and the property and accommodation is flawless in presentation
However the food is tasteless bland and a real Disappointment! Regarding a shot glass of Sobert a dish ( one of the four included in the meal ) is a complete rip off
The bathroom did not have underfloor heating Or was broken the fan heater in the bathroom also did not work and this was disappointing as the 3 days we spent at Grasmere the weather was very cold.
The bed was comfortable and had beautiful linen.
Our sleep in was ruined at 7.45am with a helicopter landing not less then 25 meters from the front of all the lodge rooms and stayed running for about 15 mins while picking up a group of guest that had the whole lodge caring for them over the priority of other guest and this came up in conversation with other guest at breakfast and lunches as the were at time waiting periods for longer than 60-70 mins after being seated for food to come to the table!
When speeding $4000 in total for our stay at Grasmere we are sad to say and not alone as two other couples felt the same that we would not recommend or be returning which we feel really sorry as it truely is a magic setting to be if not the best but one of the best lodgesin NZ.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank teamtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
11.4 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
12.1 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
21.3 mi away
Springfield Motel & Lodge
Springfield Motel & Lodge
#1 of 2 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
24.0 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 10 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Lodge

Property: Grasmere Lodge
Address: State H'way 73 Near Arthur's Pass Canterbury | Private Bag 55009, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grasmere Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Grasmere Lodge is at the heart of an operational 6,000 hectare grand pastoral station (ranch) surrounded by stunning alpine scenery. 100% purely Kiwi owned and operated Grasmere has been a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels since 1995. The 150 year old Homestead houses character rooms such as the library, lounge, bar and evening dining rooms. Thirteen guest rooms spread through the lodge, chalet and cottage boast panoramic views of lakes, rivers or rugged mountains. Meals feature the best of New Zealand produce and may include farm-raised venison, lamb or salmon or regional delicacies in season, such as whitebait from the West Coast. They are accompanied by an extensive wine list, which comprises award-winning New Zealand wines, including a number from the local Canterbury region. Carefully trained staff embody traditional southern hospitality, and are well-informed about the region and all it offers. From the lodge enjoy horseback riding, walking, kayaking, mountain biking, clay bird shooting or taking part in the daily 4WD station tour. Relax and rejuvenate in Mountain Spa or by the heated outdoor swimming pool. Gin-clear streams and lakes challenge the fly-fisherman while scenic flights from the airstrip entertain further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing