We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and hospitable. Cloud 9 comfort. Knowledgeable about Mountains.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay

Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Warm and hospitable. Cloud 9 comfort. Knowledgeable about Mountains.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

After tramping for 3 days in the mountains around Arthur's Pass staying at Geoff's and Renee's was like staying on Cloud 9! The beds, pillows, towels and duvets were just so thick, white and comfortable! Geoff has a good knowledge of the mountains and it is worth staying just for his tips about were to go and how to get access. Geoff and Renee were very friendly and accommodating to my son and myself. I thoroughly recommend staying with them if you are tramping in A's Pass.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Geoff & Renee were actually away on holiday when we stayed, but we were more than adequately looked after by their house sitters, and definitely intend on returning to sample the legendary hospitality of the owners.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Renee and Geoff were truly wonderful hosts who made our stay memorable. They gave us great recommendations, helped us get settled, and gave us great advice on which shops to visit in and around town. The room itself is cozy, with comfortable bed and electric blanker. A big plus is the free Wifi provided – a rarity in NZ where Internet is expensive, toiletries used are of good quality, and we appreciate the fluffy thick towels provided. Delicious breakfast – the raspberry sauce is simply amazing. Thanks Renee and Geoff for the lovely stay and making our holiday memorable! We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend you to do the same!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Behappy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Renée and Geoff are very friendly and make you feel at home. The log fire is very welcoming and Geoff cooks excellent breakfasts. Our only complaint is that the bedrooms are frankly rather cramped.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

What makes a great b&b? To my mind, it's not just the facilities and the room. Sure, you need those, but you can get a decent room in lots of places. What lifts a b&b out of the ordinary is the attitude and approach of the people running it. Do they really care about you? Do they make you feel like you've come home when they meet you? Are they interesting, and do you enjoy their company?

On all those counts, I can't fault this place. I was only there for two nights, but I felt immediately comfortable and went on to spend two stimulating and interesting days staying with Renee and Geoff. Just go, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed for two nights in Arthurs Pass and had a fantastic time. Renée and Geoff are very friendly and welcoming. I'd come to Arthurs Pass partly to see the area where my Granddad grew up and both Renée and Geoff were really excited to have a gust who had a link to the area. I was well looked after. Lots of advice on local walks (or tramps in NZ). Thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: It's a very small place (two rooms only so don't expect suites!!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBlinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here after the Christchurch earthquake and canceled our plans there and extended them in Arthur's Pass and figured we're try and do some hiking.

We had no idea what to expect or how small this little village is. Wow! It is small! It's a little strip of buildings that you can walk. It's very lovely and beautiful here, but quite quite chilly compared to the other mountain areas like Hoktika, Fox Glacier and Queenstown which we visited.

We did not realize it would be such a small home (many B&Bs were huge in New Zealand due to the space), so best not to bring a lot of luggage. Aside from our room being freezing and not knowing we could have had a heater, our stay was nice. They offered us breakfast and prepared us soup for lunch on our two days so we could go hiking, which was very kind and most B&Bs do not offer that.

I'm glad we stayed here instead of at a motel, because we would not have known what to do or felt as at home in Arthur's Pass.

We brought a lot of food with us on our road trip because groceries can be expensive here, so best to load up in Christchurch if you want to make meals on the road as it can get very rural in between destinations.

It was nice to get to know local New Zealanders and what kind of life they live and how they love it here. It's such a beautiful country.

We were recommended to do Avalanche Peak if we had a whole day and we went up the easy "Scott's Track", I say easy lightly. It still took us about 7 hours to go up and down. Wow that was probably the hardest obstacle I've ever done in my life. At times we were tired, afraid we wouldn't ever see the top etc. There are MANY false peaks so you think you're almost there, but you're not. But we made it, we did not get hurt at all, we stayed safe, we walked carefully and made it to the top, and were all alone. It was amazing, so beautiful and we got so many great photos and videos at the top of the mountain. We were sore the next day but it improved our fitness so much that I know we can now climb mountains and enjoy it. If you cannot hike for 5-7 hours straight, do not go. But if you want to do it, start out early. Between 7 and 9 am would be the best start to give you enough time to enjoy it.

We did another hike the day before up to the Temple Basin ski area, and it was not as enjoyable, as you're walking up slippery gravel for the most part. So if you have time do Scott's track up to Avalanche peak.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthursPassBandB, Owner at Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for the comments, the advice on Avalanche Peak is great and we recommend that Arthur's Pass visitors read it. We're sorry these guests didn't realise there was a heater for them to use. The previous guests had removed the heater as they were too warm. Potential guests should be reassured that the rooms do have heating and the beds have electric blankets. If you're staying and you need something - just ask and we'll do what we can to accomm
odate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.2 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#7 of 19 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
23.2 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay

Property: Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay
Address: 72 School Terrace | Arthur's Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now reopened! Great food and friendly hosts in the heart of the Southern Alps. Geoff and Renée welcome you to share their home in the village of Arthur's Pass surrounded by the forest and peaks of Arthurs Pass National Park. Vegetarians, vegans and meat eaters catered for.Full cooked breakfast including free range bacon and eggs, pancakes and freshly baked bread. Excellent espresso coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing