We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely People and Great Hiking Area”

Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here after the Christchurch earthquake and canceled our plans there and extended them in Arthur's Pass and figured we're try and do some hiking.

We had no idea what to expect or how small this little village is. Wow! It is small! It's a little strip of buildings that you can walk. It's very lovely and beautiful here, but quite quite chilly compared to the other mountain areas like Hoktika, Fox Glacier and Queenstown which we visited.

We did not realize it would be such a small home (many B&Bs were huge in New Zealand due to the space), so best not to bring a lot of luggage. Aside from our room being freezing and not knowing we could have had a heater, our stay was nice. They offered us breakfast and prepared us soup for lunch on our two days so we could go hiking, which was very kind and most B&Bs do not offer that.

I'm glad we stayed here instead of at a motel, because we would not have known what to do or felt as at home in Arthur's Pass.

We brought a lot of food with us on our road trip because groceries can be expensive here, so best to load up in Christchurch if you want to make meals on the road as it can get very rural in between destinations.

It was nice to get to know local New Zealanders and what kind of life they live and how they love it here. It's such a beautiful country.

We were recommended to do Avalanche Peak if we had a whole day and we went up the easy "Scott's Track", I say easy lightly. It still took us about 7 hours to go up and down. Wow that was probably the hardest obstacle I've ever done in my life. At times we were tired, afraid we wouldn't ever see the top etc. There are MANY false peaks so you think you're almost there, but you're not. But we made it, we did not get hurt at all, we stayed safe, we walked carefully and made it to the top, and were all alone. It was amazing, so beautiful and we got so many great photos and videos at the top of the mountain. We were sore the next day but it improved our fitness so much that I know we can now climb mountains and enjoy it. If you cannot hike for 5-7 hours straight, do not go. But if you want to do it, start out early. Between 7 and 9 am would be the best start to give you enough time to enjoy it.

We did another hike the day before up to the Temple Basin ski area, and it was not as enjoyable, as you're walking up slippery gravel for the most part. So if you have time do Scott's track up to Avalanche peak.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthursPassBandB, Owner at Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for the comments, the advice on Avalanche Peak is great and we recommend that Arthur's Pass visitors read it. We're sorry these guests didn't realise there was a heater for them to use. The previous guests had removed the heater as they were too warm. Potential guests should be reassured that the rooms do have heating and the beds have electric blankets. If you're staying and you need something - just ask and we'll do what we can to accomm
odate your request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 56 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2011

I have stayed with Renee and Geoff for 4 days last month and it felt like visiting old friends - that is the way they make their guests feel... :)

There is no need to talk of the wonderful huge fluffy towels and the soft lacy linen or the soap in the shower all of this is obvious when u walk into the place. So is the great breakfast cooked to your liking (ask for the pancakes with raspberry sauce Geoff made...) with a freshly backed bread and great coffee.

You can also get good dinners but and here is the best secret if you stay longer than one night they offer a free lunch - you can take it of course and it is a good lunch BUT!!! if you don't you can get a much better replacement - one of the great desert !!!

so all the combination of great food and wonderful hospitality while sitting around the fireplace just makes you want to stay more than you actually planed...

Room Tip: ask for the mountain view it is slightly bigger
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed with Renee and Geoff for 5 weeks as wwoofers.
The Bed and Breakfast is set in a very beautiful area, you can do lots of different walks and tracks ( easy, medium and hard, something for everybody!) around the village. Geoff is a great help if you are keen on doing some tramping, he knows everything about every mountain and every walk. Its very very impressive!!
The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean and beautiful. The breakfast is the best you can wish for (by the way, Lars learned how to make homemade bread, thanks for that! :) )
Renee and Geoff are wonderful hosts, they do everything to make their guests feel welcome and home (and they succeed every time! :) )
In our opinion, this B&B is far more than an ordinary one and it is worth driving up to Arthurs Pass only because of this B&B!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannalars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We found the B+B by chance and did not regret one moment to have stayed there - very much to the contrary, it turned out to be one of the most enjoyable stays during our NZ vacation.
Great hosts, great Breakfast, good and very clean room and bathrom, we felt like with friends. Unorthodox, but quite nice, the way from bedroom to bathroom goes stright thru the living room, i.e. a nice, little chat is guarantueed :-)
In German/Auf Deutsch:
... war einer der nettesten Übernachtungen während unseres Urlaubs in NZ. Nette Gastgeber, super Frühstück, sehr sauberes Schlafzimmer und Bad.
Unorthodox, aber um so liebenswerter, von Schlafzimmer zum Bad gehts quer durch den offenen Wohn-Esszimmer-Küche-Raum - Mitten durchs Leben von Geoff und Renée - hautnaher kann man das alltägliche Leben in NZ nicht erleben.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 days with Geoff and Renee mid Feb and were impressed by the old fashioned B and B service on offer. Staying with locals is certainly much better than a faceless motel in this most picturesque area. Breakfast was a winner and the packed lunch a nice touch.
I warn fellow casual day walkers though... Avalanche Peak is not a stroll, it is up up up (scrambling) and then lots of down!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Arthur's Pass is a great place to visit, and it was terrific having a cozy and comfortable place to stay. Geoff and Renee have done a great job creating a welcoming B and B for travelers from all over. We're from Santa Fe, New Mexico and loved visiting South Island mountains. Thank you Geoff and Renee for the wonderful visit, yummy blueberry pancakes, and really good fun. Sebia and Spin

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Renee and Geoff have a house that's cute as a button on a quite side street in Arthurs Pass. They are wonderful people that pay attention to every detail to make sure you are well taken care of: oversize white fluffy towels, crisp fresh sheets, and paraben-free shampoo in the bath. The breakfast includes homemade bread (fabulous smell to wake up to) and homemade jams. The porch is sunny in the mornings and the perfect place to lounge and read a book. There aren't that many places in New Zealand that are off the beaten track (no ATMs in Arthurs Pass) and offer small luxuries like this one. I wish we had stayed a week.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank melimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.2 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
68 reviews
23.2 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
69 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast Homestay

Address: 72 School Terrace | Arthur's Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $58 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now reopened! Great food and friendly hosts in the heart of the Southern Alps. Geoff and Renée welcome you to share their home in the village of Arthur's Pass surrounded by the forest and peaks of Arthurs Pass National Park. Vegetarians, vegans and meat eaters catered for.Full cooked breakfast including free range bacon and eggs, pancakes and freshly baked bread. Excellent espresso coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing