We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service but rooms remind me of a backpacker hostel”
Review of Arthurs Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthurs Chalet
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the village so very close to the start of some of the hikes. It has a bar and restaurant which is handy. Service at reception and in the restaurant great. Rooms are old and drab with basic facilities. Meals were very average.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 85 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our 9 day trip before heading to Christchurch and flying out. The downstairs bar adds to the atmosphere and the meals were HUGE and full of flavour. Tom, the owner, makes sure you feel comfortable and you can have a chat to him about things to do in Arthurs Pass, how the Crusaders are going and which beer to try next

Upstairs the rooms are very warm and cosy. We stayed in a couples room with a balcony that looked out into the town. The bed was nice but a bit worn in - which adds to the charm of the place really. The included breakfast was a bonus too and they put on a extra pot of coffee for us too. Overall a great place to stay and look forward to being back here soon!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road tend to be quieter - i,.e. less logging trucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Arthur's Chalet was a great overnight stay on the first leg of our trip from Christchurch airport around the island. As we arrived in the early evening, it was a delight to have a nice bar/restaurant downstairs! I wasn't feeling well, and the sweet gal at the counter went into her personal medicine stash and gave me a cold/flu lemon packet that absolutely saved our trip--thank you, thank you whoever you are, I am most grateful for your help!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AusTxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Okay hotel to stay at for 1 night if you're arriving late and leave early, arthurs pass is small and the only thing to do is 1 or 2 shorter tracks to walk, only 2 resturants and 1 "cafe" in town... But okay hotel to stay for 1 night, a little dated but pretty clean and friendly staff

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larsalindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is by no means new. The rooms have a smallish LCD TV but the beds are not the worlds most comfortable. There's signs of wear and tear, but the basics are clean. This is a somewhat remote location so dont expect 5 star luxury. Meal servings are great and free breakfast and wifi makes it. It's perfect for a 1 night stop if you want to feel that remote feeling. I would classify it as a 3 star by Australian /NZ standards and 2 star by USA standards

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

On a quick excursion from Christchurch, with only one overnight possible, but we would love to spend more time here. If you are looking for slick-city stay, drive right on through, but you would miss a real gem. Wonderful hosts, good simple hearty food, charming attic room with gorgeous mountain views, comfortable in every way. And an interesting historical town especially if you don't have much time for walks. Several waterfalls within minutes, one providing a stunning view from a pew in the little church.

Room Tip: Accommodation varies from dorm style, to single room to suite - but whatever the room, the downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very clean and helpful staff. Breaky included was nice and restaurant meals were huge. Wifi bonus. Helpful manager old us about a road outage and we were able to reroute our trip. Managed a hike to bealey spur after the isite recommended.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Morphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arthur's Pass National Park hotels
0 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
271 reviews
0 mi away
Arthurs Pass Motel and Lodge
Arthurs Pass Motel and Lodge
#3 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
150 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rata Lodge
Rata Lodge
#4 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthurs Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthurs Chalet

Address: 131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthurs Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, Restaurant - open daily for lunch and dinner, Cafe and Bar with big screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arthurs Chalet Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing