We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Expect Luxury & You Won't Be Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arthurs Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthurs Chalet
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't Expect Luxury & You Won't Be Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We were originally going to stay in Christchurch on arrival & then drive straight to Greymouth. Due to the earthquake, we collected our car at CHC Apt & drove straight to Arthurs Pass, as it wasn't too long a drive (allow about 2hrs).
We had a queen bedded room with ensuite - the room was basic but comfortable & warm. The bathroom could have used a bit of an update, but most importantly it was clean. We paid NZD109 for the one night, including a continental breakfast, so were happy with the price. The main lodge area had two cosy fires going - one in the bar area & another in the dining area so it was pleasant to sit by the fire with a glass of wine & read or make use of the board games that were provided.
The dinner we had was great - very tasty & huge servings. Yes - the place could use an update & maybe that will come in time, but if you don't expect absolute luxury & accept Arthur's Chalet for what it is, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheekyMacyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and while the owner and his family are trying hard, they have inherited a property way overdue for an upgrade. they offer very low prices to stay, but this is obviously an attempt to get occupancy up in a place with problems. Even with the low prices I couldn't recommend this inn to fellow travellers. We arrived before 2pm to find the place deserted, and repeated attempts to knock on the front door failed to get their attention. Finally some other guests wandering by showed us into the back entrance and they complained they had the same problem when they arrived. The restaurant where a surprisingly flash reception desk is located is only open for lunch on Fridays and most nights, but get there early as they have a tendency to close early for the staff if they can. They must get a doorbell for guests or a contact mobile on the front door to avoid this bad first impression. The owner, when we did find him, is very friendly and professional, but his staff/family treat the place as a hangout for their social catch ups, particularly later in the evening in the bar/pool room area. The food in the restaurant is surprisingly good and generous and often too big for one person, suggest you share dishes. On our first night the owner and one brand new girl who was really struggling (normally a horse trainer in her other job!) were overwhelmed by a full dining room and meals took forever to arrive, and confusion reigned with orders. Many guests in the dining room were laughing and making comparisons to Fawlty Towers! Too his credit the owner knew they were blowing it, and offered free drinks to many to compensate - probably more expense he couldn't afford. The rooms are the worst part of this property - old, musty, dated, mouldy in the showers, many different shades of brown for bedding and furniture. Creative picture taking on their website hints at magnificent views, which are limited to a carpark, and other rooms for the most part. There was no fridge, no milk, just a kettle, some loose teapot tea bags and a few sugar sachets. We took pity on the next guest and left some of our stash of tea and coffee etc, which we had accumulated over our 2 week holiday in the room. Everything about this property hints at saving pennies and making do, to scrape out a profit. Sadly they will be out of business soon anyway if they don't spend some money and quickly. Next time we'll try the new B&B in town which has been getting great reviews. Arthur's pass itself has some lovely walks and waterfalls with plenty of curious Kea's - but food and coffee options are limited. A disappointing way to end a spectacular 2 week holiday on the west coast of NZ.

Room Tip: Try the new B&B in town instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OscarTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

The staff at Arthur's Chalet were very friendly and helpful. However, I wouldn't recommend this location or staying in Arthur's Pass. If we did it again, we would have spent more time at Nelson Lakes and Mt. Cook and skipped Arthur's Pass. They have one hike that is nice but not much else than that. The pass has very few restaurants or nightlife.

As for Arthur's Chalet, our room was very old and the mattress had lumps in it. We're not very picky but even at $80-$100 a night we feel we might have down better at a backpackers lodge. Our room was over the bar and the music played until 12:00 PM so we didn't get to sleep until after that. Oh, the television didn't work either.

If this place spent some money to upgrade the rooms and soundproof the rooms from the bar it might be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawardenhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

This location is one place you can have lunch and dinner. It has a bar and fireplace and pool table. Rooms are located upstairs some with bathrooms and others without.
Rooms were clean. Building is dated.
Breakfast was toast, fruit and cereal, coffee and tea
Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nannee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth East Vic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

The chalet was nice and warm and welcoming. The KIAs were friendly (we did not feed them). Breakfast was basic. Management were pedantic about times. After 14:00 was the time to book in personally ..period. We were reading about the opening times on a door for breakfast at 08:15. What we thought was an employee but turned out to be a crazy American tourist stated "08:15 MEANS 08:15!" so I said that we will walk down the corridor and back, that should soak up the remaining 3 minutes! LOL! The staff were friendly and it was all quite good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Shooemaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night Jan 2011. Had two separate rooms for our party of 4. Very friendly welcome on arrival. Accommodation not 5* but comfortable and clean. We had a lovely very reasonably priced meal in the evening and then sat by a roaring log fire. We arrived with a bag full of wet clothes having got caught in heavy rain earlier in the day and were able to get it dry for a couple of $. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Many walks from the doorstep in this beautiful area - wish we had stayed longer to explore more. If I am ever lucky enough to visit this part of the world again would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piglut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Stayed at ArthersHotel/Chalet 29th/30th October the room we were assigned was at the back of the hotel with views out to the snow capped mountains across the small river. The hotel rooms are what we would class as 3 stars back in Australia. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable with electric blankets and room heating which was excellent for just warming up the room in the morning. The staff were very friendly and the included continental breakfarst in the price was plentiful. The night meals were great also at the hotel which is where we ate although you could have ate elsewhere but with a log fire and what appears to be home cooked meals why would you want to. It is very close to the two most popular walks Horseshoe falls and Punchbowl falls which are but a 5 minute walk away..This is a nice spot to stop after picking up your rental car from Christchurch with a few photo stops on the way it was ideal for us two in our 60's.I would certainly recomend this hotel to others and sure there is more work to be done at the hotel but that comes with time and of course patronage. A final gesture was the fact that as we stayed two nights and they did not clean the room(but gave us fresh towels etc) they took $10:00 off the bill.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 19 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthurs Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthurs Chalet

Property: Arthurs Chalet
Address: 131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthurs Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, Restaurant - open daily for lunch and dinner, Cafe and Bar with big screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arthurs Chalet Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing