We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Kiwi experience, more than just a...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amberley, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jaki T
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Kiwi experience, more than just a farmstay”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Spent three nights at AislingQuoy with our 15-month old. Hosts Steve and Lyndal were really great with handling our rather last-minute booking and accommodated special requests for our child.

We were surprised by the quality of the accommodation, having stayed at many other farms before. The room was is perfect condition with a view of sheep right outside, the private shower and toilet room very clean, and we even had a sitting room with books to spend the lovely summer evenings. Breakfast was sensational with home-made muesli and freshly collected eggs and fruit from the farm.

The farm tour was informative and we were very impressed that Lyndal and Steve really knew every member of their livestock well and were always happy to share their experiences. This is not a large-scale operation, so everything is very personal and nothing is done just for show!

If you'd ever wondered what it would be like to live on a farm, this place is for you. A wonderful and authentic Kiwi experience. 100% recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful experience - Hosts, Accomodation, Farm animals, Meals”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed for only one night on our way to Wellington from Tekapo with our 2.5yo boy and that was a very smart thing to do.
On arrival, Lyndal took us on a tour of the property as our little one could not wait seeing chicken, sheep, goats, pig, ducks. She took the time to answer the many questions we had and our son immediately felt comfortable.
We then went through a delicious dinner with our hosts and kept talking until late. I highly recommend guests to opt for the dinner option!!
The guest area is very comfortable, clean and tidy, with private bathroom and we all had a very quiet night.
We had an early start on the next day but Lyndal and Steve kindly accommodated our unusual schedule and served us a beautiful cooked breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Friendhip of our hosts and definitively meals!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneDB
Peoria, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming, Clean, Entertaining - Excellent Meals!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed for one night in the middle of a really fast 2 week visit to the North and South Islands. It was a welcome, relaxing break with our hosts. We enjoyed meeting the farm animals & watching Lyndall spin wool into yarn, make cheese and create in incredible dinner, almost entirely from items raised/grown on their farm. We later agreed that our dinner was the best meal we had while in New Zealand. Lyndall & Steve were exceptional hosts and we enjoyed trading stories of different countries we had all visited. The guest wing of the home is lovely, spacious & clean, one of my key issues. Wine & olives on the patio at sunset was a nice touch. We slept quite well in a very comfortable bed and enjoyed a lovely home cooked breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff.
Liked least: hard to find maple syrup in NZ. :-)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax in the comfort of a warm house and enjoy the variety of gentle farm animals”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lyndal is a welcoming host who loves meeting new people and who is able to tell you everything about the farm. She is a brilliant cook, makes her own cheese, and is very artistic. The guest area is lovely and comfortable with a private balcony looking back towards Christchurch. It is close to several wineries and some of New Zealand's beautiful scenery. If you want a relaxed farmstay with interesting hosts, then this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to walk around the farm and relax with the hosts
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing