We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on the slope”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cristal Flumserberg
Ranked #1 of 10 Flumserberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 2, 2014

One of the best locations for ski, direct door to slope. Nice spacious and clean rooms. Very comfortable with kids. Caution - no lift. good food and responsive kitcken. They prepared out of menu for my daughter. Very nice kids play room. Also good kids movie room. Breakfast will power you through the day, good choice of fruits and breads. Also10 % discount on lift pass. Parking in front and free. Good speed of wifi and free. My first choice for this region during ski. Will come back to try sauna :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cristal Flumserberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

I booked with Hotel Cristal on 23rd Dec for arrival on 2nd Jan so very short notice. At that stage there were two rooms available. The hotel staff were very helpful in advising transport arrangements and we were looking forward to our stay. Sadly, however, my Mother in Law had a massive stroke on Christmas Eve and the prognosis was bad. I advised the hotel that we may have to change our plans. On 27th the hotel advised that if I did not cancel that day then I would be liable for 100% of the charges. I cancelled immediately, noting that there were still similar rooms available.
Sadly my Mother in Law died on New Year’s Day. I advised the hotel of this and whilst they sent their condolences, they still applied their cancellation policy and deducted CHF 380 (£262) from my credit card. Despite several attempts asking them to show some compassion in the circumstances, not least that the hotel was not sold out for the duration, they declined and advised me to claim from my insurance company.
Whilst they were technically within their rights to levy the charge, it feels like we have been effectively fined by the hotel and they have actually made some money from our cancellation that they would not have done if we had not booked in the first place. We see this as a sad reflection on the hotel management who could have exercised some human feeling and discretion which many other hoteliers would have done most readily. So much for being a family friendly hotel!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia K, Manager at Hotel Cristal Flumserberg, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Mr B.

Thank you very much for your feedback, even if you never spent a night with us. Again, we feel very sorry about your lost.
As mentioned in our e-mails and in your comment, we didn^t charge the full amount of your cancellation fee, even if you canceled the booking on very short notice. So in your particular case we decided to charge you only a minimum of the costs and the efforts we had, instead of the regular 100%. That`s why we cannot understand your comment about beeing not a family friendly hotel.
I am sure when you should decide to visit us one day, you will enjoy your stay with us and you will see how comfortable you feel in our hotel.

Kindest regards
M.K.
Generalmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Welcoming reception and extremely friendly and efficient personnel/management. Nice, homely and down to earth ambiance. The room, though not overly large has been decorated in a nihilistic, but highly efficient fashion in which natural materials, predominantly wood, form the tone. Interestingly the matted glass wall between the living and bathroom has been equipped with a lighting system that can adapt color to the mood and personality of the occupant. I opted for being in space, remembering "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds". Truly a surprising feature. It is without overstatement, that the room was impeccably clean and highly to my personal liking. Breakfast was adequately providing my preferred nurture, in preparation of me participating in ski races during the day. Both hotel and private parking lot are adjacent to ski lifts of the Flumserberg region. I congratulate the proprietors and I intend to get back, but this time with my family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Super easy to get to the hotel with train from Zurich and Chur. Take the gondola direct from Unterterzen to Flumserberg (you arrive 2 minutes' walk from the hotel) and the gondola runs non-stop from 07:30am.

Rooms are spotless, halfboard dinner and breakfast great value. WiFi is free.

The hotel offers a 10% discount for a day ski pass. Check with the hotel before buying the ski pass.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canvazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tobias-DDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Manfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flumserberg
2.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Seehof
Hotel Restaurant Seehof
#1 of 1 in Walenstadt
64 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lofthotel
Lofthotel
#1 of 1 in Murg
65 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bildungszentrum Neu-Schoenstatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Resort Walensee
Resort Walensee
#2 of 10 in Flumserberg
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Siesta
Hotel Siesta
#9 of 10 in Flumserberg
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal Flumserberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Flumserberg

Address: Molseralp 2185, Flumserberg 8898, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Flumserberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Flumserberg
Price Range: $148 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Flumserberg 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated Hotel Cristal is situated centrally at Tannenboden/Flumserberg, just a few minutes walk away from the mountain railway Maschgenkamm and the aerial cableway LUFAG. The ski slopes and the first ski lift are situated just next to the Hotel. The Hotel has 29 rooms and the restaurant "Churfirstenstube" for half board guests, and the restaurants "Chas-Stubli" and the "Arvenstubli" with the fireplace and lounge, which are only open in the winter. The hotel also offers a wellness area with steam bath and sauna. The tasteful furniture and the cosy atmosphere invite to relax and enjoy. Guests benefit from free W-LAN and free hotel parking place. For the youngest guests there is a play room near the restaurants. For meetings there is a modern equipped meeting room with view an impressive view on the mountains. Special seminary packages are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cristal Flumserberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristal Flumserberg Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing