We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you expect from a good motel”

Algonquin East Gate Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algonquin East Gate Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whitney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room was clean and basic. Shower was good. Free wifi available
All you expect from a motel.

The hosts were very friendly.
There is a possibility to have breakfast. We had one and were very pleased.

This motel is a good starting point for hikes in the Algonquin Provincial Park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff there are friendly. It's a homey, family-based atmosphere. I got to meet their grandson and daughters. I was able to crash that night and depart early for a water taxi to Lake Opeongo. They're close to Algonquin Park. The breakfasts and hot coffee was reasonably affordable and greatly appreciated in the morning. David Kay's landscape paintings, his photos of wildlife, and his humorous stories of their trips around the world lifted my spirits for my heavy paddling ahead.

Room Tip: They have a cabin out back that has cooking facilities, campfire rings, and charcoal briquette barbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights .Room clean and comfortable .Breakfast was good . Coffee maker in the room would be a good addition . Very convenient for access to Algonquin Park .Owners very friendly and helpful.Whitney has the usual amenities grocery store LCBO and a couple of restaurants. Also a gas staion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room was clean, comfortable and quiet; very basic.
The only problem I had was there was no coffee maker. The motel served breakfast starting at 8 am, but my husband and I wanted to be out around 7:30, and the area restaurants were not open until 8 am also.
I would recommend the motel purchase small coffee makers for those of us who like to get an early start.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue181747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stay at the East Gate the night before we are off to canoe in the back country of Algonquin Park. The cabin and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The retro ambiance is unpretentious, homey and welcoming - that's what I really love about the place. The staff is unfailingly helpful and polite and the cost very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A friend and I stayed here one night before hiking through Algonquin the next day. Very affordable rates and the rooms were good. Very basic , but clean. The breakfast the next morning was great and the staff super friendly and helpful. Make sure to order the hash browns for breakfast...amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0ADTRIPPER77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed in this motel in the beginning of October 2011. Being three people, we reserved the housekeeping's cabin in the "backyard", so it was very calm. Our small house was very nice and cosy, though not fully renovated, but, in my opinion, it gave it additional charm. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but in the morning they can serve you a very tasty one for 5 dollars or so.The motel is situated at the very entrance of the Algonquin Provincial Park, so the next day we could already admire the beautiful Canadian fall colors.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
0.1 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
16 reviews
22.9 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
160 reviews
20.5 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
18.6 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
77 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin East Gate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin East Gate Motel

Address: Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whitney
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Algonquin East Gate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin East Gate Hotel
Algonquin East Gate Motel Ontario/Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing