We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish we could return...”
Review of Couples Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wish we could return...”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited last January and loved our first experience in the spa villa room. Tried to book this January but we have been priced out. I don't understand why you are charging the same price for a vacation over New Years' Eve as a post-New Year's Eve visit? clearly one is more off market than the other.

we have unfortunately had to book Deerhurst instead. Full condo for a percentage of what you are charging.

It's too late for us this year, but please rethink this for next year.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenbuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are so glad you fell in love with the Couples Resort. We are designed just for Couples and we keep it quiet for you. This year we have greatly reduced prices for New Years, we feel that it no longer warrants a higher price over this Holiday Break than any other day during this Break. I am sure if you take into consideration the cost of eating meals in their restaurant you will find the price much less at our Couples Resort. This year we also include the free cross country ski and snow shoe equipment for the many Algonquin Trails nearby. The Daily Algonquin Park pass is also Included this year. I do hope we see you again when your budget allows and please do consider a lower priced Junior Suite with Fireplace and Jacuzzi since a condo is ok. Please be Cautioned there are usually close to 400 children at Deerhurst during this School Holiday Break, so it will be a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    213
    96
    31
    28
See reviews for
Families
0
806
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Amazing rooms and atmosphere. Great food and service. Very friendly staff. Plenty to do with games room, excercise room and a masseuse on staff. We enjoyed the jacuzzi, fireplace and hot tub all in our room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millhavenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks so very much for the kind words. So glad you enjoyed all the room had to offer. We strive to ensure Couples Resort is an escape form the every day for all of our guests. Please come again and take advantage of the Free spa treatments for return guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My partner and I recently visited the Couple's Resort as part of a week's holiday. I had heard a lot of positive reviews about this Resort and after our trip I can honestly concur with everyone of them. Living in Toronto, we were really looking for a break from the hustle and bustle of the city and the Couple's Resort was the perfect solution. Not only did this Resort offer peace and quiet, it also provided a touch of luxury; from the exquisite culinary delights to the fantastic accommodation (comfiest beds ever), we really couldn't have asked for more.

With Algonquin Park on our doorstep, we were able to walk until our heart's were content and in what other little time we had, the Resort offered us a vast array of activities, from mountain biking to canoeing and of course some self-indulgence in the Resort's own spa.

Anyone looking to see the beauty of Algonquin and be pampered whilst you are there, then this is definitely the resort for you. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for sharing the wonderful photos and the kind review. We are glad to provide such a relaxing escape not all that far from the city lights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked The Couples Resort for a birthday surprise with the hopes that it would be a nice relaxing and spoiled kind of weekend. We got just that. We were in a Junior Suite on the top floor and the room was lovely.

The food as others have mentioned is top notch. The service even more so. Linda who sat us both evenings in the dining room is the nicest person with many laughs to share. We had 2 different waiters both named Derek :) They are both probably the best servers I have ever met. Then there was Ercia on the bar who always had a smile. Theresa at Reception was always helpful and friendly and again a nice big smile whenever she saw us.

It was unfortunate that the weather was quite dreary so we never got to experience many of the activities around but in we were quite happy lounging all day and having the biggest worry being we had to make it to the dining room for our reservation.

My only complaint would probably be the price that I paid. As lovely as everything was I think pricing should be re-assessed at the time of year we went as the many activities that were included weren't even available obviously due to the time of the year. For example the paddle boats to name one. When we returned home I checked pricing for the same amount of time for the following weekend for the exact room and it was over $150 cheaper......so I feel a price adjustment should have been made.

All in all a good weekend. Would we return? Not sure.......again pricing is key for what you receive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggersue2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Great to hear that you were able to relax and feel spoiled. So glad the staff were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. Regarding the price, that was the last weekend of the fall at that rate, and yes after the middle of November the rates for weekends do drop. In December the weekend rates even drop further to $96pp/n. The rates are designed based on supply and demand, the further into the fall before Christmas the further the rates drop….it takes lower rates to draw the guests out during non-peak times. Consider you also came on a long weekend.
Thank you for your review, sorry about the confusion: The website after the end of October says that only Canoes, Kayaks and Mountain Bikes are available. Paddle boats were no longer available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our first and definitely not our last weekend at The Couple Resort in Whitney, Ontario. My wife and I had just experienced the last four months in a hyper stressed environment and needed a break. To do so, we decided to spend four days and three nights at The Couples Resort and we were not disappointed. We could not have chosen a better place for rest and recuperation.

Starting with Mary and the rest of the front office staff we were treated with great care and respect. The food was amazing and the Chefs amuse bouche each evening was delightful. The main entrees outdid the top steakhouses we have experienced. Linda and the serving staff in the restaurant were attentive and accomodated my wifes need for Gluten Free foods. Look for Derek N. in the restaurant at dinner time, he was the most attentive server we have ever experienced. It was a treat to meet the owner at breakfast as he spent time listening to guests as they talked about their experiences at The Resort.

The accommodations were wonderful. We stayed in a Jr suite which included a king size bed, two person jacuzzi, wood burning fireplace and amazing balcony that had a beautiful view of the lake. The couples relaxing massage made for a wonderful afternoon of relaxation.

We would have no reservation in recommending The Couples Resort to anyone looking for a romantic venue to rejuvenate the soul, fill the stomach and rekindle that special relationship. We are looking forward to our next visit to The Couples Resort where we once again can be spoiled by the staff, the beautiful views of rugged nature and the incredible food that kept us filled all day long.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your praise of Couples Resort. We are always more than happy to accommodate any special needs for food. It is with pleasure to know that your wife was able to enjoy her meals during your time with us. John, the owner, is a very picky eater with many food constraints and his Bride Annica must eat Gluten Free. I am sure all this has helped the Executive Chef, Ronnie, and his Brigade better care for your Bride. Compliments to our staff are definitely passed on. Glad to hear you got the chance to meet and chat with John. When he has the time, he enjoys chatting and hearing about your time spent with us. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I just got back from here yesterday after a weekend getaway. All I can say is I can't wait to go back there! The food was fantastic, the chalet was very cozy and romantic and the view from our hot tub was amazing! It may seem kind of expensive when you are first booking but once you factor in the 5 course gourmet dinners as well as the breakfasts that are included, the great rooms and beautiful views as well as the real wood fireplace and hot tub this place is well worth the money! I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Utopian Chalet and even though the room may be a little smaller the fact that you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
The pictures you shared are fantastic! Thanks so much for them. So glad we could provide you with the perfect spot for your romantic getaway. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Perfect stay. My boyfriend was completely elated with the surprise of two nights here and so was I. Not having to worry about anything except whether to explore the great outdoors or stay cozy by the fire and enjoy the peace and comfort of our room, was bliss. 5 out of 5 on the meals, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and we just loved everything. Thank you guys!! We can't wait to come back, I'm hoping it will become a very regular retreat for us!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartfooood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you so much for making the Couples Resort your special place. We look forward to your next visit. So glad that you and your boyfriend were able to enjoy some quiet time away together. So often we forget just how important that is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
20.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
107 reviews
23.0 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
173 reviews
18.9 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
22.4 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
153 reviews
17.1 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Property: Couples Resort
Address: 139 Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Whitney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Ontario/Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing